IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

LonelyMan

Yeah, 2k is a really good deal. When i bought it, i actually wasn't thinking of buying a thinkpad. Cause in the previous years, usually the poly roadshows would bring in HP and last year was the first year they brought in Thinkpads. I was going to get a dell xps when i saw the thinkpad poly brochure and was surprised. Cause i always thought thinkpads cost quite a lot. I didn't miss the chance the chance and grabbed one. :)

I was hesitant as first cause Thinkpads were always branded as 'Boring' among my friends. But after i got it and till today i have not had much problems. The only issue so far was the battery and it was swapped for a new one within a day onsite. Good reliability, good customer service and enough horsepower, what more could you ask.

Btw windows 7 can get free from school. :D

Agree. My classmate preferred a Mac to look good. For me as long as it is portable, long battery life and usable with stability, it is good.

It would normally cost $3k ++ to get one with 3 years 4 hours warranty.

ceecookie

Lenovo ThinkPad bumps bring X201, X201s, X201t, W701, and W701ds into the Core i7 fold

By Paul Miller posted Feb 23rd 2010 12:01AM
Breaking News

post_icon_photo.gif

x201twwan05-small-top-1.jpg

Lenovo's giving some of its ThinkPad flagships a nice little spec overhaul, specifically the X200 series of ultraportables and the spectrum-leaping W700 hardlyportable dual screen laptop. The new X201 and X201s start things off with a new option for touchpads on the 12.1-inch form factor, options for Core i7 and Core i5 processors, and sub-three pound weigh-ins on at least the 4-cell configuration. The X201s is slightly lighter and slightly thinner, and is limited to Core i7 procs, though neither version gets much under an inch thick. The X201t (pictured) is the well-leaked tablet version, adding on a bit more thickness in exchange for a highly configurable screen, which includes options for outdoor viewing, capacitive touch and of course pen input. All three laptops rely on Intel HD graphics and are rather extensively configurable, with batteries ranging up into the 12 hour ballpark with the 9 cell battery option on the X201 and X201s. Unfortunately you'll still have to look to Lenovo's consumer line for HDMI output -- none of these machines are packing anything other than VGA.

Meanwhile, on the other end of town, the 17-inch, Wacom-equipped W701 and W701ds (dual screen) are making the leap to Core i7 as well, though the Core i7-920 Extreme and Core i7-820 QM Quad Core on display here is fairly desktop class. There's also NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800M / 2800M graphics, and an option for a dual SSD drive configuration to really break the bank.

All of these laptops should be available in the beginning of March, with starting prices of $1,199 (X201), $1,599 (X201s), $1,549 (X201t), $2,199 (W701), and $3,799 (W701ds). Can't wait to find out more? We've got a review of the X201t all warm and ready for you. There's PR after the break.

And reminiscent of the pre-Lenovo IBM Thinkpad e suffix(as in R50e for example) to denote lower end model range...

Lenovo names T410i, T410si, and T510i ThinkPads in honor of Core i3-330M inside

By Vladislav Savov posted Feb 4th 2010 3:54AM

Hey everybody, new ThinkPads! Lenovo seems hellbent on crushing its reputation for pricey hardware -- while presumably maintaining the related renown for rugged reliability -- and today it's snuck out a set of new i-appended variants of its flagship T series laptops. The T410i, T410si and T510i come equipped with the budget-friendly Core i3-330M CPU from Intel, which runs at 2.13GHz, alongside otherwise typical specs. Memory goes from 2GB to 8GB of DDR3, two megapixel webcams come as standard, and fingerprint sensors can be tacked on as well. Even more friendly to businesses on a shoestring is the option for Windows XP pre-installations on the T410i and T510i. Prices are not yet available, but the whole trio should be coming out by the end of this month, so not long to wait now.

ceecookie

It seems the latest BIOS update to my laptop did something to the clock speed :D

clockt.png

asics64

Used T60 14.1" High Res Lcd Screen Needed Urgently

Does anyone have an used 14.1" high res screen for IBM T60?it is need urgently.
Anyone pls contact me via aprilia64sg@yahoo.com.sg quickly..

