Iphone: camera vs cost.

zoossh

wow dlsr senpai!

me using small cameras all along, started with Ricoh GR then kacheng itchy switched to the bulkier X100F. Though its a nice camera but the unpocket friendliness as compared to GR is frustrating.

I basically only seriously take photos when travelling, lugging the dua ling gong that close to a kilo is damn sian and a kill joy. worst i see that my wife iphone 13 beats me in her photo is very humiliating.
I currently used a moment 1.33x anamorphic lens which stretches the 4:3 (1.3) or 16:9 (1.8) to a 2.4:1 aspect ratio. I think is nice for travel as I like cinematic framing.

Something that u can consider. cost 100 plus only

Mine is the old M-series that attaches to a moment handphone casing. But I think they have a new model that is called T series with less distortion at the edges. It is a small lens that is detachable so still quite pocketable for me

cpuer

I currently used a moment 1.33x anamorphic lens which stretches the 4:3 (1.3) or 16:9 (1.8) to a 2.4:1 aspect ratio. I think is nice for travel as I like cinematic framing.

Something that u can consider. cost 100 plus only

Mine is the old M-series that attaches to a moment handphone casing. But I think they have a new model that is called T series with less distortion at the edges. It is a small lens that is detachable so still quite pocketable for me
oh yes, those lenses that mount on casing. but i dont need them lah, used to fixed lenses, used my legs to zoom type. my concern is the shutter pressing and the ergo in general. really need to adapt to it.

zoossh

oh yes, those lenses that mount on casing. but i dont need them lah, used to fixed lenses, used my legs to zoom type. my concern is the shutter pressing and the ergo in general. really need to adapt to it.

The-ShiftCam-for-iPhone-Uses-MagSafe-to-Add-Grip-and-Camera-Controls.jpg

Snapgrip

improves ergonomics but I haven’t tried this yet

yuemin

1) 13pm 98.14avail of 256gb - 11818 photos 1881 videos 160 songs
- there is those flash drive that can be inserted to transfer files or some people upload stuff to cloud - depending on how disciplined one is but even after transferring do you want them on local.

im actually at 30fps & heif.

2 & 3) unable to comment cos i prefer the 1x usually unless i have no choice but to use 3x when i obviously din bring dslr + zoom lens

4) 13pm is fine for night shots with sufficient light or tripod if no light

do you have friends with various phones to let you test it when you are with them or you can search for images or video on youtube i guess ...

---
just gonna type out my personal experience if it helps anyone...

if money & weight is not a concern, i'd probably get a dslr.. BUT both are concerns for me.. since i tend to bring my house outside/when travels..

also, i am generally very sensitive towards "blur" or "clear enough"..
i do not agree with people claiming that apple's phones photos look fake

i used to be a as much as possible, try to use an actual camera kinda person..
i have a nikon d7000. which wasnt cheap when i bought it.

pre covid was XS then 13promax

based on my own experience... XS photos on 13promax still look totally fine.
the thing is that we aren't viewing these media on huge huge screens. (well even 24" imac is huge for me..)
nor printing pictures super large.. (haven't had the time to go print on canvas but internet and i think it is gonna be fine)... - google can tell you if the megapixel is gonna look ok on how huge...

i have not taken lots of photos during covid..
when i went to bali last year i brought both 13promax & dslr up paragliding and i was kinda sad that 13promax faired really well when i looked at the pictures on the imac 24".

also had the chance to visit iceland (think northern lights)
was REALLY REALLY REALLY browsing dslr lol -_-
but i couldn't justify the cost, usage, idk how much further will tech advance (especially my brain is still stuck at initial reviews of mirrorless aint ok) & do i need to frequently upgrade the dslr ...

yes you guessed it. mainly used the 13promax especially it is just at your hands.

the 13promax can definitely see more than your naked eye whether it is the northern lights or in museums in europe - my eyes could only see very general colours whereas the phone camera could see wayyy more colours (whether it is faded from mix colours or what doesnt matter).
no, i wasn't prepared to suddenly see the northern lights so no tripod ready etc.
just iphone (i did just open up photos using the computer to see 13pm vs 14p - did not use the higher mp on 14p bcos sis already has lots of media. if everything is higher mp idk man but maybe next time will try to see the size again for her... naked eye cannot tell you is different camera la.)

and i honestly feel that just video > photo. ok fine you can develop photo (but becos night shot requires seconds + holding it firm enough)

also cos have pet .. so videos too.. (i do keep the videos)

i do NOT "save" all videos. if i don't feel the "need" to relive the moment
i totally just insta story directly (oh yes totally not bothered with the video quality)
i mean by now i roughly know what i would wanna re-see. i also do save those stories on highlights in case i really wanna relive anything.

sometimes for the fun i shoot raw but (rarely)...
live photos are fun! (totally did it for geyser & normal photos just tapping like crazy oh man doing it in winter is just fun and freezing)

upgrading cos i do care about ability of the phone camera (solely personal pref)
though i may not be moving the phone content over but probably getting 512 instead of 256.
also becos the green tint stuff does freak me out (haha paranoid human)
maybe if if if if if if if if i have extra cash in time to come.. lying around i might consider browsing around dslrs..

recent travel finally didn't bring dslr LOL.

