iBasso DX100 Reference DAP Impression

Randius

poweramp works from what headfiers wrote. But I don't think it allows for 24bit 88/96/192khz playback

IIRC, Poweramp works for up to 24/96 but downsamples it to 16/44.1

I seriously think iBasso needs a manager to keep track of testing, particularly regression testing :mad:

Haonan

plug in for more than 12hours still showing 99% charged.

Explaining the Do's and Don'ts of Battery Charging - Battery University
How to Prolong Lithium-based Batteries - Battery University
Your Battery Gauge Is Lying To You: Everything You Need To Know About Bump Charging And Inconsistent Battery Drain

BatteryUniversity.com said:
Lithium-ion suffers stress when exposed to heat and kept at a high charge voltage.

Chargers for cellular phones, laptops and digital cameras bring the Li-ion battery to 4.20V/cell. This allows maximum runtime, and the consumer wants nothing less than optimal use of the battery capacity. The industry, on the other hand, is more concerned with longevity and prefers lower voltage thresholds. Satellites and electric vehicles are examples where longevity is important.

We have limited information by how much lower charge voltages prolong battery life; this depends on many conditions, as we have learned. What we do know, however, is the capacities. At a charge to 4.10V/cell, the battery holds a capacity that is about 10 percent less than going all the way to 4.20V/cell. In terms of optimal longevity, a charge voltage limit of 3.92V/cell works best but the capacity would be low. Besides selecting the best-suited voltage thresholds, it is also important that the battery does not stay in the high-voltage stage for a long time and is allowed to drop after full charge has been reached.

Bottom line once modern lithium batteries are charged to 100% fully, current levels will automatically drop below safety levels set by the manufacturer (or cut off completely) the battery is switched to 'running state' (or idle state while the AC charger is still been connected and powering the device) until it drops down to 99-95% depending on my experience with my own NW-Z1070, before the normal charging circuit kicks in again. Granted I'm still considered new to Android OS devices, but the above findings are from my personal observations after reading those online articles over at BatteryUniversity.com, and with my other electronic devices so far.

For example, for Sony Vaio notebooks they typically have this installed software called Battery Care Function that can be manually tweaked by the owner, to be set at either 100%/80%/50% charged levels. If you read the above articles written BatteryUniversity, this is usually provided by these notebook manufacturers to help assist/cope with the cycle life and depth of discharge issues of the laptop battery packs to help prolong their life, since usually Lithium-based batteries do benefit greatly from partial-discharges, rather than a full discharge if you want to keep yr battery pack in the best tip-top condition in the long run.

Also one more thing, time to chunk away those ancient beliefs/myths of those minimum 8/12hrs charging times required for these modern PMPs, prolly coming from the mouths of those friendly neighbourhood ah beng handphone shops next to you. That's a really freaking outdated myth that I dunno why so many ppl out there still believes in. You charge yr device up to what is the required as mentioned by yr original device manufacturer, meaning once fully charged means fully charged. Doing a 12hrs or 50hrs based charging, yr DX100 won't benefit a single damn thing from it except for maybe incurring more heat damage (might be insubstantial though) and perhaps using up more charging cycles this way.

Sry for the long wall of text there, just thought the above articles might benefit the local community out here, just in case there are some other forumners who tend to be misleaded as dqwong here, regarding these old battery charging myths.

guess it's running at 400hz or something

400-800MHz? So hw fast is the actual processor? But anyway it's all abt the background processes running and UI programming efficiency of iBasso liao, for example last yr when Cowon came out with their D3, afaik even the original stock player also got stuttering/lag issues liao according to owners at iaudiophile.net, even though it had a 750MHz ARM processor inside. :o

dqwong

I am trying out some other players in the google store:

K dog player(Chinese)
Andriod Music Player
N7 Player
Rocker Player
Real Player

so far these are pretty good interface(all is better than ibasso except Neutron)

dqwong

I guess the sluttering problem lies with Android OS more than anything...

even the sansa clip with it's low speed, low power processor can decode FLAC without issues.

Haonan

if its getting ics i would've hoot it

Sony Japan announces ICS for tablets in late April, WiFi-only Tablet P April 21st -- Engadget
Sony Ericsson confirms that Ice Cream Sandwich is coming to entire 2011 Xperia portfolio | DroidMatters.com

39Sony_Kaz_Hirai.jpg

Sony-ProductSuccessFailures.jpg

IMO if Sony can give ICS to 2011 devices like their Xperia phone line-ups/Sony Tablet P & S series, I don't see why the Walkman Z1000 won't be getting it, as it's most likely only a matter of time. Thus for the above Kaz Hirai trolling pic, also known as the newly minted CEO of Sony who recently took over from Howard Stringer since April 1st.

