Integrated Shield Plan Lesson Learnt

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

clumsycat

Recently got letter of guarantee rejected by insurer.

Doc said I need surgery (throat problem), but insurer declined LOG. They asked me to pay first then try to claim. Quite worried. Bill not cheap. Agent said because I got sore throat before, claim might not be approved. But who never get flu or sore throat before? Last time told me small things like flu/cold no need to declare, then now suddenly my fault.

Nurse explained to me that this time it's a chronic condition. Old sore throats should not be part of this as they were resolved with medicine or just by resting. Those were acute sore throats, usually caused by flu bug or bacteria. I don't know why insurer doesn't see the diff, or is it they don't want to see the diff?

I understand maybe because my insurance is quite new, cannot claim 也就算了. But now insurer keeps asking questions! I scared they say I never declare sore throat before, then turn around and say I fraud sia.

Anyway, for those planning to buy shield plan, please declare ALL the illnesses you kena before, even if it's just flu, cough or even a baluku. Don't end up like me.

Very depressed. Doesn't help at all when I am struggling with a chronic infection. I don't want to name the insurer or any name, in case become big hooha they come and sue me. It will be a fight I can never win. The big corporations will always win. 小人物 like me always lose.

Anyway I just sharing my lesson learnt. If you have any experience with Integrated Shield Plans or lesson learnt, please also share to raise awareness. Thank you.

OngHuatHuat

I think they suspected you of contracting cancer? That’s why take so long to recover?

clumsycat

I think they suspected you of contracting cancer? That’s why take so long to recover?

Maybe lor, but doctor never say he suspect cancer leh. Only say go surgery. If cancer and insurer don't want to insure me, then I don't want treatment liao, just enjoy my final days lor. Maybe go Singapolidays or cruise ship.

reddevil0728

Maybe lor, but doctor never say he suspect cancer leh. Only say go surgery. If cancer and insurer don't want to insure me, then I don't want treatment liao, just enjoy my final days lor. Maybe go Singapolidays or cruise ship.

Got medishield life what

OngHuatHuat

I think you have to check your doctor’s diagnosis letter again, perhaps he mentioned something like pre existing condition, then the insurer suddenly aware of it.

dexboi

There must be a reason for doctor to recommend surgery, it must be severe enough to recommend this treatment. It's fine if you don't want to disclose on forum.

However, since you mentioned that you just bought the policy, the insurer is trying to be on their safe side because your "throat condition" doesn't manifested overnight and the word "chronic" = persistent/present for a long time. Sometimes, the words doctors used can have a detrimental effect on your claims. You may try to get the doctor to write something less severe or choose better words in his memo.

In any case, the insurer probably declined your LOG until you get your surgery/biopsy results to proof that you did not under-declare during proposal. If the duration of inception is less than 1 year, most likely the insurer will reject all claims even if you don't know that you have this condition "growing" in your body.

moolala

There must be a reason for doctor to recommend surgery, it must be severe enough to recommend this treatment. It's fine if you don't want to disclose on forum.

However, since you mentioned that you just bought the policy, the insurer is trying to be on their safe side because your "throat condition" doesn't manifested overnight and the word "chronic" = persistent/present for a long time. Sometimes, the words doctors used can have a detrimental effect on your claims. You may try to get the doctor to write something less severe or choose better words in his memo.

In any case, the insurer probably declined your LOG until you get your surgery/biopsy results to proof that you did not under-declare during proposal. If the duration of inception is less than 1 year, most likely the insurer will reject all claims even if you don't know that you have this condition "growing" in your body.

why buy insurance if its not to claim?

tiagong its very difficult to claim successfully. It's like u have to engage a lawyer to fight ur case after paying ur premiums dutifully

and TS, ur medishield careshield neber cover?

dexboi

To me most insurance is a waste of money, especially PA plans, I only buy necessary insurance to cover severe risks, severe enough that insurers will definitely pay la. haha. In any case, as long as you are warded in-patient, claims should go through, doesn't matter if there's LOG or not. Unless there's really something wrong with the declarations during proposal.

Visits to the doctor for common cold/flu can be easily pulled from the healthcare system. I would also be suspicious if this person visit the doctor like once every month. :s22:

clumsycat

I guess I just count myself unlucky for getting sick shortly after buying the plan. Like dexboi said, maybe it was brewing in me all along, but I really had no idea. All was well before I signed up.

Another learning point: make sure you are very confident that you won't fall sick within one or two years of getting insurance. Otherwise, very hard to claim and worse still, you will get questioned like a fugitive.

My insurer keeps asking questions, very scary. They want to access all my medical records, even those from long ago. I think they want to cancel me. If so, can I get insured again? I seriously have no known illnesses, like HBP, heart disease, diabetes, cancer all don't have. Or am I doomed? If I had known earlier, I wouldn't even apply for claim sia. Now get treated machiam criminal.

OngHuatHuat

Normally they are like that if they are suspicious, but I guess if you provide all the necessary documents, there isn’t valid reason for them to reject your claim?
Actually it really depends on your doctor’s diagnosis report. I guess he wrote something that is not favorable for you to claim.

