Intel Unveils 28-core/56-thread HEDT Processor

haylui

Do I need to in before AMD is hotter and consume more power than Intel?

https://www.extremetech.com/computi...trosity-isnt-exactly-a-standard-consumer-part

The cooler Intel used, a Hailea HC-1000B, draws more than 1,000W of power for its own operation, which apparently precluded running both the CPU and the chiller simultaneously. The Hailea HC-1000B’s output of 1500-4000L of chilled water (as cold as 4 degrees Celsius) is matched by its ability to cool a system of some 1700W of dissipation. Anand reports that a 1600W Corsair PSU was used to power the machine. That’s a $469 PSU all on its own.

haylui

RIP I7 8700k :D

Won't RIP la.
The 5 GHz HEDT is not conventional toy.
Your wall socket must be able to output 3kw to sustain such system.
Wondering how many HDB applied for 3 phase power.

watzup_ken

Won't RIP la.
The 5 GHz HEDT is not conventional toy.
Your wall socket must be able to output 3kw to sustain such system.
Wondering how many HDB applied for 3 phase power.

Its like switching air-conditioning in 4 rooms at one go. Not practical for an ongoing usage. I don't even think the chip will last with such a voracious power appetite.

Gattberserk

GB6DdflyPVilS4X1.jpg

:s12:

bye bye TR2, DOA ?

sorry, Intel 28 cores? DOA due to price and nuclear power draw. And requiring a GIANT CHILLER at -10 deg to sustain.

Intel you sucks and I hope you really die this time for causing the CPU market to stagnant for the past 8 years.

watzup_ken

PSU used for the demo alleged to be rated for 3300W.

"Look what you can find when you are sniffing around PC Watch's news feed! It is rumored to be the exact PSU that Intel used in its 28-Core 5GHz demo at Computex this week. This AFOX PSU comes in rated at 3300 watts!"

Sourced from HardOCP.

Gattberserk

PSU used for the demo alleged to be rated for 3300W.

"Look what you can find when you are sniffing around PC Watch's news feed! It is rumored to be the exact PSU that Intel used in its 28-Core 5GHz demo at Computex this week. This AFOX PSU comes in rated at 3300 watts!"

Sourced from HardOCP.

Intel never learns, until now still give shitty TIM on their limited edition 8086K.

And they haven gotten over their Spectre fiasco as well.

Ark Law

JSKM Intel, kena caught out 2 years in a row :s13:

Computek 2017
AMD: Lai lai, limpeh launching TR
Intel: Uh uh uh....okay! Err, we going to have satki Core i9 and HEDT X299 and Kaby Lake X X299

Computek 2018
AMD: Lai lai, TR2 32C/64T coming out in Q3. Start saving up now!
Intel: Alamak....okay, let's just throw our Xeon in there, OC it, and say this will be our new 28C/56T Core i11

watzup_ken

JSKM Intel, kena caught out 2 years in a row :s13:

Computek 2017
AMD: Lai lai, limpeh launching TR
Intel: Uh uh uh....okay! Err, we going to have satki Core i9 and HEDT X299 and Kaby Lake X X299

Computek 2018
AMD: Lai lai, TR2 32C/64T coming out in Q3. Start saving up now!
Intel: Alamak....okay, let's just throw our Xeon in there, OC it, and say this will be our new 28C/56T Core i11

This proves the fact that Intel wasn't planning l to improve their products in the first place. For both years, Intel is caught with their pants down tells how sluggish they are in response to competition.

Rock-kun

28C/56T only?

Pah, POWER9 has a 22C/88T processor that is already available for purchase.

Gattberserk

This proves the fact that Intel wasn't planning l to improve their products in the first place. For both years, Intel is caught with their pants down tells how sluggish they are in response to competition.

No to be more exact they ignore the competition and think they are still KING.

Its time to show them the door to bankruptcy.

poooooo

Ppl would still buy intel though, sheep loves to be deceived;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.