Imac up lorry

palmpda

Hi folks,

Sigh.. Think my IMAC (21.5-INCH, LATE 2009) up lorry liao.

For a week, startup was really slow and finally, now startup to a flashing folder symbol with a question mark. Tried the few methods to recover to no avail.

Think should be the HDD die liao.

What can I do with the set ah? Just junk?

Also, the refurbished sets from Apple can buy or not?

TIA!

Zaalaa

Up which lorry?

You drive lorry? Can you down lorry it?

I think if u dont need it. Maybe can give apple to recycle.

Oh refurbish is as good as new. Maybe better. They went through production testing and reburbish testing again to be able to sell.

chris888222

If you buy directly from Apple, refurbished is as good as new. You only get less fancy packaging for the price.

palmpda

Haha potentially HDD mati liao I also cannot do anything with it.

Up which lorry?

You drive lorry? Can you down lorry it?

I think if u dont need it. Maybe can give apple to recycle.

Oh refurbish is as good as new. Maybe better. They went through production testing and reburbish testing again to be able to sell.

anfielder

Can you create a bootable ext hdd/ssd and boot from there? I did that for my 2012 iMac when the HDD showed signs of dying.

Winston7222

Or replace the HDD with a SSD.

There's plenty of guides around to help you with it.

Try ifixit.com

palmpda

Thanks for all the ideas...

Will go think think a bit...may end up just getting a new or refurbished Apple laptop.

chaozhouzi

That is their advertising spiel, my encounter with them for my 2008 iMac was otherwise. After accepting my order, they told me that they do not have one to deliver to me. When I called them, they said it was a mistake to accept my phone order as they do not have one on hand. After I spoke to their superior, they miraculously produced one to deliver to me the next day. In the end, the hdd died within the year just before the warranty ended.
Based on this, you get your refurbished apple products at a lower price only.

THFC78

Hi folks,

Sigh.. Think my IMAC (21.5-INCH, LATE 2009) up lorry liao.

For a week, startup was really slow and finally, now startup to a flashing folder symbol with a question mark. Tried the few methods to recover to no avail.

Think should be the HDD die liao.

What can I do with the set ah? Just junk?

Also, the refurbished sets from Apple can buy or not?

TIA!

My one also just up lorry last Saturday. At least yours still can boot up, my one show no sign of failing but suddenly blackout and cannot turn on at all.

Never even give me a chance to salvage my data, now all gone liao. Si bei cham....

szeli

My one also just up lorry last Saturday. At least yours still can boot up, my one show no sign of failing but suddenly blackout and cannot turn on at all.

Never even give me a chance to salvage my data, now all gone liao. Si bei cham....

u shud always backup yr data...

Zaalaa

That is their advertising spiel, my encounter with them for my 2008 iMac was otherwise. After accepting my order, they told me that they do not have one to deliver to me. When I called them, they said it was a mistake to accept my phone order as they do not have one on hand. After I spoke to their superior, they miraculously produced one to deliver to me the next day. In the end, the hdd died within the year just before the warranty ended.
Based on this, you get your refurbished apple products at a lower price only.
Wah very sian like that. Will be extra careful with refurb.

Waiting for 2017 mbp to go refurb. Too exp brand new!

I hope someone dont like it and do a return!

renfred89

hahas wishful thinking lor. even if there is, you also wont be the one buying it unless there is a surge in returns.. :D

chaozhouzi

For your info I bought my imac and MBP end 2008 and beginning of 2009 and both are early 2008 model. So bro, I think you need to wait till end 2017 at the earliest.

Will be extra careful with refurb.
The only way to be careful is to take the savings from buying refurb and invest it on apple care. For iMac, I found out from apple that they make house call if got apple care (in 2009. Wonder if they still do it); I nearly dropped mine while lugging it to the service centre. As for my MBP, apple care covered my repair cost of 1K in the second year.

palmpda

THFC78,

So how ah your one?

Repairing?

Haven't decided whether to repair or junk or pass to Apple...... If not repairing, still minimally need to extract HDD lo......

THFC78

THFC78,

So how ah your one?

Repairing?

Haven't decided whether to repair or junk or pass to Apple...... If not repairing, still minimally need to extract HDD lo......

Look like no cure liao.....I also want to extract the HDD but no idea how to do it. :(

szeli

Look like no cure liao.....I also want to extract the HDD but no idea how to do it. :(

use a Linux live CD to boot up. if can detect yr HDD prob can salvage some data...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.