If i become 3rd owner to assist my parent pay HDB, mean i cannot buy BTO?

drkcynic

If you put your name in, your birth right of being a "first timer" will be gone. You won't be eligible for another hdb until you remove yourself obviously. You want to buy a private, you will be subjected to ABSD.

And if you use your OA, it is a tedious process to get out. It takes a long time to process and obviously you need to pay back OA + interest which you might not have. Unless you intend to sell the flat in the near future, that will be easier to get out.

1982-1994

1988, point block, High floor, unblock view, big 5r
wow then most likely your parents aren't selling it since they have stayed here for almost 34 years

one thing for sure ,they can sell this flat and then pay one shot for 2r flexi (no loan allows for them) even if it's in prime location, maybe $150k for 30 years (my mum's costs $120k for that long)

I assumed they are at least 60yo?

1982-1994

If you put your name in, your birth right of being a "first timer" will be gone. You won't be eligible for another hdb until you remove yourself obviously. You want to buy a private, you will be subjected to ABSD.

And if you use your OA, it is a tedious process to get out. It takes a long time to process and obviously you need to pay back OA + interest which you might not have. Unless you intend to sell the flat in the near future, that will be easier to get out.
I am a good example to prove you wrong but however ,not sure has the policy changed

Joe Maya

wow then most likely your parents aren't selling it since they have stayed here for almost 34 years

one thing for sure ,they can sell this flat and then pay one shot for 2r flexi (no loan allows for them) even if it's in prime location, maybe $150k for 30 years (my mum's costs $120k for that long)

I assumed they are at least 60yo?

Yea 60 plus.
Also got talk maybe we kena enbloc, just wait n see....

drkcynic

I am a good example to prove you wrong but however ,not sure has the policy changed
Prove me wrong in what?

My statements are fairly factual unless there is a law change somewhere which I am not aware about.

1982-1994

Prove me wrong in what?

My statements are fairly factual unless there is a law change somewhere which I am not aware about.
I am in the same situation as TS yet I BTO 5 years back
maybe law changed 5 years ago

drkcynic

I am in the same situation as TS yet I BTO 5 years back
maybe law changed 5 years ago
After you relinquish your name from your parents' flat, you can apply for a BTO with another person.

But you will be considered a 2nd timer. Those BTOs in good locations most likely you will get KO by the first timers.

1l92041H

you took ownership of the flat, u didn't help them pay

many ppl give cash for the parents to pay down the mortgage, that is helping them pay. i.e. no strings attached

1982-1994

Yea 60 plus.
Also got talk maybe we kena enbloc, just wait n see....
65 years of lease left still can fetch $600+k resale price is good
but are they ok with much smaller flat (38/48sqm)?
either you LL have to cough up the $ or your partner has to stay with your family (婆媳关系must be solid so that you can have time to save up the $80k due to AI)
mine is sibeh jialat

rampage333

When there's a will, there's a way.

Please refer to ocbc sms scam. You thought bank security sibei tight ended up how?

1982-1994

After you relinquish your name from your parents' flat, you can apply for a BTO with another person.

But you will be considered a 2nd timer. Those BTOs in good locations most likely you will get KO by the first timers.
I BTO at a good location with first timer status despite my ownership tied to my mum's house
getting keys soon
but have 6 months grace period for me to take my name out after keys collection ,shouldn't matter since my mum is selling her flat soon

drkcynic

I BTO at a good location with first timer status despite my ownership tied to my mum's house
getting keys soon
but have 6 months grace period for me to take my name out after keys collection ,shouldn't matter since my mum is selling her flat soon
Not possible for you to be a first timer since your OA was used for your parent's flat.

You will only be a first timer "family" if your partner is a first timer.

Privileges for first-timers

As a first-timer applicant, your housing needs are more pressing. You will enjoy greater priority and other privileges when you apply for a new HDB flat, DBSS flat, or EC.

Couples comprising a first-timer and second-timer applicant

You will also be considered as a first-timer family, and will enjoy the same priority benefits.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.