Regards

dasanyuan

hi guys.

just wanted to post something helpful in this group. because its shocking to see there is still so many people out there interested in thinkpads.

so just a brief intro, i'm from the service centre. if u have anything regarding about thinkpad, just feel free to ask me. i'll try to help you guys out as much as possible.

:)

gohkhm

hi guys.

just wanted to post something helpful in this group. because its shocking to see there is still so many people out there interested in thinkpads.

so just a brief intro, i'm from the service centre. if u have anything regarding about thinkpad, just feel free to ask me. i'll try to help you guys out as much as possible.

Hi, thanks for your offer. :) May I ask where you are based? changi or megalink? Also, can you share with us some of the common issues you encounter with thinkpads and appreciate if you can advise us how to avoid them(if possible). Or perhaps thinkpads with the most issues...etc I think it would be of interest to everyone.

ceecookie

hi guys.

Would it be possible for you to help me extend my Thinkpad's warranty?

Currently it is:

This product has a three year limited warranty which includes a ThinkPlus warranty upgrade. This product is entitled to parts and labor and includes on-site repair service. Service is available 7X24 with a 4 hour response objective.
c.gif

However i want the duration extended to 5 years.

Lenovo website state calling a toll-free number, however i dont wish to order via telephone as it is troublesome. Do u have any alternate purchase method?

mikezuper

hi guys.

Hi hi! I am a big fans of Thinkpad since my co gave me one last time and plan to get one for myself sometimes this year - so yeah, be proud of being the service centre guy for one of the best notebook out there :D

Maybe can share us some tips on how to maintain our notebook:
- Do's and Dont's
- Make battery last longer
- Maintenance of software and hardware
- etc2 :)

dasanyuan

Hi, thanks for your offer. :) May I ask where you are based? changi or megalink? Also, can you share with us some of the common issues you encounter with thinkpads and appreciate if you can advise us how to avoid them(if possible). Or perhaps thinkpads with the most issues...etc I think it would be of interest to everyone.

alright i'm from changi business park. haha means if u came to drop off ur machine u've met me before... anyway, for the common issues i will list them out 1 by 1 hopefully later in the thread.

fyi, MEGALINK is for Lenovo notebooks. alright, Changi & Parkview is for ALL thinkpads and lenovo V & N series. so alot of customers bring their leonovo s, u, ideapad all down but we cant help you.

Hi hi! I am a big fans of Thinkpad since my co gave me one last time and plan to get one for myself sometimes this year - so yeah, be proud of being the service centre guy for one of the best notebook out there :D

Maybe can share us some tips on how to maintain our notebook:
- Do's and Dont's
- Make battery last longer
- Maintenance of software and hardware
- etc2 :)

lol i'm proud, but sad to see users abuse the thinkpads. i'll be giving a short n brief Q & A to ur post alright, pardon me need to work tmr.

no.1 - DUN EVER try to test system by allowing water in, pls. dun try. lol.

no.2 - in my opinion opt for max batt life than max performance, if u wanna max performance, plug in ur charger pls.

no.3 - actually warez maintenance is pretty much the same as a custom rig, just remember to update ur drivers from lenovo's website. its important to always check for drivers update. as for hardware, like common defrag of hdd like every half yr?

hope to answer more of your questions just slowly 1 at the time.

dasanyuan

Would it be possible for you to help me extend my Thinkpad's warranty?

Currently it is:

This product has a three year limited warranty which includes a ThinkPlus warranty upgrade. This product is entitled to parts and labor and includes on-site repair service. Service is available 7X24 with a 4 hour response objective.
c.gif

However i want the duration extended to 5 years.

