IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

chrisl

Security Chip

Embedded Security Chip

Every thinkpad (at least T40 series) comes with a embedded security chip.

However, when we buy the laptop, the ESC software is not installed / activated.

You would need to go to IBM website, go to Support and Download to get the software.

After that, you would need to install them and voala, you get the best security software!

The files you need to download and install is

LPCSETUP, CSSMBUSDRIVERPKG, CSEC510US_003H and PWMGR120US_001D.

grandfatherboard

ahtea said:

You will most likely need to buy a bootable diskette drive. If not, you can also boot from CD if i am not wrong.

just confirm these with IBM yesterday,

t40 dun support boot from USB thumb drive. Only USB floppy.

ask them why and they dun noe :mad:

To Kenshin79:

need to pay or not 1st?
:D

qingtian

Wow Liao,

Seem like we are growing very big big leh!! :D

This Thread is getting Hotter!!

BeiKeHan

Upgrade Ram

Hello... i using the R40 model and i intend to add another 256mb of Ram. Is it that as long as the RAM is DDR PC2100(266MHZ) then it will be compatible? Or do we have to buy from IBM?

coates

Re: Upgrade Ram

BeiKeHan said:
Hello... i using the R40 model and i intend to add another 256mb of Ram. Is it that as long as the RAM is DDR PC2100(266MHZ) then it will be compatible? Or do we have to buy from IBM?

take note that notebook rams are SO-DIMM

BeiKeHan

Re: Re: Upgrade Ram

coates said:

take note that notebook rams are SO-DIMM

ya... i know.... so do you think those so-dimm memory tat is sold in sls is compatible?

hotkidd

Went into the BIOS screen for the T40.... under the IBM security Chip tab.... the default setting is disabled... what is that for? :confused:

hotkidd

Finally... what is the difference between "Restore your backups" and "Recover to factory contents"?

hotkidd

Re: Security Chip

chrisl said:
Embedded Security Chip

Every thinkpad (at least T40 series) comes with a embedded security chip.

However, when we buy the laptop, the ESC software is not installed / activated.

You would need to go to IBM website, go to Support and Download to get the software.

After that, you would need to install them and voala, you get the best security software!

The files you need to download and install is

LPCSETUP, CSSMBUSDRIVERPKG, CSEC510US_003H and PWMGR120US_001D.

What is this Embedded Security Chip thing for?

BeiKeHan

my r40 hang occasionally

I just bought my R40 and it is giving me prob... so far it has hang 4 times already and i have to power off and then start again.... anyone has the same problem?

Qingrong

Re: my r40 hang occasionally

BeiKeHan said:
I just bought my R40 and it is giving me prob... so far it has hang 4 times already and i have to power off and then start again.... anyone has the same problem?

ur run a lot of program? ur RAM hw much?
go easy on ur lappy if ur RAM onli 256MB... :)

cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.