I guess I just count myself unlucky for getting sick shortly after buying the plan. Like dexboi said, maybe it was brewing in me all along, but I really had no idea. All was well before I signed up.

Another learning point: make sure you are very confident that you won't fall sick within one or two years of getting insurance. Otherwise, very hard to claim and worse still, you will get questioned like a fugitive.

My insurer keeps asking questions, very scary. They want to access all my medical records, even those from long ago. I think they want to cancel me. If so, can I get insured again? I seriously have no known illnesses, like HBP, heart disease, diabetes, cancer all don't have. Or am I doomed? If I had known earlier, I wouldn't even apply for claim sia. Now get treated machiam criminal.

moolala

if they cancel, will they return whatever u have paid so far?

clumsycat

tiagong its very difficult to claim successfully. It's like u have to engage a lawyer to fight ur case after paying ur premiums dutifully

and TS, ur medishield careshield neber cover?

Have cover, but I still need to pay. Yes, I went private because it started at a time when covid was rampant so private seemed like the faster option to get treated.

Bash me if you like, but I didn't want to risk covid and the long wait at polyclinic. Some more that time, if it's not covid, govt hosp hardly entertain.

My shield plan got cover private so i gong gong thought OK lor, just go. If anything, got insurance. But now, lesson learnt. Maybe will transfer to govt hosp if I can tahan the wait.

Mr. Wood

i thot is waiting period 90days only? if scum agent insist is pre existing condition, tell them to give back and white and go doctor ask for opinion. complain to MAS.

fk insurance scums
fk them langgar lorry and die.

dexboi

Don't think too much and recover soon. Health is more impt. $$$ can earn back next time.

Go the subsidised polyclinic referral route for a cheaper alternative. It would be easy since you already have some form of clinical diagnosis from pvt hospitals that you can show.

Remember claim company first if you are employed. Take care, signing out!

moolala

i thot is waiting period 90days only? if scum agent insist is pre existing condition, tell them to give back and white and go doctor ask for opinion. complain to MAS.

fk insurance scums
fk them langgar lorry and die.

yah sia, u still have private insurance?

what happen to ur case? can share how they scam?

Mr. Wood

yah sia, u still have private insurance?

what happen to ur case? can share how they scam?

still hav. plain insulan. nothing fancy of those 2x 3x payout then got wht basket 1 basket 2 type.

last time be4 i sign policy the agent say the underwriter say i got preexisting condition must add rider. dat time agent say dun worry after dat will help me fight the case so i sign and pay the rider. den after 4yr still no pic no sound. den agent run road. den change to agent 2. agent 2 tell me see doctor and write letter.
i go hospital specialist, take x ray, specialist write memo use cheem medical terms, but tell me no medical condition. submit memo rejected by underwriter.
agent 2 after 2mths oso run road. for 6 mths no agent take over my policies. complain to agency manager, complain to customer service, no pic no sound for another 3mths. finally complain to MAS and cc MP (minister lvl) den got sound. change to agent 3.
agent 3 say same thing go see doctor and submit memo. dis time i tell them give me yr template, wht the underwriter want to see.
finally go same hospital again, same x ray, same tests, doctor write memo den underwriter finally accepted. but all the yrs of premiums paid for nothing. somemore waste time and money on medical tests.

ever since, i tell ppl. cannot trust insulan agent. especially the prudenshit agents. talk no count. must hav black and white. fkers. ****rs.

scum agents all go langgar lorry and die
scum agents at night go home meet ah beng gang fight and face disfigure.

moolala

still hav. plain insulan. nothing fancy of those 2x 3x payout then got wht basket 1 basket 2 type.

last time be4 i sign policy the agent say the underwriter say i got preexisting condition must add rider. dat time agent say dun worry after dat will help me fight the case so i sign and pay the rider. den after 4yr still no pic no sound. den agent run road. den change to agent 2. agent 2 tell me see doctor and write letter.
i go hospital specialist, take x ray, specialist write memo use cheem medical terms, but tell me no medical condition. submit memo rejected by underwriter.
agent 2 after 2mths oso run road. for 6 mths no agent take over my policies. complain to agency manager, complain to customer service, no pic no sound for another 3mths. finally complain to MAS and cc MP (minister lvl) den got sound. change to agent 3.
agent 3 say same thing go see doctor and submit memo. dis time i tell them give me yr template, wht the underwriter want to see.
finally go same hospital again, same x ray, same tests, doctor write memo den underwriter finally accepted. but all the yrs of premiums paid for nothing. somemore waste time and money on medical tests.

ever since, i tell ppl. cannot trust insulan agent. especially the prudenshit agents. talk no count. must hav black and white. fkers. ****rs.

scum agents all go langgar lorry and die
scum agents at night go home meet ah beng gang fight and face disfigure.

i see, yesh, they are slimes, next time just record them using phone and ask for black and white

all just wan u to sign and then after signing, wash hands

i know many of these type, even friends become enemies after signing policy

twinbaby

letter of guranteed doesn't mean anything as well, it just mean that you can go cashless

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.