Indranee on why SG60 in vouchers instead of cash

henghengonedragon

Already happened last time when the "needy" families received NTUC vouchers from govt - they would try to cash out or sell it, and go and gamble/smoke/booze with the cash.

Now for CDC, everyone has it - so it is more difficult to sell (I.e., "You siao ah, I pay to buy your CDC for what? I also have lah!")
There will still be people who are willing to trade as long as there is a gain that they are happy with.

henghengonedragon

And therein, we have come full-circle back to the origins of the question as started in this discussion.
Nope, just telling you cash or no cash, if they die die want to spend on those 3 things you mentioned, they will find a way.

Comage

Nope, just telling you cash or no cash, if they die die want to spend on those 3 things you mentioned, they will find a way.
And I will answer the question in the same way - to make it more difficult for people to cash it out.
Because there are asshole citizens cashing it out for nefarious reasons.

Nobody says it will completely eliminate it.

And it still does not mean "I do it as well" - when I call out such uncouth behaviour.

henghengonedragon

And I will answer the question in the same way - to make it more difficult for people to cash it out.
Because there are asshole citizens cashing it out for nefarious reasons.

Nobody says it will completely eliminate it.

And it still does not mean "I do it as well" - when I call out such uncouth behaviour.
Why i am asking that sarcastic question is because it is just a tiny portion of people will do that. There will always be black sheeps around and there is no way to avoid.

JustForFun

Is it wrong to control human spending money in voucher ?

Why isn't all President, PM, Minister salary and allowance in voucher form of CDC Vouchers since they shared until so good ?

Checkyrmed

Is it wrong to control human spending money in voucher ?

Why isn't all President, PM, Minister salary and allowance in voucher form of CDC Vouchers since they shared until so good ?
Vouchers come, but cash go, even the most vulnerable homeless Singaporeans cannot be spared.

Comage

Why i am asking that sarcastic question is because it is just a tiny portion of people will do that. There will always be black sheeps around and there is no way to avoid.
If it were really THAT tiny a portion - we would not be here talking about this today Sir.

It is BIG and SIGNIFICANT enough to the government to warrant them DEVELOPING a whole "ecosystem" of QR/web/online/IT code that we now call "CDC vouchers" to ward off the assholes who are trying to cash it out and obtain personal gains from it.

You think people are (generally) nice in Singapore? You probably haven't interacted with the majority of the people from the various social strata in our society then, I can say that for sure.

Lss

I see so many comments on this SG 60 vouchers but not one person has gotten it right thus far. It’s not rocket science tbh. If they gave cash, people will spend it elsewhere, go travel, go JB buy supplies etc, and the money flows out.

If give CDC vouchers, the money is ring fenced in Singapore. Essentially, the money flows back into the domestic market through retail spending, and this indirectly boost the economy in return. Simple isn’t it?
I got another question. Why can't it be given in lifesg like the NS credits. Can use as a wallet no need the pre defined 2 dollar 5 dollar etc denomination.

chuakboon

Is this even worthwhile to talk about. They are not even serious in addressing or implement serious policies to help us liao. Just throw us some vouchers n top up skillfuture like begger. Off u go

qhong61

Is this even worthwhile to talk about. They are not even serious in addressing or implement serious policies to help us liao. Just throw us some vouchers n top up skillfuture like begger. Off u go
Ur solution?

titusilvering

What do you mean hard for the merchants? It’s as simple as using their phones to scan the vouchers. It’s not that hard. In fact, the vouchers has also been extended to retail shops (not just hawkers) where you can buy stuff. Of course, they will also be bad players where bai tian shu shu will use cdc vouchers to go happy ending massage.
Can use on shopee? Agoda? Buy air tickets?

Or can use to pay electricity water bills?

titusilvering

Already happened last time when the "needy" families received NTUC vouchers from govt - they would try to cash out or sell it, and go and gamble/smoke/booze with the cash.

Now for CDC, everyone has it - so it is more difficult to sell (I.e., "You siao ah, I pay to buy your CDC for what? I also have lah!")
600 sell 500 why not?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.