IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

Nitrile

Slipstream said:
Hi guys, Got some question to ask Centrino users.

I'm currently using T23. My battery life is abt 2.5hrs.

Running office applications and Acrobat only.
Already using Max Battery under the power scheme.

Wat is the battery life for Centrino-based Laptop?

May consider upgrading or just buy another battery. :(

Cheers :bounce:

about 2.5 to 3 hours under word processing/performance setting

Slipstream

Nitrile said:

about 2.5 to 3 hours under word processing/performance setting
But I thought Centrino-based Laptop should have a longer battery life than 3hrs.

Maybe last about 5 hrs?? :confused:

Nitrile

Slipstream said:
But I thought Centrino-based Laptop should have a longer battery life than 3hrs.

Maybe last about 5 hrs?? :confused:

5 hrs for power saving mode.

jiuyang76

How to maximise CPU speed

I read it somewhere in this forum but couldn't remember. How do you maximize the CPU speed for R40 centrino? Mine is a 1.3GHZ but even when i set the power scheme to highest performance, it still show only 500MHz speed.

X_WinD

Hi, I using a T30 P4-M 1.8GHz and a T40 centrino 1.3Ghz, heard that the centrino is actually faster by 30% is that true? Some how i feel my T30 is still faster than the new T40:confused:

ppong

jiuyang76 said:

Ok wat antivirus are u using? Yesterday i install the norton antivirus that comes with the NUS R40, but it only give 3 mths of free subscription service:(

Ended up using Trend Officescan again...

is there such a thing as default scheme? i just choose the one thats suits what im doing at the time.

jiuyang76

ppong said:

is there such a thing as default scheme? i just choose the one thats suits what im doing at the time.

Oh i found it, it's defined in Control Panel > Power Mgmt as IBM default scheme.

I wonder is there a scheme where the cpu can perform to its maximum speed? Currently the high performance scheme only set the cpu speed to 500Mhz (instead of 1.3Ghz)

ahlip

Slipstream said:
Hi guys, Got some question to ask Centrino users.

I'm currently using T23. My battery life is abt 2.5hrs.

Running office applications and Acrobat only.
Already using Max Battery under the power scheme.

Wat is the battery life for Centrino-based Laptop?

May consider upgrading or just buy another battery. :(

My T40 1.5 GHz normally can last at least 3.5 hr under normal load (some DVD playing, some word processing, some surfing) running my own customised power scheme for long batt life.

That is from 100% to 3% batt remaining.

jiuyang76

Network instability with Pacnet ADSL

Hi, has anyone experienced problem when using Aztech USB adsl modem (DSL 500) with Pacnet Broadband? I just installed the modem drivers in my R40 and the first time usage was ok - i manage to dial and surf on the net.

However, on the 2nd day i boot up, the networking system in XP seems to be screwed up. The network icons disappear from the system taskbar, and clicking on Control Panel > Network Connections show nothing (seems to be hung):(

In the end even restart or shutdown from the Start Menu does not work. I have to manually press the power button to shut it down.

The wierd thing is that after rebooting, if i log in using another admin account, the whole system works fine again (able to detect modem, connect to net, etc)

Anyone knows what's the problem? Could it be due to the modem drivers?

Qingrong

Re: Network instability with Pacnet ADSL

jiuyang76 said:
Hi, has anyone experienced problem when using Aztech USB adsl modem (DSL 500) with Pacnet Broadband? I just installed the modem drivers in my R40 and the first time usage was ok - i manage to dial and surf on the net.

However, on the 2nd day i boot up, the networking system in XP seems to be screwed up. The network icons disappear from the system taskbar, and clicking on Control Panel > Network Connections show nothing (seems to be hung):(

In the end even restart or shutdown from the Start Menu does not work. I have to manually press the power button to shut it down.

The wierd thing is that after rebooting, if i log in using another admin account, the whole system works fine again (able to detect modem, connect to net, etc)

Anyone knows what's the problem? Could it be due to the modem drivers?

issit becos u didnt enable multiple users on ur laptop to use the connection? seems like tt lor...

jiuyang76

Re: Re: Network instability with Pacnet ADSL

after downloading all the latest patches for winxp and latest driver from aztech, the problem seems to be gone now..

Qingrong said:

issit becos u didnt enable multiple users on ur laptop to use the connection? seems like tt lor...

nabwong

Yo Braddas and Sistas,

I just got my T40 - 2373xxk
Yahoooooo....

What a laptop. Amazing speed and with looks to kill. The keyboard and touchpad is brilliant. Best of all Wireless!!!!!!!!

Got it from ebay at USD1450 + USD72.50(tax) + USD20(UPS) = USD1542.50

Qingrong

nabwong said:
Yo Braddas and Sistas,

I just got my T40 - 2373xxk
Yahoooooo....

What a laptop. Amazing speed and with looks to kill. The keyboard and touchpad is brilliant. Best of all Wireless!!!!!!!!

Got it from ebay at USD1450 + USD72.50(tax) + USD20(UPS) = USD1542.50

welcome onboard... :)

lcabz

I'm a new user of R40.

BTW, I'm from the Philippines and not Singapore but I would like to join your forum.

FYI. We tried to upgrade the 256MB memory with addional 256MB (Twinmos) and it worked but the performance was not that good. The current memory is Infineon 256MB CL2 and Twinmos is CL2.5. When we tried using the Twinmos only, it's the same performance as with the Infineon. We reckon that the Cas Latency is not that very compatible.

qingtian

lcabz said:
I'm a new user of R40.

BTW, I'm from the Philippines and not Singapore but I would like to join your forum.

FYI. We tried to upgrade the 256MB memory with addional 256MB (Twinmos) and it worked but the performance was not that good. The current memory is Infineon 256MB CL2 and Twinmos is CL2.5. When we tried using the Twinmos only, it's the same performance as with the Infineon. We reckon that the Cas Latency is not that very compatible.

Hi there and Welcome

jiuyang76

blancMX said:

i noe now to uninstall liao guys...
the password is trend
:laugh:

I wanted to uninstall the trend officescan NT (thinking of switching to AVG antivirus - free and good) but when i enter the password 'trend' it doesn;t work for me leh:(

wonder why antivirus uninstallation they have to password-protect...

tsw

I'm a new user of T40 - 76A! :happy:

Need to ask you guys about the available harddisk space, Mine is a 40GB hd space, but when I right click on my C: drive in the windows explorer, the system tells me :

4.55 GB Used
29.7 GB Free
34.3 GB Capacity

Is this normal? :confused:
Thanks.

Qingrong

tsw said:

I'm a new user of T40 - 76A! :happy:

Need to ask you guys about the available harddisk space, Mine is a 40GB hd space, but when I right click on my C: drive in the windows explorer, the system tells me :

4.55 GB Used
29.7 GB Free
34.3 GB Capacity

Is this normal? :confused:
Thanks.

welcome... possible if the space is used as a hidden partition... check wif the other ppl... mayb they can confirm this.. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.