Inheritance tax

Tschuus

Yes…we want Lich people……Lich people who contribute well like everyone... Not LICH human leeches. :ROFLMAO:

You mean poor people contribute more compared to lich people?! 🤣🤣🤣 i think just buy one Lamborghini already contribute more in taxes compared to the lifetimes of dozens of poor people.

jumpthepig

You mean poor people contribute more compared to lich people?! 🤣🤣🤣

The working class who sell their labour power for wages.…..they were responsible for creating the wealth of a society.…..They are equally important.… without them how the LICH becomes more LICH? :ROFLMAO:

Tschuus

The working class who sell their labour power for wages.…..they were responsible for creating the wealth of a society.…..They are equally important.… without them how the LICH becomes more LICH? :ROFLMAO:

Did the working class do work for free?

snowblaze

I think for the common good , it’s a healthy one to have inheritance.

But but but ! The lawmakers will not approve it because why sabotage your own children? common good means giving other children a better chance to overtake their own.

snowblaze

Because there is nothing to inherit…. HDB 99, car COE 10 years, 999 property also can be asked to enbloc, you see, even our last kampung in bungkok will also suffer the same fate.
Have la… the scenario you describe for the poor.
the rich don’t stay hdb. They have one or a few 999 lease or freehold to pass down. Most of these will remain same value or increased over time. Assuming their children are not char siew, and do not screw up, it’s rather easy life mode for them.

mata_hippo

Have la… the scenario you describe for the poor.
the rich don’t stay hdb. They have one or a few 999 lease or freehold to pass down. Most of these will remain same value or increased over time. Assuming their children are not char siew, and do not screw up, it’s rather easy life mode for them.
jin jelly :(

Lemonpeach

Robbing the rich to give to the poor will advance the poor ?
The poor are not poor because they are condemned Ad infinitum.

Some reasons they remained status quo :

Started off wrongly with weak endowment (parents, huge family, bad peers, distraction)
No role-models or coach to emulate and pick up success tips
Self-pity they could not get out of the rut and focussed on 4D, kopi tiam beer networking, etc
Living the present
Spending beyond their means

I have observed 2, 3 families from kampung or 1-room rental flats.

Years later, 1 family progressed into terrace property, with kids in senior corporate positions
Another family moved into 5-room flat with kids grown up and earning significantly for themselves and parents
1 family remained in 1-room flat with 4 children; broken family re single parents, divorce, early school leavers

In the marathon, 3 at the starting line but only 2 attained first place and runners-up. The inheritance tax is like the 3 African runners falling behind to allow the Chinese to move ahead because of "friendship" and "face".

If the poor does not know how to get out of the rut and move ahead, giving good money to the bad is incompetency at the highest. Is the poor able to get out of their rut?

Do not claim there are no opportunities in Singapore. Or the claim that the poor are condemned in their rut.

Who demands the inheritance tax? Of course, the laggards such as the 1 family who remained in 1-room flat after 40 years. Why not ask how to move ahead? Why this family could not breakout? If one distills their situation, we can deduce their priority was not in their children's education or their own skills upgrading but in current consumption.

If the inheritance tax is reimposed, capital will leave Singapore. For me, I will commence terminating all the laggards. It shall be a zero sum for all and there will be no day after.

Tschuus

They are no beggars..there is dignity in all honest work… :ROFLMAO:

Working class are of course are not beggars. It is quite sad you have to bring this up as some sort of justification for whatever you are driving at.

I am working class. I earn my keep from my work not by taxing someone else. I dont begrudge the rich whether they are deserving or undeserving of their wealth. Whether status quo is fair or not is something you have to justify. In principle, i believe taxes are inherently unfair. Unlike you, I like to keep what i earned.

MaximumZ

is it gd or bad for sg

alot of poor need halp
No, it's one of those things that is not broken, do not change things when it is not broken. And one of the reasons why the global elites are here. And I strongly urge all the elites in the world to park their children here. Get dual citizenship, enjoy our peace. And maybe trickle down economy will work. Slow as it may seems but eventually.

This is good….. The gap between rich and poor has increased more and more….There are too many young sinkies are getting more lazy, all of them are just depending on parents inheritance. :ROFLMAO:

许多懒惰的人,都觉得自己很勤奋 :ROFLMAO:
BBFA: my parents are going to die soon. Pls dun ruin it for them.

meh770

Actually, the BSD/ABSD is taxed so heavily that it's almost like a 'pre-inheritance' tax

Smart gahmen, collect money first before death. Why wait 30-60 years until they die.

According to a study by Savills, Singapore ranks highest in the world for total stamp duty rates for a foreigner looking to buy a residential property

puppey

stfu ts , tax yourself , this sheet tax will nvr happen dont worry

jumpthepig

Working class are of course are not beggars. It is quite sad you have to bring this up as some sort of justification for whatever you are driving at.

I am working class. I earn my keep from my work not by taxing someone else. I dont begrudge the rich whether they are deserving or undeserving of their wealth. Whether status quo is fair or not is something you have to justify. In principle, i believe taxes are inherently unfair. Unlike you, I like to keep what i earned.

If so....maybe try to find a place without taxes.... will be happier there... 😂

diminishin

Yes
If you're old, there's a cut off point
That means if you count back X years you won't be liable for estate duty if you gift all your properties etc

So if you gift away your property 1 year before death you're still liable but not if its few years before death

Of course if its gift they can still hammer the recipient with stamp duty

Of course another way is to create a trust
Probably will tax the trust somehow

So those whp are caught are the super rich who wants to hold.on to everything till the end
The rich are resourceful lei. They will always have a way to Siam tax one.

jumpthepig

Actually, the BSD/ABSD is taxed so heavily that it's almost like a 'pre-inheritance' tax

Smart gahmen, collect money first before death. Why wait 30-60 years until they die.

According to a study by Savills, Singapore ranks highest in the world for total stamp duty rates for a foreigner looking to buy a residential property
😂...This is what they said... maybe someone should ask ministar....hope no misinterpretation

The Government announced today increases in the Additional Buyer’s Stamp Duty (ABSD) rates to promote a sustainable property market.

https://www.mnd.gov.sg/newsroom/press-releases/view/measures-for-a-sustainable-property-market

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.