Imac up lorry

palmpda

Kool man!

Managed to open with my fingers. Just need to be patient and slowly test different corners and different strengths. Once you get a litte corner away from the magnet, the rest comes off easily. Just need to be careful as it is glass.

The whole concept of using all round magnets is simply brilliant! Simple and very effective!

Let me know if you need the suction cups or anything. I still have the kit when I added an SSD to my iMac back in 2013.

THFC78

Kool man!

Managed to open with my fingers. Just need to be patient and slowly test different corners and different strengths. Once you get a litte corner away from the magnet, the rest comes off easily. Just need to be careful as it is glass.

The whole concept of using all round magnets is simply brilliant! Simple and very effective!

So you manage to extract your HDD liao?

macb0y

Shld sell it to those Mac repair shops :) they might still use the parts. I just sold my spoilt iMac 27 late 2009 for $70.

THFC78

Yes, and dismantled the HDD into different components too... rofl.

Have arranged for Apple to take the machine back for recycling.

Think I will try to dismantle it this weekend......so Apple will pick it up from you and have to send it down urself?

THFC78

Details here:
https://secure2.reverselogistic.com/apple/takeback/index.action

Fill up form, the recycling company guy (not based in singapore) will email you.

Need to find a box to put the device in, and he'll arrange for DHL to come pick up.

Gum sia for the link

Manage to remove my hdd today liao. It's easier then I thought but I struggle with the screw abit coz I dun have the torx screwdriver.

Once manage to get rid of the screw, removing the HDD was a breeze.

I think my HDD should be still working, so if I want to access the drive, all I need is a USB to Sata cable and a power adaptor right?

BraveCloudy

Gum sia for the link

Manage to remove my hdd today liao. It's easier then I thought but I struggle with the screw abit coz I dun have the torx screwdriver.

Once manage to get rid of the screw, removing the HDD was a breeze.

I think my HDD should be still working, so if I want to access the drive, all I need is a USB to Sata cable and a power adaptor right?

ya, plug it into your desktop, should be able to retrieve

THFC78

Ok thanks.....think have to go challenger and see got sell the cable or not

palmpda

Some details on the Apple recycling process...

You fill up a form at Apple's website and from then on, you deal directly with the recycling company that is based in Hong Kong. Yes, the recycled thing gets shipped to HK.

You will need to find a box to put the item in, and also print out the DHL documents and labels.

DHL only collects during weekdays.

THFC78

Challenger never sell the USB to 3.5 Inch sata cable.......saw this on taobao....duno can use or not

2uFpx.png

chaozhouzi

USB to 3.5 Inch sata cable.......saw this on taobao....duno can use or not

Bro, while looking through carousell, I found this https://carousell.com/p/usb-sata-cable-101475695

Just remember that 3.5 hdd require separate power supply whereas 2.5 hdd usually do not.
If you have the time go to SLS L5 and 6. There are two shops opp the glass elevators. I think one is World computer system and the other universal computer. Their website: www.universalcomputer.com.sg. Don't know whether shops still there, I have not been there long time liao. :D

THFC78

Bro, while looking through carousell, I found this https://carousell.com/p/usb-sata-cable-101475695

Just remember that 3.5 hdd require separate power supply whereas 2.5 hdd usually do not.
If you have the time go to SLS L5 and 6. There are two shops opp the glass elevators. I think one is World computer system and the other universal computer. Their website: www.universalcomputer.com.sg. Don't know whether shops still there, I have not been there long time liao. :D

I got the power adaptor....just need the cable to hook up nia. Thanks for the link

Bapenigo

My iMac recently just can't boot up and new iMac is coming tomorrow.

How can I migrate my old iMac to the new iMac? Should I open up the glass panel and extract the hdd or bring it to Apple repair shop?

chaozhouzi

new iMac is coming tomorrow.

How can I migrate my old iMac to the new iMac? Should I open up the glass panel and extract the hdd or bring it to Apple repair shop?

If you bring to repair shop, you are prepared to pay for the recovery of hdd/data? If you are up to it, try to extract hdd on your own. I had brought mine to repair shop to replace hdd; arranged to collect back the old hdd. Managed to retrieve data using data rescue.

First time sent to Apple service centre, the staff kept my old hdd as under warranty repair. 2nd time, I paid for hdd though still under apple care at the ASC at SLS so got the old hdd back.

Heard you can use target disk mode to copy files for old to new but have not tried it myself.

Bapenigo

If you bring to repair shop, you are prepared to pay for the recovery of hdd/data? If you are up to it, try to extract hdd on your own. I had brought mine to repair shop to replace hdd; arranged to collect back the old hdd. Managed to retrieve data using data rescue.

First time sent to Apple service centre, the staff kept my old hdd as under warranty repair. 2nd time, I paid for hdd though still under apple care at the ASC at SLS so got the old hdd back.

Heard you can use target disk mode to copy files for old to new but have not tried it myself.

I removed my hdd by myself. Now I need to find a cheap and reliable place to do data recovery.

Update: I was quoted $880 for data recovery at Accplus technology. Any place you guys can recommend?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.