Huawei P40 Series

bedlamite

for me, I've jumped ship from Huawei (P30 Pro) to Oppo (Find X2 Pro) simply because there's no legit GMS support which I need frequently for my work. Sad to leave but hope to rejoin Huawei again when the ban is lifted (if that day comes).
At the risk of going offtopic, how does the Oppo compare to the P30p? :D My P30p can easily last another 6 months, maybe even a year, and the 40 should have been an automatic upgrade (i've owned and loved the P20p and P30p) but I'm not going to drop Google services. Samsung + Exynos is a dealbreaker, which leaves the Chinese phones (Find X2, Mi10 Pro).

maumu

... jumped ship from Huawei (P30 Pro) to Oppo (Find X2 Pro) simply because there's no legit GMS support which I need frequently for my work...

P30 Pro no legit GMS support???

p30 pro should have GMS leh. My previous P30pro works perfectly with all google apps.

I think he's referring to my post. paiseh, realized it wasn't clear. the reason why I changed from P30 Pro is because it's a year old and I would sell my phones when they still have value (instead of waiting for 2 years, say).

by right I would have upgrade to P40 Pro/+ but... because there's no GMS support, I decided to jump to Oppo. :D

maumu

At the risk of going offtopic, how does the Oppo compare to the P30p? :D My P30p can easily last another 6 months, maybe even a year, and the 40 should have been an automatic upgrade (i've owned and loved the P20p and P30p) but I'm not going to drop Google services. Samsung + Exynos is a dealbreaker, which leaves the Chinese phones (Find X2, Mi10 Pro).

the Find X2 Pro has the same 5x optical zoom but has larger sensors so by right it's better for night or low light shots. haven't extensively used it due to the ** but taken some simple shots at home and they look just like, if not better than, P30 Pro's.

battery wise, initially I had issues because I was using GOMO which doesn't have VoLTE, and the phone's VoLTE was switched on so the battery drain was very bad. but after switching it off, the battery can now last at least a full day (e.g. it was 100% yesterday at around 4pm and now at 5pm the next day it's 25%, so 75% drop in around 25 hours). i'm not a mobile gamer nor watch video/youtube btw. so to me it's pretty solid.

it can supercharge in 65w (via cable) - best in industry.

if you don't need to worry about your P30 pro devaluing to $200 and below after 2 years is up (no more warranty), there's no reason to change. P30 pro is still a very good camera phone and overall solid specs. it is also the last flagship from Huawei that still has GMS...

I've never used Samsung with the exact point you mentioned - expensive and yet uses an inferior chip (exynos). heard it also gets laggy after a year or so, and lousier battery than other competitors.

1982-1994

the reason for it gets laggy after a year or so, due to users always update to the latest firmware, if you think about it, it applies across all brands

if you want the optimal performance and battery, best is to refrain updating

limpingsim98

the reason for it gets laggy after a year or so, due to users always update to the latest firmware, if you think about it, it applies across all brands

That's right.

bedlamite

Apparently Samsung lag is a special kind of awful. I don't know how bad it is personally, or whether it still applies to the newer devices with OneUI ROMs. All I know is that my P-series Huaweis have never slowed down. Battery life has taken a hit but that's expected I guess

but Samsung pay is the attraction
Exynos is trash, you couldn't pay me enough to use an Exynos phone. I don't care that it's less powerful, but reduced battery life is a big problem. And it's not like Samsung's phones are battery kings in the first place.

OutBreak

My Mate 10 is more than 2 years and it is still running like a champ! The battery life is still amazing.. ;)

1982-1994

Exynos is trash, you couldn't pay me enough to use an Exynos phone. I don't care that it's less powerful, but reduced battery life is a big problem

i adb removed some stuffs on the note 10+, SOT average 14-16hrs out of 2 days usage
i rather spend abit of time to do these than to spend $300 more on a snapdragon set

1982-1994

among different CPU:
kirin 980/990
snapdragon 855
exynos

I prefer kirin 980 on mate 20 x
and kirin 990 on mate 30 pro

Huawei has the most efficient chipset among all manufacturers

dappercivility

Agreed. Pity huawei no more gms, only can sideload now. If huawei still has gms, it might be one of the most popular and leading android phones worldwide.

among different CPU:
kirin 980/990
snapdragon 855
exynos

I prefer kirin 980 on mate 20 x
and kirin 990 on mate 30 pro

Huawei has the most efficient chipset among all manufacturers

1982-1994

OK lah I am still using mate 20 x, very awesome phone, heng the battery on android 9.1 not much worse than android 9.0

1982-1994

You can always get it on carousel but on android 10 most probably

bedlamite

Agreed. Pity huawei no more gms, only can sideload now. If huawei still has gms, it might be one of the most popular and leading android phones worldwide.
The orange clown has really screwed things up for Huawei, and us users. Huawei isn't without blame, to be fair, but wah lau eh.

dappercivility

Exactly, else for all the smart phones I have used recently, feel the P40Pro is one of the best. Battery life, camera, overall design and slimness is the best in my opinion.

The orange clown has really screwed things up for Huawei, and us users. Huawei isn't without blame, to be fair, but wah lau eh.

Rocketgrouper

I am still using mate 20pro and mate 9. Huawei is. A good brand tbh. I am still thinking should I stick back to Huawei since some say gms, some banking apps cannot load. At times I deeply rely on Google.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.