IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

ppong

ch1ron said:
hi ,

has anyone experienced long initialization time for the IBM client security logon (embedded security chip) when the system boots?

any advice?

thxz

yah mine also very long. u choose to replace the windows login with the user parapharse right?

philip827

To all IBM R40 centrino users out there...
Do u guys experience a lagg in keyboard-mouse response when playing counterstrike??
I installed the IBM patch for slow keyboard response already but still no difference...
strangely the lagg only happens to CS....not warcraft...

macrossvf1s

Add ME!

Hello QingRong,

I have Thinkpad T22. Though its kinda old.... :D

Nice to know you people, thinkpad users!

blancMX

IBM recordnow

Anyone here tired the IBM recordnow? Can it overburn?
Shld i delete this and install Nero instead?

qingtian

Re: IBM recordnow

blancMX said:
Anyone here tired the IBM recordnow? Can it overburn?
Shld i delete this and install Nero instead?

Had try out the IBM Recordnow.
I would say it is very pretty to use.
;)

You could try out using Nero loh.
Should be no problem cos the rest of the IBM Users verify that it could be use.

:angel:

lerkaile

adding ram.

hey guys, any idea how much it would cost to add another 256mb of ram to my T40?

ppong

which brand r u refering to? if kingston i think u might as well throw in a few bucks more and buy a 512 twinmos one. cost around $190. Quite a number of ibm users are using that now including me :)

lcabz

AC Adaptor is very hot!

Hey Guys,

The AC Adaptor of my R40 is too hot everytime I uses it, in fact, you can't even hold it for more than 1 second because of the heat. :mad:

Does anyone also experience this? Actually my friend who bought the same unit as mine also experiences this. Is this normal or should I report it to IBM Support?

What do you think?
:confused:

qingtian

Re: AC Adaptor is very hot!

lcabz said:
Hey Guys,

The AC Adaptor of my R40 is too hot everytime I uses it, in fact, you can't even hold it for more than 1 second because of the heat. :mad:

Does anyone also experience this? Actually my friend who bought the same unit as mine also experiences this. Is this normal or should I report it to IBM Support?

What do you think?
:confused:

It should be normal, cos my AC Adaptor is also very hot while using it

:bounce:

Qingrong

i also la... i tink it's perfectly alrite lor... other equipments for example also like tt ma...

no price for 50th users... i bo lui also... :laugh:

NoMakeGirl

To wait or not to wait...

Not a Thinkpad user yet, but soon to be one of a T40. (I did have one like 6 years ago, ah, it served me well, sniffle)

I'll be starting grad school in Jan next year and that's the excuse I'm using to get the T40 :D

Anyway as you can imagine I can't wait ... so the question is, should I just get it now, or should I wait until December on the off chance price drops / new feature added ... ? Other brands coming out with newer models NOT a factor! Only Thinkpad for me!

Oh yes, any recommendations on where to get also appreciated. I'm going abroad, prefer proper retail (don't think I can buy from NUS anyway).

ppong

Re: To wait or not to wait...

NoMakeGirl said:
Not a Thinkpad user yet, but soon to be one of a T40. (I did have one like 6 years ago, ah, it served me well, sniffle)

I'll be starting grad school in Jan next year and that's the excuse I'm using to get the T40 :D

Anyway as you can imagine I can't wait ... so the question is, should I just get it now, or should I wait until December on the off chance price drops / new feature added ... ? Other brands coming out with newer models NOT a factor! Only Thinkpad for me!

Oh yes, any recommendations on where to get also appreciated. I'm going abroad, prefer proper retail (don't think I can buy from NUS anyway).

think u miss the warehouse sale by JOS liao. why dun u drop them a mail to ask if the offer is still avaliable. if not can approach kenshin. he should be able to give u a good deal :)

lerkaile

ppong said:
which brand r u refering to? if kingston i think u might as well throw in a few bucks more and buy a 512 twinmos one. cost around $190. Quite a number of ibm users are using that now including me :)

do i need to go to a shop to get it done? or can i do it myself and will that void the warranty?

thanks man

ppong

lerkaile said:

do i need to go to a shop to get it done? or can i do it myself and will that void the warranty?

thanks man

adding ram wont void the warrenty in any way :)

Diablo75_517

Fn F5 don't work?

Wondering if anyone encountered this problem?

When I press Fn + F5 to activate/de-activate the wireless on my T40, I get a pop-up saying "IBM Wireless adapters (802.11 or Bluetooth) are not installed on this system." :confused:

Fact is my wireless connection is working fine.

Help???

TIA

ahlip

Re: Fn F5 don't work?

Diablo75_517 said:
Wondering if anyone encountered this problem?

When I press Fn + F5 to activate/de-activate the wireless on my T40, I get a pop-up saying "IBM Wireless adapters (802.11 or Bluetooth) are not installed on this system." :confused:

Fact is my wireless connection is working fine.

Help???

TIA

Exact situation happened to me after i configured windows file/folder sharing on the system.

Went to XP system restore to undo the changes n the wireless functionality was back.

Diablo75_517

Re: Re: Fn F5 don't work?

ahlip said:

Exact situation happened to me after i configured windows file/folder sharing on the system.

Went to XP system restore to undo the changes n the wireless functionality was back.

It happened to me after installing the IBM security module. And I don't wanna uninstall that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.