He's prolly laughing away madly like the above pic by now, considering afaik the sales of NW-Z1000 series are doing quite well in JP right now. While admittedly they may not be doing very well in the current TV business line compared to korean giant Samsung, but as someone who was borned in the 80's and things/formats like 3.5" standard floppy disk and cassette walkman players brought me much pleasure when I was still a kid, and game platforms like PSone has greatly influenced me so much during my early teen years, also with things like Blu-ray format which gave me the instant gratification in terms of high-def movie flicks I had always desired for in the comfort of my home, I personally think it's very hard for me to deny, but out of all the japanese manufacturer brands I've experienced so far as a consumer, the one that has the most emotional impact in me one has got to be Sony. :D

C'mon, you know u want a Sony Walkman Z. :D :D (*s-hit hope I don't get mobbed by the iBasso spartans in here for promoting abt Sony in an iBasso thread lol*)

dqwong

I could only wish ESS will go into the mobile codec market with their hyperstream DACs. It is really superior(interms of SQ) to any of the sigma-delta dacs out there.

Just imagine Sony Z walkman with a low power version ES9018M. :eek:

Randius

@haonan: I guess there is something else the DX100 will win over Z1000 and that is to clobber someone into the ground and still walk away enjoying great SQ. Now who will be the first victim? :p

Just curious how many DX100 owners do we have in here?

Haonan

I could only wish ESS will go into the mobile codec market with their hyperstream DACs. It is really superior(interms of SQ) to any of the sigma-delta dacs out there.

Just imagine Sony Z walkman with a low power version ES9018M. :eek:

Ideally for me, either a low power ver of AKM AK4399 (used in Fostex HP-A8) DAC or ESS Sabre DACs + Walkman Z1000 form-factor and design, and I can probably quit portable scene happily ever after. (or is it?)

But well for now, my NW-Z1070 would suffice for me. Might pick up a TTVJ Slim or Headstage Arrow 12HE 4G and call it a day in the near future though, as sometimes I find all these gear chasing is quite bo liao, it's more of a want not a need, andd often the money u spent only gives you back diminishing returns.

But you know this is just a never-ending illness especially when u're into this hobby. i could prob relate this hobby to been quite similar with photography, a good body is usually nt enough, there will always come a day you want to acquire more lenses or flashes for yrself to play with.

It's a never-ending vicious cycle, so emo. :( :(

Haonan

@haonan: I guess there is something else the DX100 will win over Z1000 and that is to clobber someone into the ground and still walk away enjoying great SQ. Now who will be the first victim? :p

Oh yes sire, you're very right my lord. I haven't thought abt that actually. Would definitely not want to be a victim of that situation though, pls kindly shower compassion and benevolence on me, friendly fire ppl.

Oh wait, yr 1964 Quads is built based on acrylic shell right? What if I used my titanium shell CK100PROs and accidentally 'bua' yr 1964Q during our struggle? *opps* :s13: :s13:

Ok ok, mai ot liaos. :o

Randius

Which is why, for me, my current setup is more or less final. I don't find the need for an amp because the extra bulk and money are not worth it. I will only consider when 1964 Ears releases their next model. Will rather spend the money on getting more hi-res albums :D

@haonan: point noted. let's bring the topic back to DX100. Thank you.

Hitsugaya87

Just curious how many DX100 owners do we have in here?

One over here. =) Should start a thread we can share tips with each other. Btw, any good recommendations for good place to get some tracks with 24 bit/196khz?

selfa89

One over here. =) Should start a thread we can share tips with each other. Btw, any good recommendations for good place to get some tracks with 24 bit/196khz?

For Audiophile music you can try hdtracks.com , you can even find some rare and connoisseur bin-aural recordings there, though i roughly remember you might need to pay for them.

iRbaboon

Last post of the night. Also going off on a tangent here.

Walked into Stereo just now with nike shirt and converse shoes and right after the usual welcome, the first thing one of them said was, "we have the DX100 in already". At least they don't discriminate o.o" When I walk into challenger wearing the same attire to the speaker section, no one attends to me. Must walk in with my dad then someone will come along and say, "hello good evening how may I help you". feelsbadman.

@DQwong,

Got any with guitar?

dqwong

Last post of the night. Also going off on a tangent here.

Walked into Stereo just now with nike shirt and converse shoes and right after the usual welcome, the first thing one of them said was, "we have the DX100 in already". At least they don't discriminate o.o" When I walk into challenger wearing the same attire to the speaker section, no one attends to me. Must walk in with my dad then someone will come along and say, "hello good evening how may I help you". feelsbadman.

@DQwong,

Got any with guitar?

everything you want here:
(Free) HI-RES Music Downloads « H i F i D U I N O

dqwong

I guess I have to carry around a paper clip in my wallet.. Ibasso DX100 is not stable.

dqwong

Just a warning guys, the dx100 can reach extremely hot temperatures(too hot to hold) if you leave it inside an enclosed environment.

Hitsugaya87

Just a warning guys, the dx100 can reach extremely hot temperatures(too hot to hold) if you leave it inside an enclosed environment.

True, the other time put in my pocket also a little warm already. =( Burn backside:s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.