IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

rainmanreigns

Any of the other NUS peeps using the embedded security chip software? I've downloaded all the programs but haven't installed it yet. Is it really worthwhile? Thoughts?

ahtea

X18 said:
help!! any r40 users found their lcd screen yellowish?

i compared my r40 lcd screens to other laptops or crt monitors and i found that the screen is quite yellowish!! that means the white colour are not white anymore..its abit yellow...

:(

anyone have the same problem as mine? thanx

Have you tried calling IBM helpdesk before?

X18

i still not sure is I myself too sensitive or wat..but i really found my lcd screen a bit yellow in color when displaying white color...just a bit..

i went to sls too browse thru ibm r40 n other brands lappy n found that maybe is just r40 screen will have this kind of problem. i had a look at the t40 screen, the white colour is realli WHITE lor...sigh

thanx for ur reply though :)

philip827

X18 said:
i still not sure is I myself too sensitive or wat..but i really found my lcd screen a bit yellow in color when displaying white color...just a bit..

i went to sls too browse thru ibm r40 n other brands lappy n found that maybe is just r40 screen will have this kind of problem. i had a look at the t40 screen, the white colour is realli WHITE lor...sigh

thanx for ur reply though :)

I am a R40 user.... but my screen is not yellowish leh....all white...

X18

:) Did u actualli compare ur screen with others model lcd or crt monitor?

i think u'll find the difference when u do that..it's pretty obvious..the white colour on our lcds looks a bit..eh..how should i say..its not pure white..

anyway, i have noticed that normally laptop screens will have that kind of problem after one or two years...sigh.

ahtea

I think it could be due to the brightness settings. Try setting it to the brightest and see if the problem is still there. It could also be due to the different type of LCD panels used too.

X18

What do u mean by different type of lcd panels used? :confused:

that means r40 are using the inferior type of lcds?

anyway, my brightness setting are set to the highest level liao :(

actualli it is not vry serious la..it is still white..but not as white as other lappy lcds.

blancMX

New R40 user here...
pls add me in too...
:D
now my baby still charging..
btw wat r the things i need to do 1st?

Qingrong

blancMX said:
New R40 user here...
pls add me in too...
:D
now my baby still charging..
btw wat r the things i need to do 1st?

welcome onboard.... u r added

some things which u might consider doing first...

1) Apply the patch for Blaster worm
2) Do windows update
3) Do virus update
4) Do ibm update
5) the rest is up 2 u 2 explore...

cheers!

blancMX

Qingrong said:

welcome onboard.... u r added

some things which u might consider doing first...

1) Apply the patch for Blaster worm
2) Do windows update
3) Do virus update
4) Do ibm update
5) the rest is up 2 u 2 explore...

cheers!

Thnx QingRong!! :laugh:

ahtea

X18 said:
What do u mean by different type of lcd panels used? :confused:

that means r40 are using the inferior type of lcds?

anyway, my brightness setting are set to the highest level liao :(

actualli it is not vry serious la..it is still white..but not as white as other lappy lcds.

You cannot say that R40 is using an inferior LCD. The yellowish screen could be also due to different badges of shipments coz i remembered seeing r40 at shops and they have really good LCDs no yellowish color. So i strongly advise that you check with IBM helpdesk to see what they can do for you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.