Interval training

slowpokie

Ahh okay.

I not so extreme beh. At most snack snack on fruits at canteen.

Yes sirr. Okay so no more progressive then.

19 going 20 :(

But nature of work not that active. During training got completely cut down on carbs save breakfast.

Sent from microwave oven using GAGT

Still young.....
going short burst very damaging to ur body....
but of cos reaps alot of reward....

Where as ur timming how much u looking for ippt.... the golden time now still 944 ?? With now got new ippt

likehotbutter

HIIT is not steady state cardio so I don't think you need to monitor heart rate. As long as during the interval set, it's an all out effort & you're gasping for breath at the end of it, that's all it matters..

True to an extent during the sprint but its still useful for monitoring rest levels during the slower pace isnt it?

Once your heart hits the target zone gtg again

gkhchay

Still young.....

Where as ur timming how much u looking for ippt.... the golden time now still 944 ?? With now got new ippt

Err how come you're contradicting yourself - damaging to the body & reaping rewards??

Seriously, HIIT is very relative to the person that's doing it; an all out effort for a 20 yr old is very different from an all out effort for a 45 yr old.

Also, as long as the person trains (and not strain), how can HIIT be damaging?

monikernemo

Still young.....

Now I only 12 minute for most I recent ippt. The previous one is like 12:40. :s22:

Track and thread mill really different. But looking to cut to 11 minutes then eventually stop at 10...

gkhchay

True to an extent during the sprint but its still useful for monitoring rest levels during the slower pace isnt it?

Once your heart hits the target zone gtg again

HIIT is based on time so that's why unlike steady state cardio, really no need to monitor heart rate.

The target heart rate zone is a steady state cardio thing, so doesn't apply to HIIT as far as I know.

For very unfit beginners or elderly folks, maybe work/rest ratio of 1:2 should do the trick.

slowpokie

Err how come you're contradicting yourself - damaging to the body & reaping rewards??

Seriously, HIIT is very relative to the person that's doing it; an all out effort for a 20 yr old is very different from an all out effort for a 45 yr old.

Also, as long as the person trains (and not strain), how can HIIT be damaging?

Ur suppose to go all out on tt 400m 600m 800m or even 1k.....

U do 1 set shag liao
if can do 5 sets..... u should be very decent.....

Next day sure feel tired....

That is why max is 1 or twice a week such session....

gkhchay

Ur suppose to go all out on tt 400m 600m 800m or even 1k.....

U do 1 set shag liao
if can do 5 sets..... u should be very decent.....

Next day sure feel tired....

That is why max is 1 or twice a week such session....

For HIIT, You train according to time, not distance lah... also depends on your fitness level when you start; just because someone says sprint for 2 min, doesn't mean you should do it right from the onset if you're a beginner & unfit.

You start at a level that's enables you to train, not strain. And straining to the point where you feel fatigue for a few days doesn't do you a bit of good.

Like I mentioned in a previous post, if you can only last 2 work sets (2 min) in the workout, that's perfectly OK. Slowly build up from there, working out every alternate day.

slowpokie

For HIIT, You train according to time, not distance lah... also depends on your fitness level when you start; just because someone says sprint for 2 min, doesn't mean you should do it right from the onset if you're a beginner & unfit.

You start at a level that's enables you to train, not strain. And straining to the point where you feel fatigue for a few days doesn't do you a bit of good.

Like I mentioned in a previous post, if you can only last 2 work sets (2 min) in the workout, that's perfectly OK. Slowly build up from there, working out every alternate day.

Diff ppl diff sch of thoughts

Yes some go by time like army do 30 60 etc....

If stadium usually if by distance....

slowpokie

Sorry ma.
Unfit need to train ma :(

From young not sporty, can fail 2.4 in JC that kind so actually 2.4 got 12 minute am quite happy worh. Last time can run faster but ish during training...

Slow is not a prob
at least u r trying
tts why i respect u for that...

Trust me try target 5k in 25 mins ( 5mins per km )

On threadmill should be speed 12.... slowly get used to it

Then on amd off on can do those 500m at the speed tt is tough for u ....

Should see results
stretch often thou i dun stretch
if needed use muccles rub to aid recovery...

Vulpix

Diff ppl diff sch of thoughts

Yes some go by time like army do 30 60 etc....

If stadium usually if by distance....

Err, gkchay is a known fitness guy over in our health and fitness forums. I am quite sure he knows what he is talking about.

justln

Just to add on, a timer like Gymboss will help with your interval training. The default model costs around $20 USD but it's well worth the money.

I'm just doing 10 sets now, 15 second sprint 1 minute walking recovery. Will slowly push the sprint time and shorten recovery.

slowpokie

The usual Garmin, Polar is good. Optical one can try MIO

Yea for eg,

Warm Up: 5 minutes

Work Interval #1: Two minutes at 146-159 BPM
Recovery Interval #1: Recover to 115 BPM

Work Interval #2: Two minutes at 146-159 BPM
Recovery Interval #2: Recover to 115 BPM

Work Interval #3: 2 minutes at 146-159 BPM
Recovery Interval #3: Recover to 115 BPM

Work Interval #4: Two minutes at 146-159 BPM
Recovery Interval #4: Recover to 115 BPM

Work Interval #5: Two minutes at 146-159 BPM
Recovery Interval #5: Recover to 115 BPM

This way you wont have scenarios where you start off training and sprint the first run over your max safe BPM ceiling (since starting you think you have more energy) then peng for the entire training and sore for the next 3 days.

takes alot of guesswork out

Hes only 20 yo leh......

He should hot 170 easily

slowpokie

Err, gkchay is a known fitness guy over in our health and fitness forums. I am quite sure he knows what he is talking about.

I relax relax 1...... i dun do core and arm training.....

Usuaally cardio for moi... threadmill and gymbike....

Only racing season i swim.more to ensure hit cutoff time

xerref

Build up your aerobic base before transitioning into interval training.. Not only will it help you avoid injury, but it will also help you get more out of the intervals.

I think HIIT can be based on time OR distance. It just depends on your perceived effort for the duration/distance. It should feel like a RPE of AT LEAST 8-9 (OR based on the original tabata study >80% of your MHR).

Yeap, work within your ability.

xerref

Usually I do 1km warm up at 12kmph then progressively increase from 13 onwards.

Farqlegs effective mah? Or slow jog the best?

Fartleks are great for you teaching you to run based on feel. i.e. the intervals should be based on perceived effort..

However if you want to improve speed, you should approach it just like weight training and use quantifiable targets like set distance for a set time.

eg. 400m sprints @ 1min, full 3mins rest X 8

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.