Inflation really hurt

cyke69sg

Moi go out to nearby mall to buy lunch for family, cost about $30. Buy bubble tea $4, and red bean bun for tommorow breakfast $2.50

One afternoon like that spend almost $40 already on basic needs. Sibeh heart pains :(
"Basic needs" = prepared cooked food + bubble tea + red bean bun?

Basic needs more like loaf of bread. Rice. Groceries. Butter. Coffee powder. Tea bags. Sugar. Milk.

EDMW-Hates-Me

Bubble tea and red bean bun are not basic needs. You can drink plain water now and eat porridge with 番茄炒蛋 for breakfast tomorrow. Cheaper and healthier.

addict951

hachi

Moi go out to nearby mall to buy lunch for family, cost about $30. Buy bubble tea $4, and red bean bun for tommorow breakfast $2.50

One afternoon like that spend almost $40 already on basic needs. Sibeh heart pains :(
Weekends OK lah... You don't eat this amount everyday... If not 1.2k or so.

SecretAgent

Bubble tea is unnecessary!
It cost about a packet of cheap chicken rice in heartlands

"Basic needs" = prepared cooked food + bubble tea + red bean bun?

Basic needs more like loaf of bread. Rice. Groceries. Butter. Coffee powder. Tea bags. Sugar. Milk.

Butter is not basic need. Coffee is not basic need. Tea is not basic need. Sugar is not basic need. Milk is not basic need (I'm assuming this isn't milk for baby).

Those are not basic needs. I don't consume them in my daily life and I can stay alive without any problems. They are completely optional.

addict951

Coffee is not basic need. Tea is not basic need. Sugar is not basic need. Milk is not basic need (I'm assuming this is not milk for baby).

Those are not basic needs. I don't consume them in my daily life and I can stay alive without any problems. They are completely optional.
You of all ppl got zero right to lecture others what is a basic need la
Your major addiction is not optional right? You sure you can stay alive or function w/o it or bragging about it? You sure?

cyke69sg

Butter is not basic need. Coffee is not basic need. Tea is not basic need. Sugar is not basic need. Milk is not basic need (I'm assuming this isn't milk for baby).

What do you eat for breakfast? Or you dont eat breakfast?

Eggs considered basic need?

What would be basic needs for you then?

andyhtc

NTUC minced pork used to be just around $3 per pack in 2020, but now it is about $4 in 2023.

Unfortunately, such real inflation does not show up in the official statistics.

rider83

People can say all kinds of things sia. Soon the norm will be not one piece of bread and a glass of water for breakfast. Someone will come in and say he is perfectly fine with half a piece of bread and half glass of water for breakfast.

If inflation is hurting you, people will come in and tell u how u should live your life

Person A: I eat half piece of bread and half glass of water for breakfast. (But he wont tell u he has nice restaurant food for lunch and dinner)

Person B: I eat caipeng for lunch. One meat one veg enough, half rice, ask uncle for curry gravy as it is free! (But he wont tell u he has macs for breakfast and MLXG for dinner)

Person C: Dinner should not eat too much. Will get fat. So half rice with soup and half a fruit can le. (But he wont tell u he has Starbuck for breakfast and a hearty meal with his colleagues for lunch.)

Then suddenly it is concluded that u should live like Person A for breakfast, Person B for lunch and Person C for dinner. Inflation is no problem, u are the problem. No need to solve inflation problem liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.