AntonioPuerta

the right way to go imho,

1. candidate accept offer
  2. Go for medical checks and background screening
  3. item (2) clear liao, sign contract
  4. Tender resignation.

Most of the candidates gan jiong spider demands to have contract to be sign first but in reality, u sign or dont sign, as long as no start work, the contract is invalid. The same goes for the clauses that governs the legality of the contract on medical check and background screening. Even if u sign contract, the moment that u fail either items, contract is nullify also. So i dont really get it when candidates chase like no tomorrow for the contract to be ready for them when things are still in progress of doing.

your sequence not always true.

i know of companies that either:

1) ask for past 5 to 10 years CPF statements first (banks, financial institutions, MOE teacher)
2) ask u to retrieve your credit score from credit bureau dept first.
3) go for Ministry of Law screening first to check if u involve in loansharking or got borrow money from moneylenders in your life before

if u fail any of the above, they dont even offer.

matey1982

your sequence not always true.

i know of companies that either:

1) ask for past 5 to 10 years CPF statements first (banks, financial institutions, MOE teacher)
2) ask u to retrieve your credit score from credit bureau dept first.
3) go for Ministry of Law screening first to check if u involve in loansharking or got borrow money from moneylenders in your life before

if u fail any of the above, they dont even offer.

sounds like banks or the hiring depts where its gonna deal with money/finances?

Tedicious

Went for a few interview (virtual and f2f) last week and this week.
Still waiting for news. If only can secure something before the year end.
#crossfinger

ZETMAN

So technically "accept offer" and "sign contract" is 2 diff things?
In essence, yes. these 2 are different thing and imho, doesnt guarantee anything until the candidate report to work. There are no shortage of cases where candidates sign contract and then retract their acceptance or even MIA on day 1.

What happens if the checks are not completed before day 1? After completing day 1 then the deal is sealed? But the coy still can prata after getting the results?

ZETMAN

Same, provided that 3 is excluding "item (2) clear liao", and also excluding 4.

None of my HR/recruiters have advised otherwise. Maybe they just want you to tender first so they can secure and trap you first, if anything happen they just tell you to f off lol.
different ppl/company different practice. I put myself as a jobseeker and i wont want to be left in limbo. The only time that this stance change is when the candidate intentionally withhold information and was unable to start work due to the last minute information that was found out through other channels.

matey1982

Went for a few interview (virtual and f2f) last week and this week.
Still waiting for news. If only can secure something before the year end.
#crossfinger
same predicament as u

confidence level kena eroded as the search is prolonged

Mgtowyolo

Hi everyone,

I recently accepted a job offer with a new company and resigned from my current position. Medical checks and background checks are complete. However, the new company is now asking me to shorten my notice period.

I informed them during the interview that I might be able to shorten my notice, but it would require approval from my current manager. Unfortunately, I just learned my current employer wants monetary compensation for early release.

I'm concerned about the following:

• Could the new company rescind my offer if I can't shorten my notice period?
  • What steps can I take to protect myself in this situation?
  • Do I have any leverage to negotiate with my current employer?
  • What are some potential risks and solutions to consider?

I'm grateful for any insights or advice from anyone who has faced a similar situation. Please share your experiences and any helpful information you can offer.

Additional information:

• All communication with both companies has been via email.
  • I have a copy of the signed offer letter from the new company.

Thank you in advance for your help!

ZETMAN

What happens if the checks are not completed before day 1? After completing day 1 then the deal is sealed? But the coy still can prata after getting the results?
if after day 1 still not complete. company in general will just wait and see. it is only when the results came back negative then the company will take action. in this aspects, some managers holds the mindset that the candidate should know themselves best and if they "should" know if they are clean. If they fail the check, then it is their fault and they should not have any complains about company taking any actions against them.

Tedicious

Hi everyone,

I recently accepted a job offer with a new company and resigned from my current position. Medical checks and background checks are complete. However, the new company is now asking me to shorten my notice period.

I informed them during the interview that I might be able to shorten my notice, but it would require approval from my current manager. Unfortunately, I just learned my current employer wants monetary compensation for early release.

I'm concerned about the following:

• Could the new company rescind my offer if I can't shorten my notice period?
  • What steps can I take to protect myself in this situation?
  • Do I have any leverage to negotiate with my current employer?
  • What are some potential risks and solutions to consider?

I'm grateful for any insights or advice from anyone who has faced a similar situation. Please share your experiences and any helpful information you can offer.

Additional information:

• All communication with both companies has been via email.
  • I have a copy of the signed offer letter from the new company.

Thank you in advance for your help!
If I am in ur position, I would info the new company that as mentioned during my interview, that was something is that open to discussion however it wouldnt be cfm till I have the green light from my current company.

Unfortunately, this can't be happening as there will be monetary compensation for early release otherwise the compensation can be done from your side.

Usually I think like that the new co will LL n keep to the usual 1 month notice period

Mgtowyolo

If I am in ur position, I would info the new company that as mentioned during my interview, that was something is that open to discussion however it wouldnt be cfm till I have the green light from my current company.

Unfortunately, this can't be happening as there will be monetary compensation for early release otherwise the compensation can be done from your side.

Usually I think like that the new co will LL n keep to the usual 1 month notice period
ive highlighted the compensation but i didnt ask them to pay. I just ask them for advice for way forward. hmmm

Tedicious

but payslips are given after offer is already signed... whats there to compare/match ?

whats the point in that ?
usually the payslip is given before the signing (at least for my case) so to save any disrupt.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.