Inheritance tax

jumpthepig

is it gd or bad for sg

alot of poor need halp

This is good….. The gap between rich and poor has increased more and more….There are too many young sinkies are getting more lazy, all of them are just depending on parents inheritance. :ROFLMAO:

许多懒惰的人,都觉得自己很勤奋 :ROFLMAO:

Orionz

w
They scrapped it after it's been there for so long
Don't know when it started but it's been there

So ya
Won't bring it back
If they do , won't be good cos didn't apply to LKY
Not sure.did it apply to his wife
why scrap ar tt time?

Ishi Talot

It is an absolutely terrible idea. On paper, the rich should pay more tax. However, the rich are also more informed and able to avoid such taxes by legally transferring their wealth around better than the average person.

Moreover, when people are dealing with the loss of a loved one, can you imagine having to also deal with such matters at the same time, this will simply affect everyone at the worst possible time. There are better ways to collect tax and this is not one of them

Joseph12

It is an absolutely terrible idea. On paper, the rich should pay more tax. However, the rich are also more informed and able to avoid such taxes by legally transferring their wealth around better than the average person.

Moreover, when people are dealing with the loss of a loved one, can you imagine having to also deal with such matters at the same time, this will simply affect everyone at the worst possible time. There are better ways to collect tax and this is not one of them
Yes
If you're old, there's a cut off point
That means if you count back X years you won't be liable for estate duty if you gift all your properties etc

So if you gift away your property 1 year before death you're still liable but not if its few years before death

Of course if its gift they can still hammer the recipient with stamp duty

Of course another way is to create a trust
Probably will tax the trust somehow

So those whp are caught are the super rich who wants to hold.on to everything till the end

jumpthepig

If there are loopholes…then find it and close it. :ROFLMAO:

clearwhitesky

Because there is nothing to inherit…. HDB 99, car COE 10 years, 999 property also can be asked to enbloc, you see, even our last kampung in bungkok will also suffer the same fate.

topiari

There are also those who are directory of hundreds of companies
Each company bare minimum
How to classify as rich

cantona81

inheritance tax got no use. everything put under joint named, if 1 die liao the other will just claim the right to the estate. no need simi inheritance...

Ishi Talot

If there are loopholes…then find it and close it. :ROFLMAO:
We did have inheritance tax in the past and it managed to collect about 30-35m in that 1 year, complete waste of time and resources. Moreover, if were implemented again, EVERYONE will have to go through the complete financial declaration process while dealing with the bereavement at the same time, seriously NO thanks

mickey88

So ya
Won't bring it back
Yeah lor..obviously TS did not do his homework..been scrap long time ago..if hv such tax then all d super rich run away

jumpthepig

We did have inheritance tax in the past and it managed to collect about 30-35m in that 1 year, complete waste of time and resources. Moreover, if were implemented again, EVERYONE will have to go through the complete financial declaration process while dealing with the bereavement at the same time, seriously NO thanks
:ROFLMAO: Past tense….but now we have “crazy LICH Asian”….. :ROFLMAO:
We did have inheritance tax in the past and it managed to collect about 30-35m in that 1 year,

Tschuus

is it gd or bad for sg

alot of poor need halp

I think it is a poor person’s myth that other than themselves, society or anyone cares about whether poor peepur need more help.

We like rich people . We want to be rich people . Hard truths

jumpthepig

Yeah lor..obviously TS did not do his homework..been scrap long time ago..if hv such tax then all d super rich run away
Let them run away….if they can find another world's safest haven like Singapore. :ROFLMAO:

jumpthepig

I think it is a poor person’s myth that other than themselves, society or anyone cares about whether poor peepur need more help.

We like rich people . We want to be rich people . Hard truths
Yes…we want Lich people……Lich people who contribute well like everyone... Not LICH human leeches. :ROFLMAO:

KPO_SAHM

So ya
Won't bring it back

I think during the year 2008 cause my hubby's late granny wealth never kanna taxed. Ah kor said so lucky just removed inheritance tax

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.