Human Resources FAQ

matey1982

Hi everyone,

I recently accepted a job offer with a new company and resigned from my current position. Medical checks and background checks are complete. However, the new company is now asking me to shorten my notice period.

I informed them during the interview that I might be able to shorten my notice, but it would require approval from my current manager. Unfortunately, I just learned my current employer wants monetary compensation for early release.

I'm concerned about the following:

• Could the new company rescind my offer if I can't shorten my notice period?
  • What steps can I take to protect myself in this situation?
  • Do I have any leverage to negotiate with my current employer?
  • What are some potential risks and solutions to consider?

I'm grateful for any insights or advice from anyone who has faced a similar situation. Please share your experiences and any helpful information you can offer.

Additional information:

• All communication with both companies has been via email.
  • I have a copy of the signed offer letter from the new company.

Thank you in advance for your help!

if your new coy is sibey despo wan u to start early,
can ask them to $$$ to buy out the shortened notice period?

Mgtowyolo

if your new coy is sibey despo wan u to start early,
can ask them to $$$ to buy out the shortened notice period?
ya lo. i played safe, i didnt directly ask them to pay la. i estimate the compensation & let them advise lo.

matey1982

I know how exactly u feel esp now when year end and the interview process delay due to everyone on leave =(
whilst some give the generic response 1-2 weeks for the decision time-line
the cliff hanger for the outcome (i.e yes or no) is really mind draining.

Tedicious

whilst some give the generic response 1-2 weeks for the decision time-line
the cliff hanger for the outcome (i.e yes or no) is really mind draining.
I had a interview with DBS 3 weeks ago, HR said that it will take ard 3 weeks to decide if next rd is need.
Today is the 3rd week yet still no reply =(

matey1982

I had a interview with DBS 3 weeks ago, HR said that it will take ard 3 weeks to decide if next rd is need.
Today is the 3rd week yet still no reply =(
i have gone for round 1 panel virtual interview (20 Nov) with Nparks
says around 1-2 weeks to reach decision time for those shortlist for round 2

this week coming to end of week 3 (my bad as I count wrongly)

sian
think is jibaboom

Tedicious

i have gone for round 1 panel virtual interview (20 Nov) with Nparks
says around 1-2 weeks to reach decision time for those shortlist for round 2

this week coming to end of week 3

sian
think is jibaboom
Ya I know that feeling. I juz keep throwing out CV n c which hits the bullseye.
Sometimes I wonder if company is srs in hiring a not or juz put out ads for fun de.

matey1982

Ya I know that feeling. I juz keep throwing out CV n c which hits the bullseye.
Sometimes I wonder if company is srs in hiring a not or juz put out ads for fun de.

initially i selectively apply

now heck already

is literally throw the fishing net wide and see any fancy takers liao

matey1982

ya lor bro. that's what I'm doing as well

now is like throw left throw right

and really is hoping that some kind soul out there fancy the CV and like to have a call/chat

apply until numb

and see some of the interview formats

really make me wonder, am i applying for work or scholarship?
some is really Yim Jim kind

Tedicious

now is like throw left throw right

and really is hoping that some kind soul out there fancy the CV and like to have a call/chat

apply until numb

and see some of the interview formats

really make me wonder, am i applying for work or scholarship?
some is really Yim Jim kind
Personally I love video call interview cos I can standby my CV and those FAQ interview qns n ans on screen.
Recently I oso let my friend amened my CV juz to polish a bit.

Now is really employer market

matey1982

Personally I love video call interview cos I can standby my CV and those FAQ interview qns n ans on screen.
Recently I oso let my friend amened my CV juz to polish a bit.

Now is really employer market
sometimes all we ask for is the opportunity to earn honest living.

not those cliffhanger settings

ZETMAN

Hi everyone,

I recently accepted a job offer with a new company and resigned from my current position. Medical checks and background checks are complete. However, the new company is now asking me to shorten my notice period.

I informed them during the interview that I might be able to shorten my notice, but it would require approval from my current manager. Unfortunately, I just learned my current employer wants monetary compensation for early release.

I'm concerned about the following:

• Could the new company rescind my offer if I can't shorten my notice period?
  • What steps can I take to protect myself in this situation?
  • Do I have any leverage to negotiate with my current employer?
  • What are some potential risks and solutions to consider?

I'm grateful for any insights or advice from anyone who has faced a similar situation. Please share your experiences and any helpful information you can offer.

Additional information:

• All communication with both companies has been via email.
  • I have a copy of the signed offer letter from the new company.

Thank you in advance for your help!
the new company is asking and you already asked but was rejected. just reply to the new company that your manager has refuse to shorten the period and rejected your request. That should be adequate.

Normally companies doesnt rescind offer because of this. if they really need you in earlier, then they will propose a buyout of partial of your notice period. If they doesnt offer buyout but still insist that you need to join earlier, stand your ground and tell them that according to your employment contract with your current company, you are not able to do so without monetary compensation and ask the new company if they are willing to buyout. This should end the conversation.

Nothing you can do to protect yourself at this juncture. just go with the flow. Unless you have a good relationship with your current employer, else you do not have much leverage to negotiate.

Potential risk and solutions that can be consider as a last resort, if you have some annual leave that are to be encashed, use it to shorten your notice period. this is not what i will like to recommend for the candidate as it is still impacting the candidate negatively but that will be the last resort aside from paying cash to buyout your own notice period.

Mgtowyolo

the new company is asking and you already asked but was rejected. just reply to the new company that your manager has refuse to shorten the period and rejected your request. That should be adequate.

Normally companies doesnt rescind offer because of this. if they really need you in earlier, then they will propose a buyout of partial of your notice period. If they doesnt offer buyout but still insist that you need to join earlier, stand your ground and tell them that according to your employment contract with your current company, you are not able to do so without monetary compensation and ask the new company if they are willing to buyout. This should end the conversation.

Nothing you can do to protect yourself at this juncture. just go with the flow. Unless you have a good relationship with your current employer, else you do not have much leverage to negotiate.

Potential risk and solutions that can be consider as a last resort, if you have some annual leave that are to be encashed, use it to shorten your notice period. this is not what i will like to recommend for the candidate as it is still impacting the candidate negatively but that will be the last resort aside from paying cash to buyout your own notice period.
thanks for the reply! lets see how it go .. may come back here to ask again if need

matey1982

i ain't asking for the sky figures

just some income to bring home some of the bread & butter

plus self dignity

why does HR of new company ask for payslip for the past 3 mths ?
Ya lor. When you are employee of their company, that information is P&C. But if you are interviewing with them, then the same information is "hello we need to have that, if you don't give then too bad, bye bye!"

matey1982

Ya lor. When you are employee of their company, that information is P&C. But if you are interviewing with them, then the same information is "hello we need to have that, if you don't give them too bad, bye bye!"
tot they could get those / search for those during the background screening or what knots?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.