IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

BeiKeHan

Warning for R40 user

Based on my past few weeks of experience using R40, I realised there is a few program/things that will cause either your computer to slow down or hanged.

First, is the IBM active thinkpad theme. Do not use any of the crappy theme as it will cause either your laptop to hang while surfing the net OR you will find that while watching movie, the scene will be jerky.

Maybe some of you have experienced that......

hotkidd

coates said:

mine oso dun have. nvm that, the co-op still owes me the Office XP :mad:

Go chase them for it! They normally take their own sweet time if you do not do anything about it.

Qingrong

Re: Recovery CD

BeiKeHan said:

I tried using recovery cd before. It was on my first R40 as it was problematic. I even do the recovery 3 times and I used all the 4 disk. I think u have to wait patiently for the computer to load the recovery disk and it will prompt you to insert disk 3 and 4 somewhere later in the recovery stage.

Just have to wait patiently.........:cool:

hmm... how long after? i finish setting up with the 1st 2 le.... inside windows environment... then i will be prompt 2 use the other 2?

thks for the info... :)

chrisl

New Tricks!

If your Thinkpad is in Sleep / Standby mode,

press and hold FN key to wake it up!

zan82

To NUS students without norton....think you all can chase your school for the corporate version of norton....at least me have the corporate version....i not in nus btw....they should have windows xp office and the basic software you need to survive....look up your IT dept and ask for it

Qingrong

check out the IBM Access Connections... can manage the various connection tt u will make... examples: wireless network... school LAN... home network... dial-up... vpn... etc etc... :)

good for switching between connections... :)

Nitrile

Qingrong said:
check out the IBM Access Connections... can manage the various connection tt u will make... examples: wireless network... school LAN... home network... dial-up... vpn... etc etc... :)

good for switching between connections... :)

i use that..its very good.:)

ppong

Yup just discovered while browsing thru IBM access yesterday... Finally something that can handle all my different connections.

X18

Hi guys, getting my R40 tomolo. how long do i have to charge the battery for the first time?

Thanx

zan82

Overcharge for 8-10 hours to "wake" up the battery...and then also next few charges intentionally run down the battery to almost or at 0% and charge to full....to max ur batt's life

qingtian

X18 said:
Hi guys, getting my R40 tomolo. how long do i have to charge the battery for the first time?

Thanx

You may miss out my previous post.

Extending your battery life
The amount of battery power consumed by your computer depends on such conditions as how often you use it, the operating temperature, and the period in storage (if unused).

The following tips can help you to extend the life of your battery:

If your battery is brand new and you are charging it for the first time, it might not become fully charged due to the characteristics of the chemicals in the cell. To maximize performance, ensure that all chemicals in the battery are fully activated by cycling the battery (fully charge, then fully discharge) three times. This procedure is also recommended if you stored the battery for a few months.

Do not charge the battery pack until all of its power is used. Recharging a battery pack that is not completely discharged can shorten battery life.

Once you start charging the battery pack, do not use it until it is fully charged.

Whenever possible, use the ThinkPad battery power-saving modes:

standby: The LCD and the hard disk drive are turned off.
suspend: All tasks are stopped and stored in memory to save power.

hibernation: All tasks are stopped. The memory data and the current status of the computer are stored in the hard disk drive; then the power is turned off.
Decrease the LCD brightness.

Use Advanced Power Management (APM). Each operating system comes with its own APM.

Stop the power supply to a serial device if it is not in use.
Remove the battery pack and keep it in a cool place if you will not be using the computer for a long period.

gruff

Also of interest is someone having memory woes:

:rolleyes:

Memory problems

Lately, I experienced all kind of memory problems (unreproductible gcc internal error, sig 11, random kernel crashes), that suggested me a problem with memory modules. My machine is running with one 1GB SDRAM, I purchased an additionnal memory module from IBM (512MB PC2100, CL2.5, FRU 10K0033, 2003-01-23) to add to the built-in 512MB modules. This module is correctly referenced by IBM, and is supposed to work in my T40.

