Integrated Shield Plan Lesson Learnt

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

chaoprokia

i have many insurance fren ask me sign.

so i sign one each. so i got many company insurance.

last time is A tell me what i go ask B and C.

if B and C = same frequency mean A tell me is true.

B tell me what i go ask A and C if A and C same mean is true.

Basically A B C must have same frequency otherwise all dont sign LOL.

soneat

still hav. plain insulan. nothing fancy of those 2x 3x payout then got wht basket 1 basket 2 type.

last time be4 i sign policy the agent say the underwriter say i got preexisting condition must add rider. dat time agent say dun worry after dat will help me fight the case so i sign and pay the rider. den after 4yr still no pic no sound. den agent run road. den change to agent 2. agent 2 tell me see doctor and write letter.
i go hospital specialist, take x ray, specialist write memo use cheem medical terms, but tell me no medical condition. submit memo rejected by underwriter.
agent 2 after 2mths oso run road. for 6 mths no agent take over my policies. complain to agency manager, complain to customer service, no pic no sound for another 3mths. finally complain to MAS and cc MP (minister lvl) den got sound. change to agent 3.
agent 3 say same thing go see doctor and submit memo. dis time i tell them give me yr template, wht the underwriter want to see.
finally go same hospital again, same x ray, same tests, doctor write memo den underwriter finally accepted. but all the yrs of premiums paid for nothing. somemore waste time and money on medical tests.

ever since, i tell ppl. cannot trust insulan agent. especially the prudenshit agents. talk no count. must hav black and white. fkers. ****rs.

scum agents all go langgar lorry and die
scum agents at night go home meet ah beng gang fight and face disfigure.
U mean "loading" (and not "rider") right"?

Loading is you pay extra, due to sub-standard case.

Rider is when you pay extra, to get covered for additional claim scenarios.

Okenba

I guess I just count myself unlucky for getting sick shortly after buying the plan. Like dexboi said, maybe it was brewing in me all along, but I really had no idea. All was well before I signed up.

Another learning point: make sure you are very confident that you won't fall sick within one or two years of getting insurance. Otherwise, very hard to claim and worse still, you will get questioned like a fugitive.

My insurer keeps asking questions, very scary. They want to access all my medical records, even those from long ago. I think they want to cancel me. If so, can I get insured again? I seriously have no known illnesses, like HBP, heart disease, diabetes, cancer all don't have. Or am I doomed? If I had known earlier, I wouldn't even apply for claim sia. Now get treated machiam criminal.

There is a waiting period. Can be 3 mths, even 6 mths.
I had a health screening scheduled, but remembered that I just got a policy, so checked with agent on wait clause first before I went...

Mecisteus

There must be a reason for doctor to recommend surgery, it must be severe enough to recommend this treatment. It's fine if you don't want to disclose on forum.

Patients have been abusing the insurance coverage so doctors have been recommending surgeries even for the slightest conditions.

Personally, I have taken advantage of 1 surgery and my wife twice. So I understand what it means.

For my surgery, there was a news recently that it wasn't claimable by ISP actually. I did it last year.

Okenba

Patients have been abusing the insurance coverage so doctors have been recommending surgeries even for the slightest conditions.

Personally, I have taken advantage of 1 surgery and my wife twice. So I understand what it means.

For my surgery, there was a news recently that it wasn't claimable by ISP actually. I did it last year.

Thanks for pushing up the premiums for the rest of us... :s22::s22::s22:

a4973

What am I missing? Why would anyone want to get surgery done / hospitalized to gain from shield plan if it can be avoided? Thanks

BBCWatcher

What am I missing? Why would anyone want to get surgery done / hospitalized to gain from shield plan if it can be avoided?
You're missing a lot. Some surgeons and some associated individuals, such as anesthesiologists, want more and higher priced surgeries.

chrisloh65

I can't understand the rationale too that somebody would want to have surgery (when it is not necessary) just to make Shield plan pay out money to enrich doctors?! :eek:

This just feels like the person is cheapskate and want to "cheat" money (which he doesn't pocket anyway) and don't want health? (because doing unnecessary surgery is actually bad for our body and health!)

What am I missing? Why would anyone want to get surgery done / hospitalized to gain from shield plan if it can be avoided? Thanks

a4973

I also thought so. But this time keep never cure so doctor refer to specialist. Specialist did the scope then say very jia lat liao, recommend surgery.
And did the specialist say the name of the surgical procedure? Or explained how it is performed?

sk0065

You're missing a lot. Some surgeons and some associated individuals, such as anesthesiologists, want more and higher priced surgeries.

Hahaha. Got proof a not.
Who don’t know how to ******** on edmw.

Sforthought

Take care bro, health is more important. Yeah this issue slightly tricky but focused on your health n do what u need to first. Don`t let this affect you too much too.

Go to a few doctors before u get the conclusion. Just spend the money. If end of the day need to do surgery, it`s a blessing in disguise, u detect early ? It`s a win right ?

Last time i got crack tooth, i went to see a dentist, he say no problem but still pain. Not convinced i go see another dentist and but my mistake is to quote the things my first dentist say, end up... maybe the 2nd dentist also nv check properly follow the first one then end up do nothing. I just ignore lo, then end up really is got problem, have to extract, too late liao.

So your case, just see a few doctor as if u are visiting for the first time and dont tell them anything n let them do a thorough check. All the best :s12:

Mecisteus

I can't understand the rationale too that somebody would want to have surgery (when it is not necessary) just to make Shield plan pay out money to enrich doctors?! :eek:

This just feels like the person is cheapskate and want to "cheat" money (which he doesn't pocket anyway) and don't want health? (because doing unnecessary surgery is actually bad for our body and health!)

Uncle of course a healthy person wouldn't go to surgery to cut their limbs just to make a claim. :s13:

There must be some benefits to the patients.

popdod

I also thought so. But this time keep never cure so doctor refer to specialist. Specialist did the scope then say very jia lat liao, recommend surgery.

i think you are not revealing your actual illness.
common sore throat doesn't require surgery.

If you want to raise awareness on IP.
at least reveal what illness you have.
your story is incomplete.

Since your IP is new...and i believed you never declared accordingly.
hence your existing condition is under exclusion.

Do bear in mind, if you are going to public hospital for treatment.
all your medical records are logged.

Insurers can check on the system.

Insurance aside.

Regarding your health issue, if your condition requires surgery,
i suggest you look for 2nd opinion.

Anything that involves surgery, especially invasive surgery.
Always do a second consultation to confirm it.:s12:

Take care.

Mecisteus

i think you are not revealing your actual illness.
common sore throat doesn't require surgery.

If you want to raise awareness on IP.
at least reveal what illness you have.
your story is incomplete.

Yeah I thought it's important to mention this.

I guess OP is just interested to rant.

limster

I got a minor sports injury before. One doctor stay just immobilise and let it heal, one doctor (private specialist/surgeon) say he can operate and quoted 5 figures, says its faster than letting it self-heal.

So I went to get a 3rd opinion and doctor says if you don't operate, it will heal by itself anyway, its whether you want to speed it up and no guaranteed that operation will speed it up that much. (the surgeon also didn't say if don't operate it won't heal.. so all 3 doctors sort of agreed)

Since it was a minor injury, I just immobilised and let it heal, took 6 months before fully healed and can resume sports again though. But I'm not the type that likes to go for operations

Of course, if I was a professional athlete, then I would appreciate the fact that insurance would cover an operation to help my injury heal faster.

But there are some that don't bother to seek 2nd opinion, go to the most expensive private surgeon, and if he say 'operate', they will immediately agree since covered by insurance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.