Lenovo website state calling a toll-free number, however i dont wish to order via telephone as it is troublesome. Do u have any alternate purchase method?

alright for your case, its better to call the 1800-418-9933 for our service center to check if ur machine is valid to extend its warranty, because i have many users wanting to extend however if the particular parts has stopped production therefore u cant. u know wat i mean right?

and also, another alternative to purchase is to go down to the service center, yes i know its a hassle but at least u'll have a better & clearer view on the various prices cause the prices varies from carry-in, onsite NBD, onsite 4 hrs.

fyi, another number u can call if u need to log in a case is the 800-6011-343 technical support helpline.

and also, i cant extend ur warranty from my workplace. cause once u purchase, the I/C of warranty extension will then update the database.

sorry if my replies are not that clear, but dun fret once i'm in office tmr, i'll surely clear most of ur doubts to my utmost best.

dasanyuan

my last post for the night,

opening hours for

Changi Business Park Service Center (near Singapore Expo)
IBM Place 2 Level 1
Mon - Fri 9am to 7.30pm
1800-418-9933

IBM Drop Off Center (near Bugis, opposite Raffles Medical)
Parkview Square #16-01
Mon - Fri 9am to 5pm
Lunch Hour - 1.30pm to 2.30pm CLOSED
Sat 9am to 12.30pm

dasanyuan

Am looking at T410 or T510 - any comments on this model?

just my point of view, T series has always been stable to me. i havent actually got a chance to touch those 2 models. but i think it should be fine. sorry ah, i'm not a salesman haha thats y i only can give personal comments which might be or actually not useful at all.
but generally the T series is a gd range. as a fan u should know, the common problems for the older ones T42,43 usually is just the fan problem. due to wear n tear. t400 proving to be a student's favourite. any more views from fans out there?

mikezuper

just my point of view, T series has always been stable to me. i havent actually got a chance to touch those 2 models. but i think it should be fine. sorry ah, i'm not a salesman haha thats y i only can give personal comments which might be or actually not useful at all.
but generally the T series is a gd range. as a fan u should know, the common problems for the older ones T42,43 usually is just the fan problem. due to wear n tear. t400 proving to be a student's favourite. any more views from fans out there?
Yeah - agree with your view - T series is the best :D
My dream setup would be:
- One T series
- Docking station with 2DVI output (is there exist such docking station?)
- Two 22" Monitors: Dell 2209 (sorry - I prefer Dell Monitors :))

What is your view of Thinkpad Edge?
Is there a lot of issues? People go for servicing for this model?
Can you share with us which series goes to service centre the most frequent? =:p

dasanyuan

Yeah - agree with your view - T series is the best :D
My dream setup would be:
- One T series
- Docking station with 2DVI output (is there exist such docking station?)
- Two 22" Monitors: Dell 2209 (sorry - I prefer Dell Monitors :))

What is your view of Thinkpad Edge?
Is there a lot of issues? People go for servicing for this model?
Can you share with us which series goes to service centre the most frequent? =:p

haha damn pressure leh this type of questions. lol. firstly i think dun have 2dvi docking station, maybe have la, but i never see before. haha. thinkpad edge ah, hmmm so far no one brought it in, of course right cause just launch if bring it in, thinkpad lose face liao leh ROFL :s12: but my colleagues all say its a budget thinkpad, can consider getting it. they trying to break into the market with all the new colours haha.

i can't share which series more common la. very sensitive leh. i cannot be jobless, if not my rig cannot upgrade, car loan cannot pay then how? haha.

but generally T series is the older models, T42, 43, 60. but iirc i never recieve t400s before. the SL series sometimes. however there was this "trend" X series cannot boot up because users bought wrong RAMS. lol damn funny. alot of different stuff each day.

gohkhm

Anyone can comment on the performance of W510? Was considering buying soon.

Pros - top notch quad core processor, solid 1gb discrete graphics and huge display
Cons - heavy, relatively short battery life

Really depends on how you intend to use your Thinkpad and your day to day routine...you intend to travel around much with your Thinkpad? If so then probably better to opt for a lighter one such as T or X series. Hope this helps...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.