memtest86 quickly found several memory errors, on test 3 and 4, all addresses locations were above 512MB. Similar errors were found both on battery mode (CPU clocked at 600MHZ), and on AC mode (CPU clocked at full speed at 1600MHz). The errors disappeared when running memtest86 with only the 512MB built-in module. This additionnaly memory module is stamped with an IBM sticker, and memory chipsets come from Micron Technologies (P/N MT16VDDS6464HG-265). Running a full memory test with the shipped PC-Doctor program didn't find anything wrong with both modules. Should I suspect random errors due to overheat ? The back of the laptop, where the memory module is inserted, is not really air cooled, and the module appeared to be rather rather hot, when I removed it to proceed to my investigations. Any similar feedback welcome.

Update 2003/06/14: Some more diagnostics about the memory problems. The memory errors are currently only detected with the memtest86 program. This program is free software, and released under the GNU GPL License. This patch has to be applied on version 3.0, so the cache size of the Pentium M processor is correctly detected by CPUID.

I extracted the builtin memory module of my laptop. The T40 - Hardware Maintenance Manual is of great help to provide useful information about the internal organisation of your laptop. Accessing the builtin memory module requires to remove the keyboard. This operation is relatively easy to achieve. It requires no special screw driver, just a little care for the connection ribbon of the keyboard.

The internal memory module is Infineon chipsets, the spec sheet is not (yet?) available on Infineon's web site (P/N HYS64D64020GBDL-7-B, PC2100S-2033-0-Z, 512MB, DDR, 133MHZ, CL2). So the noticeable difference between both internal and supplementary modules is their Cas Latency (CL).

Running with only the Micron memory chip in the builtin memory slot worked fine with memtest86. No error detected after 4 iterations of the whole tests sequence. It took approx 3 hours to complete these 4 iterations. Then I reinserted the Infineon memory chip back in the supplementary memory slot on the bottom of the machine. I came back to a 1GB configuration and both modules were swapped from their original location. memtest86 found errors in this configuration too.

To sum up, each module works fine separately, and they fail when put together.

* In the manufacturer configuration (infineon CL2 builtin chip, and Micron CL2.5 supplementary chip), all failing addresses are located above 512MB, and after I swapped the chips, the failing addresses are now located below 512MB. So the problem seem to be located on a single module.
* The error-bits pattern given by memtest86 (aka the difference between the bad value and the good value) are very similar for each error : in most cases, 0x000000ff, 0x0000ff00, 0x00ff0000 or 0xff000000.

Problem with a mixing CL ? I'll probably contact IBM very soon to obtain some explanation about this problem. Stay tuned!

Update 2003/06/17: I tested again the supplementary memory module alone. And after a more longer testing period than the previous one (a whole night long), the memtest86 program finally found some errors, after somewhat 9 passes. Not many errors, 40 approximately, all concerning test number 3 and 4. Less errors were found than when both chips were in use. This confirmed my impression that a single memory module is buggy : the supplementary one. I contacted IBM France, and they accepted to change this module after some discussion. For now, I run Linux with the builtin memory only, and I didn't experienced any single failure yet. Quite rassuring.

Update 2003/06/21: I received yesterday my new 512MB memory module FRU: 10K0033, Samsung Chipsets (P/N PC2100S-25330-Z, M470L6423DN0-**0, CL=2.5, date 2003-04-11) and made some tests. The memtester userland program did successfully run several hours long without problem, and the memtest86 program did successfully run during a whole night, 7 passes with defaults tests. I also recompiled without problem the whole GNOME environment from CVS. According to these tests, I can conclude that the memory combination is now suitable for a daily use of this laptop.

mrbunglez

eh mine got leh.. its not preinstalled, but the files are in the start, programs, menu... jus launch it and it will proceed to install the prog.

Nitrile

mrbunglez said:
eh mine got leh.. its not preinstalled, but the files are in the start, programs, menu... jus launch it and it will proceed to install the prog.

yup, norton right

ppong

mrbunglez said:

where did u get urs from?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.