Inflation report

BBCWatcher

The U.S. Consumer Price Index for March, 2024, was up 0.4% month to month, seasonally adjusted. That's the same as last month (Feburary, 2024). Half this increase was due to shelter and gasoline (petrol) alone.

The 0.4% figure is a little higher than the U.S. Federal Reserve might like to see, but it's not too bad. And actually the Fed doesn't really look at the CPI-U as its preferred inflation measure, so it's only suggestive.

I think this readout means the Fed might hold a bit longer at current interest rates, but of course that'll be up to the Fed.

maumu

I think the easiest way to view inflation is to compare the prices of teh-o or kopi-o from heartland coffee shops... or compare the prices of bread for example.

machiam one loaf of gardenia bread is now like $2+, $3+

used to be $1+

how much does prata kosong now cost ah? $1? $1.20? used to be $0.50... :o

reddevil0728

I think the easiest way to view inflation is to compare the prices of teh-o or kopi-o from heartland coffee shops... or compare the prices of bread for example.

used to be $1+

yea but it has to be a basket of goods

ctan84

used to be $1+

50 cents for prata kosong was 20 yrs ago leh uncle. Even pre-covid it was already $1 chao chao and some guai lan places won't even sell u 1 kosong. Need to take 2 kosong for $2. I kanna that back in 2016 liao.

sohguanh

50 cents for prata kosong was 20 yrs ago leh uncle. Even pre-covid it was already $1 chao chao and some guai lan places won't even sell u 1 kosong. Need to take 2 kosong for $2. I kanna that back in 2016 liao.
Well uncle me really is 20 years ago eat that price lor for prata kosong. Assume your nick got 84 is the year you are born you are so much younger than me

ctan84

Well uncle me really is 20 years ago eat that price lor for prata kosong. Assume your nick got 84 is the year you are born you are so much younger than me
Yesh, I will only be 40 this year, but I remember food prices well. Was already going around hunting for good food since I was 14.

TehSi99

Inflation continued to be higher than expected but also hearing recession coming and people getting pay cut.

sohguanh

Inflation continued to be higher than expected but also hearing recession coming and people getting pay cut.
For those who get pay rise your rice bowl maybe secure for this year but you will one more staff workload

d5dude

Everything else (e.g. food, cars and properties) is rising a lot faster!

https://www.visualcapitalist.com/inflation-chart-tracks-price-changes-us-goods-services/

This is for the US but local healthcare cost has been rising much faster than the headline CPI as well.

All official measures of CPI would be much higher if they were based on methodologies pre-hedonic quality adjustments. Just look at how much HQA took off the headline CPI with those -99% price falls in TVs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.