If a GCB(big house) is so good…..

busfreaks

Imagine how many doors, windows and lights need to lock/turn off before going to bed.

And after that still worry who break in to your house.
Lights, aircon and ceiling fans can remotely turn off or on usually via a control panel

Only doors and windows need to lock manually

tokong

but this rich uncle has 2 sons wor,why don't give to sons?
my point is hor
big house in SG is not something to hold on forever lar,still can buy sell geh

People who own GCB are 99% businessmen or have a family business or founders/co-founders of their businesses. Their children probably have their own GCBs already (or chao chao got a pretty comfortable landed).

Plow98

Imagine how many doors, windows and lights need to lock/turn off before going to bed.

And after that still worry who break in to your house.
Then there's the issue of who to carry the trash to the roadside rubbish bin.

Aunt Dino

but this rich uncle has 2 sons wor,why don't give to sons?
my point is hor
big house in SG is not something to hold on forever lar,still can buy sell geh
Can the son make enough money to afford the maintenance for the GCB? Give me I also dare not to take.

AndroidComa

if the rich are doing something about it
u know that something is coming

Prismatic

I know an OZ business owner, who sold off his houses to move into one floor of his office. As in, he rented an entire floor above his business office to stay in. So the entire is like mostly empty except for his furnitures and some partitions.

ksapple

GCB is to hao lian only ma. U finisg hao liao already do u even bother if earn or lost money?

When u earn 700k-1m per month u gt lesser want liao.

After buy expensive property what is the next time u can hao lian? So waste money lor, who can waste more and afford more lost equal winner

theMKR

own stay not much right?
anyway supposed to be rich SME owner would have no problem paying upkeep lar
GCB has the lowest ppty tax to value ratio.

a 50m gcb should be 25k a year if owner occupied?

a 5m semibd will be about 4k

1m condo about 1.5k

oh wait, maybe hdb is lowest....

䏣炆玧示老太

People who own GCB are 99% businessmen or have a family business or founders/co-founders of their businesses. Their children probably have their own GCBs already (or chao chao got a pretty comfortable landed).
his kids all "useless" :o :o
just sharing a story only

bluerhino

Most of my Malaysian colleagues prefer to stay in condo. Living in landed is overrated. Only if you never live in one before you will always keep thinking how good it is but once you live inside you realise upkeep very difficult, a lot of insects and lizards. Climbing stairs is a chore. Maintenance also higher, floor tiles at the parking area will crack and roof need to be repaired every 20-30 years. Cost high 5 figures depending how big is your roof.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.