IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

gohkhm

I just got my T410 few days back. I was also concern about that lid issue and the high pitch noise. There are always design issue that you might hate. I also have the E6400, these two machines are not perfect. But they serve their intended purpose to increase our productivity.

Is the high pitch noise intermittent? It is normally caused by electrical noise from power cables and should subside after a while. If not, you may want to ask the tech support to take a look.

gohkhm

T410 currently from $2219 to $2578.
have 3 configurations from shop.

i5-520M 2.4GHz, 2GB, 320GB 7200rpm, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA, Intel GMA HD, Webcam, Fingerprint, Win7Pro, 6cell battery, 3 years
$2219

i5-520M 2.4GHz, 2GB, 500GB 7200rpm, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA, nVida Quadro 3100M 256MB, Webcam, Fingerprint, Win7Pro, 9cell battery, 3 years
$2419

i5-520M 2.53GHz, 2GB, 500GB 7200rpm, DVDRW, 14.1" WXGA+, nVida Quadro 3100M 256MB, Webcam, Fingerprint, Win7Pro, 6cell battery, 3 years
$2578

Hi Kenshin79, do you want to add in bluetooth, onsite for completeness? Free upgrade for rams too right? Upz for you. Good deals :)

dasanyuan

want cheap, want long warranty, want global coverage really got such good deals meh?

Apparently the Thinkpad fits the bill though :)

Lenovo Notebook Warranty
All notebooks featured in this website under the “Student Notebook Ownership Scheme 2010” come with the following warranty:

* 4 years* on site local (including AC transformer / adapter and electrical cable cord) and labour costs
* Next-Business-Day (NBD) On-site local (Customer’s Residence) Response
* Inclusive of parts and labour
* 8 hours x 7 days Telephone Technical Support Hotline
* Loan notebook of equivalent or better if resolution is not possible on NBD call
* Maximum resolution duration shall not exceed 5 business days
* One year warranty for Battery

* Apply to purchase during the school road show only. Standard warranty is only 3 years international. *Warranty is not applicable for ThinkPad SL series.

In the event that the customer’s notebook has been retained by the Lenovo for more than twenty (20) Business-Days for warranty-related services, a replacement unit shall be provided to the customer.

wah lao. so good ah nowadays the coverage... i hope ppl dun abuse their thinkpads.. :s13:

Kenshin79

Hi Kenshin79, do you want to add in bluetooth, onsite for completeness? Free upgrade for rams too right? Upz for you. Good deals :)

yup, the standard Wi-Fi, bluetooth are inside for retail models... though it might not always be the case for customized sets.

for RAM upgrades etc, customers can always check with the salesperson for bundles :)

ginseng1

Hi gohkhm and kenshing, Upzz for you for selling the Thinkpads at a discounted rates compared to retail stores.

By the way, aren't the both of you working together since you are carrying the same banner. :)

MarineX

wah lao. so good ah nowadays the coverage... i hope ppl dun abuse their thinkpads.. :s13:

the only think i dislike thinkpad is...

1. changi service centre (though got on-site)
2. the design
3. maybe the price. haha

no other complains with it :)

yes1705

This shop staff in SLS helped me install this ram I bought into my new 12.1" Thinkpad I got recently. While the Vista OS was booting up, he picked up my Thinkpad and turn the notebook almost upside down just to check out the rear of the Thinkpad.

I nearly fainted thinking the new new hdd must have created some bad sectors when it was "overturned". :s16: Cause even the Active Protection Detection cannot save my hdd because Vista not fully booted yet.

Now I get so angry thinking about the damage waiting to be revealed thanks to this "overturn" action. :s27:

gohkhm

This shop staff in SLS helped me install this ram I bought into my new 12.1" Thinkpad I got recently. While the Vista OS was booting up, he picked up my Thinkpad and turn the notebook almost upside down just to check out the rear of the Thinkpad.

I nearly fainted thinking the new new hdd must have created some bad sectors when it was "overturned". :s16: Cause even the Active Protection Detection cannot save my hdd because Vista not fully booted yet.

Now I get so angry thinking about the damage waiting to be revealed thanks to this "overturn" action. :s27:

You should really consider upgrading to Win 7 or downgrade to XP. Vista is very resource intensive, unstable and will most likely not perform well on an X-series. If you want to minimise any nasty things from happening to your Thinkpad, can consider DIY. Esp. replacing HDD or ram...very easy if you follow the tech manual. Some of these sales people are not technically inclined, so unless its an authorised Thinkpad engineer, I wouldnt let them touch my Thinkpad. :s13:

dasanyuan

changi far got parkview ma. log in case, drop off, fast game. chop chop less than 5 mins. parking got 10mins grace period in parkview square. at changi business park, have complimentry parking. just drop off ur machine. park as long as u want. can do preload also nvm. LOL.

y he overturn ah? so weird. he put ram in, go bios check cannot see meh? even if bios dun have, surely can see some info w/o need to overturn one ma... haha. i usually over turn a thinkpad is to dismantle it. 1st time i hear ppl boot up time overturn. rofl.

yes. xp or 7. pls dun ever put vista on thinkpads... i've seen so many cases of customers complaining how jia lat vista runs on thinkpad... haha

westwest1

Is the high pitch noise intermittent? It is normally caused by electrical noise from power cables and should subside after a while. If not, you may want to ask the tech support to take a look.

the high pitch noise is cause by the fan. Even the owl wing shaped fan blade are not help much. Cause the fan have to work overtime to the system cool. But this happen under load like video encoding.

