IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

cheery

I paid CGW about USD 8 more to shave a few days off.
maybe that's why mine got here earlier than yours heh heh.

the compatible power cord is very common in singapore.

perhaps the link i posted not so clear.
this should be more familiar to you:
http://www.datafieldindia.com/images/2_pin_power_cord2.jpg

you might have a spare one at home already.
it's the type they use for low powered (kind of) household appliances that dont need earthing. like dvd player, radio, battery charger, small sound system, etc.
(the longest middle pin in the giant 3-pin plugs is for earthing)

if you need to buy, should be easy to get from your neighbourhood uncle uncle electrical shop or maybe even ntuc.
noted! I just saw 1 lying around... however I'm wondering why doesn't it use the 3 pin type? I'm thinking of getting the 3 pin type ...

bitsoffish

is the amazon checkout working? dun see the button when trying to pay.. only got Lenovo Checkout and Paypal... Any ideas?

bitsoffish

anyone knows how to get the amazon checkout button to show?
w71rhf.png

dao

Kind of 'dislike' the thinkpad matte screen, as it strain my eyes after long use. :/. Is it possible to change to glare screen or some add on to improve the screen?

You might to try out changing the color profile:
Laptop Forums and Notebook Computer Discussion - View Single Post - ThinkPad X220 (i/T) Owners Thread

you the first person to make such a comment :s13:

alot of TP user like the matte screen as it is less straining on ur eyes as compare to glossy panel.

yes, that is one of the screen of choosing TP instead of going for those ultrabook with glare screen.

bitsoffish

there is a requirement for using amazon checkout : there can be only 1 checkout item.

(warranty upgrade is considered as separate item)

It is the base spec. i didnt change anything in the specs still cannot leh. just choose a machine then add to cart without changing anything..

floodgate

It is the base spec. i didnt change anything in the specs still cannot leh. just choose a machine then add to cart without changing anything..

hmm... i can only help you by giving you a list of things to try...

1. go in with an empty cart, and try to buy something else other than this notebook, and see if it works.
2. try shopping with and without logging in as a member (lenovo website member)
3. try different browser lor.

my personal experience when i had the warranty upgrade in my cart was that the button will show for a split second and say something like "for single item checkout only". then disappear. this was more obvious on a slow connection or slow computer. if you get this same thing, it might mean that somewhere in your config there could be more than 1 "item". (long shot, i know)

at the same time, since you havent ordered,
have you heard stories of people getting good prices after haggling with the sales rep in online chat? might want to give it a try. i've heard that it's as simple as saying it's too expensive.

xenatrix

Hello,

Does anyone know if this option on Lenovo US website for X220,
4YR Onsite + 4YR ThinkPad Protection

Does it cover internationally? Thank you

thinkpad protection is US-only, so only useful if you have a US contact. not sure if onsite is valid in sg. at the minimum, you can bring your machine to changi.

cheery

W520 Headphone & Mic Jack -- pausing buzzing sound when turning the connector of the speaker around..

Anyone encountered this?

I have not listened to music with it yet....

scoolboy

Hey guys i was wondering if replacing the existing ram and hard disk inside my thinkpad will void the warranty? And also am i able to install a hard disk in the slot that is used for the optical drive? I am using t410 btw.

Azrielsc

Hey guys i was wondering if replacing the existing ram and hard disk inside my thinkpad will void the warranty? And also am i able to install a hard disk in the slot that is used for the optical drive? I am using t410 btw.

Nope, will not void warranty. Those are Customer Replacement Units (CRU).

If you want to install a HDD in the DVD slot, then you will have to purchase a Lenovo ultraslim HDD caddy. I just ordered one from ebay 30 sec ago for my coming ultrabase dock. :)

Thai_Rak_Thai

hi guys, was just wondering if the X200 ultrbase dock can read DVDs from Code1 region (USA)

- apologies, was unsure where to post this question.

Thank you for any advice :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.