IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

Qingrong

i did an update on the users list... kindly let mi noe if there is any mistakes or i have add anyone of u ppl...

cheers!

boy... the list is definitely growing... :)

grandfatherboard

Re: Re: Re: Upgrade Ram

BeiKeHan said:

ya... i know.... so do you think those so-dimm memory tat is sold in sls is compatible?

i added my 512mb (twinmos) from SLS also.

so far no problem using it. :D

hotkidd

Re: Re: Re: Re: Upgrade Ram

grandfatherboard said:

Very gian to take out my 512MB ram on the T40 and buying 2x 512 Crucial from Video Pro to put in.. wahah, 1GB of RAM :D

chrisl

Why you want to replace good kingston ram installed in your thinkpad?

Mine is 512 originally and I upgrade to 1GB. Both piece are from Kingston...

Unless you are telling me that R and A Rams are different from T.

BeiKeHan

Re: Re: Re: Re: Upgrade Ram

grandfatherboard said:

Which model of laptop are u using? R40? Centrino? Can you tell me the brand/part number and which shop you bought it?

Thank you!

BeiKeHan

PRICE of your RAM

Nitrile said:
i'm also using twinmos. :)

How much you paid for your RAM? Where you bought it? What is the part number? Will it be compatible with R40 also? :bounce:

zan82

no prob i buy my laptop from JOS hate their prices and their services they say one week later then collect for others i went straight to burlington square besides sls the main company for twimmos and buy my 512mb ram.VOILA!768mb ram!Cost 196 there...actually there was a promotion a month or so back which was much cheaper but guess you miss it....no compatibility issues or whatsoever...well so long as your laptop can boot up means its ok to use mah....or so most pple out there says

grandfatherboard

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Upgrade Ram

BeiKeHan said:

Which model of laptop are u using? R40? Centrino? Can you tell me the brand/part number and which shop you bought it?

Thank you!

I bought my Twinmos laptop ram from CM @ level 4. it is the last 2nd piece when i was there.

the following day i wanna get another one to replace the original 256 in my T40 also dun have liao

I bought at S$168 ( i think, must go find the receipt)

I guess could be Nitrile who bought the last piece from them hor?

:p

Qingrong

anyone noe if our thinkpad charge how long then full batt? any indication? u all charge when the laptop is on or off?

thks!

:)

zan82

I'm using a R40...charging the battery takes around 2-2 1/2 half hours for me....when the battery is charging the icon shines a orangy colour...when its quite ok the battery just flashes on and off....when it fully charges the battery icon would stay there and won't blink liao....and thats when its full charged?

Qingrong

zan82 said:
I'm using a R40...charging the battery takes around 2-2 1/2 half hours for me....when the battery is charging the icon shines a orangy colour...when its quite ok the battery just flashes on and off....when it fully charges the battery icon would stay there and won't blink liao....and thats when its full charged?

ur lappy nt on during charing rite? :)

zan82

errr its on....i use the laptop as i charged....dunno wld affect batt life or not...haha.....but normally i run on ac....unless in sch or wat....then run down all the batt till the screen went black and charge again and use....till fully charged remove batt and use again.......sounds a bit hardcore....

Qingrong

zan82 said:

i charging now as well... seems like it's green/yellow color nw... and flashing... can verify if it is fully charged when it stop flashin?

qingtian

Hi all IBM Users,

Would like to share with you all this pieces of Informations that I found from IBM Website.

Extending your battery life
The amount of battery power consumed by your computer depends on such conditions as how often you use it, the operating temperature, and the period in storage (if unused).

The following tips can help you to extend the life of your battery:

If your battery is brand new and you are charging it for the first time, it might not become fully charged due to the characteristics of the chemicals in the cell. To maximize performance, ensure that all chemicals in the battery are fully activated by cycling the battery (fully charge, then fully discharge) three times. This procedure is also recommended if you stored the battery for a few months.

Do not charge the battery pack until all of its power is used. Recharging a battery pack that is not completely discharged can shorten battery life.

Once you start charging the battery pack, do not use it until it is fully charged.

Whenever possible, use the ThinkPad battery power-saving modes:

standby: The LCD and the hard disk drive are turned off.
suspend: All tasks are stopped and stored in memory to save power.

hibernation: All tasks are stopped. The memory data and the current status of the computer are stored in the hard disk drive; then the power is turned off.
Decrease the LCD brightness.

Use Advanced Power Management (APM). Each operating system comes with its own APM.

Stop the power supply to a serial device if it is not in use.
Remove the battery pack and keep it in a cool place if you will not be using the computer for a long period.

qingtian

Qingrong said:

i charging now as well... seems like it's green/yellow color nw... and flashing... can verify if it is fully charged when it stop flashin?

When it is Fully Charge, It will display green light .
No flashing=p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.