zamowk

being actor more important.

just look our no blame culture ministars

kreja

Learn to read the room more important. Knowledge is nothing if not applied at the right place right time right person.

coyote

will u show ur skill at work to get higher chance to promote...
or u prefer to act blur and do e minimum?

Depends on how hungry you are. Locals will say act blur live longer than jjww in forum saying FT got promoted because they are hungrier.

d3n

act blur live longer.

nowadays promotions sometimes dun come with pay increment (maybe some), give u fancy title and throw u loads of saikang

happyman800

I was in an MNC company for almost 16 years... as a contract staff to full-time staff, after 4 rounds of promotion, my last position was regional team lead, leading 9 engineers across the Asia Pacific. I was damn knowledgeable and experienced with my job, and able to provide great solutions to my staff and my boss (Based in India). My daily work was like walking in the park, enjoying the sun and birds singing :ROFLMAO: ; however, when it came to the final promotion for the senior regional manager position.... I was gunned down flat because one of the junior (Only 7 years in the company) colleague based in India was promoted. Later, I found out that he could suck up to my boss hahaha :ROFLMAO:

vangug

its very political to fight for promotion at the workplace... you need to assess if there is even room for promotion first.... if there is... then you need to identify who are your competitors... what are the consequences of beating them to an elevated position... sometimes win the promotion but suffer after that cos others have the power to make you miserable then you rather forgo the chance.... and you don't do all that with your own capabilities... you need support... can the support you win over really hold their ground and push you up and keep you there? if the chess game doesn't make sense then just do the minimum... set a threshold period to jump to another company if circumstances don't evolve into chances...

Kanko San

Depends in your RO.

If she/he like n can click with you, show hand.

If not, Act BLUR

charliebrown

I was in an MNC company for almost 16 years... as a contract staff to full-time staff, after 4 rounds of promotion, my last position was regional team lead, leading 9 engineers across the Asia Pacific. I was damn knowledgeable and experienced with my job, and able to provide great solutions to my staff and my boss (Based in India). My daily work was like walking in the park, enjoying the sun and birds singing :ROFLMAO: ; however, when it came to the final promotion for the senior regional manager position.... I was gunned down flat because one of the junior (Only 7 years in the company) colleague based in India was promoted. Later, I found out that he could suck up to my boss hahaha :ROFLMAO:
u already mentioned u r a team lead and not manager and u expect to jump all e way to senior manager? :crazy:

Roid Rage

will u show ur skill at work to get higher chance to promote...
or u prefer to act blur and do e minimum?
i hit the ceiling in my current company. just quiet quitting: shows up; leaves early. do the bare minimum, except when occasionally have to lead some corporate wide initiatives

euro2012

You need to lie low and suck up to your boss.
If you know more, you do more when the others cannot finish their work.
Who will the boss pass the remaining sai kang to ?
You should know the answer.
thats when u need to voice out and ask for more $.. nothing is free

carpark

Stay low profile to colleagues only show towards my direct Superior

Langrisser999

Acting blur can avoid alot of extra work leh. Somemore if the salary is low dun bother to give use or teach too much advance skill. The superior will sure assign you to do other people jobs.

For example, my other team members doesnt how to use vlookup and only I know. I just quietly use it on my end to speed up my progress. It is not my job to teach them.

happyman800

its very political to fight for promotion at the workplace... you need to assess if there is even room for promotion first.... if there is... then you need to identify who are your competitors... what are the consequences of beating them to an elevated position... sometimes win the promotion but suffer after that cos others have the power to make you miserable then you rather forgo the chance.... and you don't do all that with your own capabilities... you need support... can the support you win over really hold their ground and push you up and keep you there? if the chess game doesn't make sense then just do the minimum... set a threshold period to jump to another company if circumstances don't evolve into chances...
Agreed...after jumped 2 more companies and became an HOD for 8 years... left after CEO changed.

d3n

u forget the keyword....

not because he suck it up but rather same kampung.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.