Definitely international warranty if you are going overseas. What flex issue are you referring to? Can you elaborate? I sold some recently but none of my customers reported any issues.

Another point that you may want to take note is that these poly units may not come with a wwan antenna built into the LCD bezel (can someone confirm this?) so it will not be possible for you to upgrade your Thinkpad with mobile broadband in future. Do check it out first before you commit. Hope this helps. :)

the left side of the LCD have some flexing issue. If the customer does not know about. Than it's ok. Cause this is a design issue.

ginseng1

yes. xp or 7. pls dun ever put vista on thinkpads... i've seen so many cases of customers complaining how jia lat vista runs on thinkpad... haha

Agree.

My X61 was running Vista Ultimate for 2 years. Load up damn slow. HDD still reading for a long time even after booting into Windows. I upgraded to Win 7 Pro. Immediately, I could see and feel the difference. Booting up very fast. Everything runs much faster. This applies only to Thinkpads as my desktop Vista Pro ran without any of those sluggish problems. Dunno why.

That time running Vista, was so frustrated that I wanted to switch to Win XP but dunno why cannot install. Perhaps need to go into BIOS to change the SATA mode.

ginseng1

I find that my X61 and X201 performance no noticeable difference at all for normal apps like MS Office and IE8 and viewing of HD AVCHD files. Come to think of it, it's a waste of money to keep upgrading.

Both are running 4gb RAM and 7200 RPM HDD.

But alas, I simply love my Thinkpads that I find reasons to buy a new Thinkpad each time a new model is released. Now aiming for the W series.

vivalabam

Definitely international warranty if you are going overseas. What flex issue are you referring to? Can you elaborate? I sold some recently but none of my customers reported any issues.

Another point that you may want to take note is that these poly units may not come with a wwan antenna built into the LCD bezel (can someone confirm this?) so it will not be possible for you to upgrade your Thinkpad with mobile broadband in future. Do check it out first before you commit. Hope this helps. :)

thanks for your reply.

flex meaning the lid bends in a little when a slight amount of pressure is applied. its not the flexing that concerns me, but rather the slight ripple effect on the left part of the LCD screen. i haven't a clue whether this will damage or minimize the lifespan of the LCD in the longrun. ps i didn't scrutinize it, just happened to notice it while fiddling about with it for a half hour.

i don't need WWAN for now lol, not when wifi is pretty much everywhere i go.

Epee

Aiyoh, don't condemn until like this lah :p 1yr plus with Vista, ok lah. I did install Win7 Pro on another HDD just to see how it is. It is the 64bit that I like. Still cannot understand why IBM loads 32bit OS on a 4GB machine.

Well, next step is to save up for that Intel X25-M G2 :D on 64bit Win7.

Epee

I find that my X61 and X201 performance no noticeable difference at all for normal apps like MS Office and IE8 and viewing of HD AVCHD files. Come to think of it, it's a waste of money to keep upgrading.

Both are running 4gb RAM and 7200 RPM HDD.

But alas, I simply love my Thinkpads that I find reasons to buy a new Thinkpad each time a new model is released. Now aiming for the W series.

I'm still using an X31, PM 1.3Ghz with 1.25GB memory sometimes. Still very usable leh. The only problem is that it can't run on battery, dunno why! The battery circuitry kee siao.

pravinuss

Bros, anyone know where to buy the Thinkpad notebook stand? Looking to buy one for my w500 so can hold it while i link it up to a ext moniter.

gohkhm

Bros, anyone know where to buy the Thinkpad notebook stand? Looking to buy one for my w500 so can hold it while i link it up to a ext moniter.

I saw a foldable table sold at Spotlight some time back. It allows you adjust the height according to your couch, sofa or chair, so that you can use a notebook or makan while watching TV. The folded size is very compact, so it stores easily. I think it was retailing for $50-60. Could be just what you are looking for.

pravinuss

I saw a foldable table sold at Spotlight some time back. It allows you adjust the height according to your couch, sofa or chair, so that you can use a notebook or makan while watching TV. The folded size is very compact, so it stores easily. I think it was retailing for $50-60. Could be just what you are looking for.

Not really looking to put it next to my television. More for my study table beside my 22inch moniter. Was looking at a stand more like this,
IMG3795_MKT_IMG_FILENAME_7.gif

Thanks for the input though.

naruto13

challenger have a sort of portable laptop table. the adjusted height can be flatten to like flat level except the thickness, the leg is adjustable with 2 height selection.

so basically its flat, 1st height and 2nd height. total of 3 setting u can choose. also around $50+ only.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.