i want to change to EV but I stay HDB how to charge?

Botakkid

I will change when there is at least 1 entire level full of chargers at my MSCP, but for now I will stick to ICE then change to mild hybrid when COE up next year:giggle:

my current MSCP only 4 chargers,either filled with bluesg or already reserved with blue light after 5.30pm, where got time to go down shift car go charge when slot available

standarture

I will change when there is at least 1 entire level full of chargers at my MSCP, but for now I will stick to ICE then change to mild hybrid when COE up next year:giggle:

my current MSCP only 4 chargers,either filled with bluesg or already reserved with blue light after 5.30pm, where got time to go down shift car go charge when slot available
Imagine bathe liao then got to go out of hse to shift car.

Evcats

Ix1 278k list price, 148bhp top speed 171kmh. x1 about 254k list price, 121bhp top speed 200kmh.

Why pay about 20k more for a slower ev after subsidy (better low end torque admittedly), higher road taxes and insurance? Just to feel good about a so-called “subsidy”? This false economy baffles the mind.
Take a $40k upfront rebate off. What ICE equivalent power comfort and features can you buy nowadays ? :s22:

kebinu

Maybe cheap but I will be more careful bec really do not know hows the battery condition.
If batt got issue, perhaps its more ex to fix or replace? Compare to ICE changin parts.
Abv all tiagong niah, jus discussion.

you know how hard it’s to claim a battery replacement? Hard that it’s not easy to lose 30% charge within 160km/8 years.

hard driver and 100% dc charge also cannot hit, yet.

if I were to look at ice, fc sure drop right? But ev “fc” doesn’t.

sure have oil leak etc right, for conti brand, its going to happen even if regular servicing is done.
Ev… likely don’t have.

Evcats

Exactly. People keep adopting all these "modern" stuff but end up make their lives more complicated. Simi obsess over digital lock, cumbersome paynow, troublesome EV and the list goes on.
That’s what I thought before switching to EV :s22: Take a drive and will change your mind

and_who

Take a $40k upfront rebate off. What ICE equivalent power comfort and features can you buy nowadays ? :s22:
price is after rebate… x1 and ix1 are identical save for the engine and horsepower and top speed. You pay 20k more for the ev ix1 (30k if you consider ix1 got no parf rebate at scrap) for 27 more horsepower but 30kmh less top speed.

you really need to look at the figures and provide facts to justify your statements. not general vague motherhood statements generated by AI and unsupported by data.

iMac

seriously just 3 chargers in my estate how to serve he entire community.... and it takes at least a month to build 1 charger.... the infrastructure not ready yet?
Just go to next estate to charge....go lim a cup of kopi and come back about 4 hours later to collect the EV.

hachi

My frd altis coe coming to end on Sept. He went BYD to see look see look.
A3. Running cost, 16kWh per 100km, 70 cent per KW fast charge. $11 per 100km.
Normal altis 6.5l per 100km. $2.10 after discount for 95. $13 per 100km.
Yes may save on Maintenace, not sure about resale value. Sometimes intangible cost can be huge near the end of COE expiry.

Without praf too. His altis now 9k or so praf. And EVs insurance and rd tax almost 100% more.

drkcynic

Go DC probably 1 hour full charge. Even if you drive alot, it will be likely going to be 3 days before you need another charge.

Alot of people here seems to be fixated on calculating dollars and cents. Warning hor, DC charge is the most expensive.

So if no money better don't switch, stick to the cheapest ICE you can afford.

Or better still, take public transport, cheapesttttttttt hands down.

Let other people drive their EV, pay their money and "waste their time".

No need to say so much.

koster

your logic is like.. only 2 lifts in a block how to serve the whole block of 100 units. Not everyone charge at the same time or even same day. If you nam nua only charge at home, or wait till last % to charge, dont blame the infrastructure
Good point. Why buy GCB when there's no lift? Lol

koster

Ix1 278k list price, 148bhp top speed 171kmh. x1 about 254k list price, 121bhp top speed 200kmh.

Why pay about 20k more for a slower ev after subsidy (better low end torque admittedly), higher road taxes and insurance? Just to feel good about a so-called “subsidy”? This false economy baffles the mind.

This is purely comparison on car performance. What abt other bells and whistles like software etc? Even by comparing performance, what abt torque or pickup?

Evcats

price is after rebate… x1 and ix1 are identical save for the engine and horsepower and top speed. You pay 20k more for the ev ix1 (30k if you consider ix1 got no parf rebate at scrap) for 27 more horsepower but 30kmh less top speed.

you really need to look at the figures and provide facts to justify your statements. not general vague motherhood statements generated by AI and unsupported by data.
:s22: BMW EV…

cyke69sg

get one before EV rebates are withdrawn….

SG so good. Got EV rebates..
In Alberta I have to pay EV tax.

https://www.registrystc.com/post/alberta-electric-vehicle-tax#:~:text=Starting%20February%2013%2C%202025%2C%20Alberta,maintaining%20Alberta's%20roads%20and%20highways.

What is the Electric Vehicle Tax?​

Starting February 13, 2025, Alberta implemented a $200 annual tax on electric vehicles. This tax is collected when you register or renew your vehicle registration, either in person at a registry office like ours or online via eService. The purpose of this tax is to ensure that electric vehicle owners contribute to public services and road maintenance, similar to drivers of internal combustion engine vehicles who pay fuel taxes.

Reasoning Behind the Tax​

The Alberta government introduced this tax to address the fact that electric vehicle owners do not pay fuel taxes, which are typically used to fund road maintenance and public services. By implementing this tax, the government aims to establish a fair system in which all drivers contribute equally to maintaining Alberta's roads and highways.

kebinu

This is the myth created by certain second hand car dealer with inventory of ICE tio diao. It's a demand and supply thing. If 2nd hand EVs so cheap, isn't it all the more reason to buy EV instead? And for the matter, can SIC cheap second hand EV? I also want to buy.
This same dealer take in a trade in and have to sell at a loss immediately. Confirm a lot of half truth one.
Idling charges, got news one guy spend over $300 idling charge...

Don't bother... Car alr expensive. I want it because convinent.. Now I got chnage my lifestyle for an expensive item I bought...? Sorry... No... For others if can justify then OK. No right and wrong.

Never say never... Until they find battery can be charge within 10 mins...

If i not wrong, lets say u come back from work, very tired, u park and charge, after charge finish need to come down and park another lot right, as u cant consider "park" there

Assuming you finish work and reach home 8pm, plug in to charge. Very tired. Fall asleep.

reach car 855am the next day, no idling fee coz usually no charge between 9pm to 9am. Just check the brand charger on the actual.

so for peak timing, it’s to counter ugly people from hogging the good lots.

and_who

My frd altis coe coming to end on Sept. He went BYD to see look see look.
A3. Running cost, 16kWh per 100km, 70 cent per KW fast charge. $11 per 100km.
Normal altis 6.5l per 100km. $2.10 after discount for 95. $13 per 100km.
Yes may save on Maintenace, not sure about resale value. Sometimes intangible cost can be huge near the end of COE expiry.

Without praf too. His altis now 9k or so praf. And EVs insurance and rd tax almost 100% more.
Precisely, if you break down the numbers, EVs now make no sense unless you like the way the EV drives, the quicker pick up, but are prepared to accept higher overall costs, higher depre, lower top speed, and charging challenges.

and_who

:s22: BMW EV…
Your point being?

Didn’t you ask for a comparison in which case shouldn’t we compare like to like? If you have other examples, happy to consider.

Again, please consider facts and figures. Don’t resort to motherhood statements or unsubstantiated assertions

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.