If my aircon trip my DB

camoguysg

if only thunderstorm then trip is MCB issue liao. because aircon suck more power so if ur MCB couldnt handle + thunderstorm easily will trip the most power intensive appliance
My parents place has the same issue. Who should I approach to have the MCB checked? Is it HDB?

DragonFire

my earth breaker tripped.

what does it mean? its and old shop, but i just changed new aircon. is it the wires?
can’t say for sure. ELCB trip simply means energy in and energy out buay gam. There is unexplained loss to earth (usually) somewhere in the network.

The only reliable way to troubleshoot if it happens often is to use the MCBs to isolate part of the network to see if turning that segment off makes the trip not happen.

DragonFire

My parents place has the same issue. Who should I approach to have the MCB checked? Is it HDB?
You need to hire a LEW to do a healthcheck. They will make sure all your outlets are earthed properly (floating earth can contribute to trips caused) and that the protection devices in your DB box are in working order. Sometimes the ELCB/RCCB becomes overly sensitive.

A SPD can be installed also, but that one need the LEW’s inputs and evaluation.

camoguysg

You need to hire a LEW to do a healthcheck. They will make sure all your outlets are earthed properly (floating earth can contribute to trips caused) and that the protection devices in your DB box are in working order. Sometimes the ELCB/RCCB becomes overly sensitive.

Thanks so much. I will pm u for more information. Sorry to trouble you as I am clueless on electrical installations.

sango65

Should i call Aircon man or electrician ah?
dont understand, when you first install the air-con, the air-con company should engage a certified LEW to install a high current circuit beaker and test the electric connection and certify that it is safe and wont trip.

That time when the LEW install the high current beaker, he drew the ELCB diagram and I manage to take a photo of the diagram.

aircon-LEW.jpg

ksapple

my earth breaker tripped.

what does it mean? its and old shop, but i just changed new aircon. is it the wires?

Ya my is earth breaker trip

How chiu conclude the trip is due to aircon?
For troubleshooting, u can try to switch off ur aircon and unplug.... then see whether it still trip anot.

previously my newly installed aircon tripped few times... then we call the aircon tech to check..... no issue was found tho. Most likely, raining... the moisture/thunder cause the trip.....
My that breaker that cannot turn on is solely for aircon only so thats all

I thought so too.

Very weird that you installed an aircon but hardly using it.
Living room de ma so no gathering no on

Very ex ma?

swenson

Got motherboard meh? 🤔

Should be this gas tank where I uploaded where they call compressor

Outside unit is call condenser and the gas tank (compressor) is inside the condenser
yayaya, got a few spare parts, and 1 of them look something like that

lalalalalala

Call aircon guy. They will fix the aircon part causing the trip. However if the issue is with the wiring then he will advice you call electrician

106gunner

Should be Aircon.

happened to me before. It was the motherboard in the outside compressor unit kaput. Had to wait 2 weeks for replacement. Hot months of June/July somemore...

Your case should be replace the compressor (gas tank) inside the condenser

There’s only copper pipe, heatsink and gas tank at the outside unit

I can’t seem to recall there any motherboard

But for TS case, it could be wiring burnt hence the trip

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.