IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

dasanyuan

must condemn la. y ibm load 32bit? coz its meant for home users ma...64bit is not totally supported yet... i also using 32bit os ever since i rig up my comp. vista cannot make it at all, no matter on wat machine. haha. i saw a x100e in white. nice siol. btw, thinkpad, dun need to buy stand. coz its stable enough to stand on its own. haha

ginseng1

I'm still using an X31, PM 1.3Ghz with 1.25GB memory sometimes. Still very usable leh. The only problem is that it can't run on battery, dunno why! The battery circuitry kee siao.

How long have you been using the X31?

All good things have to come to an end. Go buy a new machine once if fails you totally or when there is a good promo.

Epee

How long have you been using the X31?

All good things have to come to an end. Go buy a new machine once if fails you totally or when there is a good promo.

I got an x200 :p but sometimes I use the X31 cos it has a standard 1024x768 screen. I also have an X30 (P3 1.2Ghz, 768MB Ram with Windows 7) :D

ginseng1

Ha Ha! Just like me.

2 sets of X61 and 1 set of X201.

1 set of X61 with P7250 @ 2ghz, 2mb cache, 4gb RAM and WDC 320gb Black 7200RPM.

1 set of X61 with P7300 @ 2Ghz, 4mb cache, 4 gb RAM and WDC 320gb Black 7200RPM.

1 set of X201 with i5-540m, 4gb RAM and Seagate 500gb 7200RPM.

I like the X61's 4:3 aspect ratio and its resolution of 1024 by 768. Can see so much on the screen. Sad that most if not all lappies now are widescreen.

ginseng1

Anyone running WIndows XP on X61?

I tried to install but cannot. Is it that I need to go BIOS to change the SATA settings to AHCI???

Thanks.

ginseng1

Dear dasnyuan

If my X61 has Vista business COA, will Lenovo Thinkpad centre lend me the Windows XP recovery disc?

My machine is still under warranty.

Thanks!
Ginseng

gohkhm

I tried to install but cannot. Is it that I need to go BIOS to change the SATA settings to AHCI???

Thanks.

I believe if you are installing via AHCI then you will need the Intel Matrix Storage drivers which is by default not included in the WinXP installation discs. You can either use a thumbdrive to provide the driver during the installation or slipstream a copy of WinXP with all the thinkpad drivers to save the trouble.

More details on slipstreaming here http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus/160809-how-slipstream-sata-drivers-into-xp.html

Hope this helps.

dasanyuan

Dear dasnyuan

If my X61 has Vista business COA, will Lenovo Thinkpad centre lend me the Windows XP recovery disc?

My machine is still under warranty.

Thanks!
Ginseng

can, do ur preload at the service center. but double check first with 1800-418-9933

ahtea

Thanks.
Yes, either that, download the intel matrix drivers off the net and create a bootable floppy and hit F6 during the drivers initialization of WinXP installation. (Provided you can find a floppy drive).

ginseng1

Thanks for the replies on installing XP on my X61.

Think I will dropby the service centre first. Just need to load only and free parking.

westwest1

does anyone have any idea apart from the thinkpad f3507g WWAN card. Which other model will work in T410?

yes1705

What brand of screen protectors you recommend for X61? Or better that I buy the 3M Privacy Filter which I can slot in and take out easily.

koodsim

regarding to wat goh has posted,

yes its very simple to remove the palm rest n k/b. all u need is 4-6 screws. but beware when u put it back. dun force to screw it back in if u find that its abit tight. it has to do with ur placing of the parts. i had some problems previously also. but long time u will get used to it... for cleaning, dun use the green thingy... i cant remember wat is it called... use a brush to clean up ur dirt. dun brush ur screen pls it may cause sratches. if u wanna clean ur screen or cover use a anti static foam cleaner with a 3m cloth...

i hope this helps.

Hi. May I know where can I get the anti static foam cleaner and 3M cloth for my ThinkPad X201 screen?

naruto13

o ya shawn, u know what is software that is good to have that is bundle in the laptop? or the restore cd inside got other software?

juz got my x201, lazy to explore, gona juz reformat the whole thing to 64bit but not too sure of ibm software that might be good. or maybe have to dl from elsewhere etc.

ahtea

o ya shawn, u know what is software that is good to have that is bundle in the laptop? or the restore cd inside got other software?

juz got my x201, lazy to explore, gona juz reformat the whole thing to 64bit but not too sure of ibm software that might be good. or maybe have to dl from elsewhere etc.
You can download the Thinkvantage System Update utility from Lenovo driver support to retrieve the Thinkvantage softwares such as Hotkey Utility, Access Connection (Very useful), Power Manager (Useful as well) etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.