Interior Design Co / Contractor

kendoarts

Just to add on, electrical works are also quoted separately and not included in the reno contract.

What are some of the electrical works you are talking about?
Is it lighting points and looping points?

How about power sockets? Does it cost alot too?

Any reason why ID don't usually include them in contract?

derrickgoh

What are some of the electrical works you are talking about?
Is it lighting points and looping points?

How about power sockets? Does it cost alot too?

Any reason why ID don't usually include them in contract?
Lighting points, power points, network points, etc.

In the initial stage when giving quotations, the ID will not know how many points you need. So normally they will just say single power point at $xx each or double at $xx each, etc.

With regards to fittings like the actual lights, be it cove lights, down lights, or even normal light tubes or ceiling lamps, there are different types and also at the initial stage ID will not know how many down lights you need or the length of the cove, etc.

I suppose different IDs work differently. Mine sat down with me and I gave him a general idea of what I want. He then came up with sketches. We then fine tuned the ideas. After that he gave me the quotation. The quotation was based on his estimate of how many lighting points, power points, etc but he did specify one point how much so if I wanted I could calculate based on how many points I wanted..

I gave him downpayment and his guys started work. They would of course start with tearing down the old junk and then doing tiles, etc. so there will be some time. While the work was on-going we met up for discussions into the details e.g. how I want the insides of the closets and cupboards to be, how many lights, what type of lights, position of lights, how many power points, position of power points, 1 or 2 way light switches, location of switches, location of network points, etc etc.

Once all of that was decided, I told him to give me an amended quotation to reflect the cost of the actual number of points, switches, etc. If your ID is experienced, his estimated number of points, switches, etc should not be too different from your actual unless of course you are super greedy and wants MANY or on super tight budget and want as few as possible.

live2snap

In the initial stage when giving quotations, the ID will not know how many points you need. So normally they will just say single power point at $xx each or double at $xx each, etc.

With regards to fittings like the actual lights, be it cove lights, down lights, or even normal light tubes or ceiling lamps, there are different types and also at the initial stage ID will not know how many down lights you need or the length of the cove, etc.

I suppose different IDs work differently. Mine sat down with me and I gave him a general idea of what I want. He then came up with sketches. We then fine tuned the ideas. After that he gave me the quotation. The quotation was based on his estimate of how many lighting points, power points, etc but he did specify one point how much so if I wanted I could calculate based on how many points I wanted..

I gave him downpayment and his guys started work. They would of course start with tearing down the old junk and then doing tiles, etc. so there will be some time. While the work was on-going we met up for discussions into the details e.g. how I want the insides of the closets and cupboards to be, how many lights, what type of lights, position of lights, how many power points, position of power points, 1 or 2 way light switches, location of switches, location of network points, etc etc.

Once all of that was decided, I told him to give me an amended quotation to reflect the cost of the actual number of points, switches, etc. If your ID is experienced, his estimated number of points, switches, etc should not be too different from your actual unless of course you are super greedy and wants MANY or on super tight budget and want as few as possible.

I like the interaction between u and your ID. Chemistry is very important when doing renovation.

runforyourlife

i thought you mentioned your house haven ready how come suddenly all things done liao?

jin_24

My sister just got her BTO in Seng Kang, and decided to go for a contractor as it is cheaper. To our surprise this contractor, highly recommended by her friend, is fairly young but with more than 10 years of experience, and very engaging. Very please with his service. Price wise is reasonable as my sister did not opt for HDB tiles. I can pm you his contact if you are interested :)

hi! can u pls PM mi the contact thank u!!

Frederick84

hi all,

I am looking for a contractor for renovation of my coming 4 rm bto..

anyone got engage contractor who are good in industrial concept renovation ?

I got idea of how my flat should be from reading mag and forum.

so now looking for good and reliable contractor lo..

any intro ??

Thanks.

roxyjas

My sister just got her BTO in Seng Kang, and decided to go for a contractor as it is cheaper. To our surprise this contractor, highly recommended by her friend, is fairly young but with more than 10 years of experience, and very engaging. Very please with his service. Price wise is reasonable as my sister did not opt for HDB tiles. I can pm you his contact if you are interested :)

Can pm me the contact pls? Thx

SkullzZ

If my house will be ready in 2017 (mid), when is a good time that I should start looking for contractors/designers? Thanks! :s12:

Most ID and contractors will only accept maximum 6 months as they don't want lock the price for 1 year. Wait material cost go up they lugi

Ronaldo88

Can recommend me contractors which can do minor renovation works for hdb flat?thank u..

HoSehLi

Im renovation my house now.
Pick one contractor after talking and getting quotation from 25 contractors .

So far the cheapest in town n forum review so far so good.

If you want to engage him PM me your number will ask him to call you.

Mag

I renovated my apt with an ID that was recommended by a friend whom I know well and is similar to me in terms of expectations and living stds. I think that is important when getting a recommendation from friends.

Getting ID reco from very atas friends will break my bank and a reco from friends who are too chin chai might not meet your expectation etc..

I start looking for an ID 6-9 moths ahead as they will take time to do the proposal and quote.. Then there's communication in changing design, eg, not enough to storage space etc and need to add into the quote. A variety of quote and design proposal help me plan for the final design I want for the house. It's like having 5 brains to think for you but the process is painful due to the liaising and communication.

I settled for the ID that was recommended by my friend but use prices from other IDs Ada cross check.

Always have the ID break down the quote to individual item and cost per feet. Eg 8ft full height feature wall at $280 per feet. This will prevent unnecessary unhappiness when u want to increase or reduce the length later.

I find it helpful to do own research in what style i want in Pinterest or Reno magazine before talking to ID so they understand better. It is like a design brief.

Contractor is a good fortune if you can find a reliable one and if you have some experience in house Reno. For first house, I will reco to use an ID for a piece of mind.

Zestan888

Anybody keen on a link up on good carpentry contractor in Johor who does works for Singapore homes with reasonable priced works, what's apps me at 97544787. My contractor works diligently with no nonsense pricing. You can view his work on my house in Johor. https://sandyswee.wordpress.com

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.