--- edited to add. id probably try the higher mp but with heif and see how it goes.
sufficient lighting like gbtb lol tried raw nothing much to edit leh

what i sometimes do is if i feel what my eye vs what the phone see feels different (and when i wanna adjust it to remember what my eyes see rofl troublesome)..
then i kinda adjust the filter manually to estimate it closer to what eyes see. (my concept is always "natural")

but either my settings wrong or what it is only for photos

edit to add again-- i do save alooooot of videos despite not saving all videos ROFL (wth)
like those nature - mountain sea beach definitely enjoy reliving them.

zoossh

What green tint?

do u mean the digital halation at the edges of objects when u pixel creep?

I do use Apple TV to project my phone pictures into the tv so that is generally the quality I hope to get it ok. When light is good, low res jpeg is good enough, but night shots are terrible

this is something that got me thinking of upgrading my phone whose camera is so many generations ago

yuemin

What green tint?

do u mean the digital halation at the edges of objects when u pixel creep?

I do use Apple TV to project my phone pictures into the tv so that is generally the quality I hope to get it ok. When light is good, low res jpeg is good enough, but night shots are terrible

this is something that got me thinking of upgrading my phone whose camera is so many generations ago
totally type wrong. green screen... i see it sometimes on reddit 13pro max when im was trying to find info about battery replacement or not rofl (din buy ac+)
and was thinking to replace batt then sell but since my is at 88% idc to replace batt i guess just sell
(i used to buy ac+ then before 2yr end i will go express replacement for 100% batt life for maybe better resale value or faster people snap up? but duno how false or true just my own thinking but this is not really your "bothers" i ?assume? since you are using 8)

family member has green screen yes sg no ac+ pay for replacement screen 500+ i think?! someone else on reddit - 13pm sg also paid (it actually seem to affect a huge amt of people based on the internet posts but not "every" person - obviously)

oh din see your photo when i type essay just now. definitely you'd be so happy you get 13/14 or even better 15.

i actually will prob try the various formats to see which sizing i prefer...

i off hdr for pic + video. just find it utterly annoying/fake. but depends on individual pref.
oh i also dislike the 0.5 becos it distort for iphone13pm in my pov.
there was only once where i DID use it becos i can no longer move backwards (wall)
it was ok just clouds seem horrible fake looking.

yuemin

anyway i feel unless a person is going full time photographer or huge side hustle in the being hired kinda aspect/youtuber or person is very well off..

i don't see alot of "point" in having several devices like that youtube.

initial very enthu into exploring photography days bought alot of plastic + film went around sg more picture-able places & all those also just throw one side..

as in the "time" to "do" things is also a factor..
like when travel though im very chill and take 837129 photos/videos of same thing.
but even that i already take an amount of time to absorb the environment, the shots/videos.
if i have a few lenses then wahhhh im gonna use more time? no thanks. i just wanna more stuff + the trip

funny story... i told friend aint going up eiffel tower despite i super love go observatory places becos the point of the photo for myself should tell that i can see the eiffel tower
uh yeah so i googled around (though not the most effort of me becos theres way more places that can see)..
went up arc the triomphe (though yes i bought paris museum pass else id have paid la)
which she also was like ya whats the pt of the photo with no eiffel when in paris lol

tbh i feel 1 aspect is we see sg since born everyday surroundings is difficult to look pretty to us.
whereas just next door i already feel so much more stuff to take photo just i din take out my phone cos i very scared (i guess is also about the old or dirty also have more shapes colours blabla vibes - figured such logic from museum explanation)

seeing your post + replying definitely makes me wanna "play" stuff if i sit somewhere in sg for over 30 min to take photos and adjust colours LOL (but yes my concept is still natural looking).

edited to add: problem with snow pictures. most snow appear blue than white due to reflection of the sky + whatever
braincells din bother at times but looking back should have done raw. (UGH!!!!!!!!!!!! how did your thread made me reflect loads)
LOL

just opened some raw that i shot (totally can recall which i shot raw)
managed to edit to white naturally (cursing in brains now)

also shall shamelessly leave my tiktok in case you want see 13pm video (some few photo) quality in general
BUT THERE IS DEFINITELY SPOILERS FOR HOW THE COUNTRY LOOKS BECOS 13pm is already very amazing liao..
1 video of lightning (i think i just video and wait time stamp was about 1hr of just admiring it... it was quite a thunderstormy night which made me jump out from bed to do that - storytime again: went to mount batur early ate lunch then went back to hotel and crashhhh thats why can jump out of bed)
lol (also a random edit video i did that have probably the most views on my acc)

thank you for making this thread because so much reflection about how to optimise my iphone within my means more o_o

zoossh

just an example of what i hope the new cam can help in such photos (yes i definitely had even worse one, but i pick one of those that i saved in my fav under icloud). i'm totally fine with motion blur but it looks grainy when light is low. and since the point is about mobility, tripod is out of question.

the file is downsized to 96dpi, 1024 x 433 pixels, nothing in particular of this choice just that it matches an earlier photo where quality is ok with light being more well distributed. this one i can visibly see the grains for the girl with curly red hair and the wall next to her. and nothing is sharp in the picture. so yes, the quality sometimes ruined pictures that i think is otherwise ok in terms of composition and other things.

MOmx0fE.jpg

zoossh

other kind of shots that i struggled a lot is the indoor shots of food. typically when i try to take it close up. but even if i move away by a bit, they are still blur.

xKDydjb.jpg

yuemin

just an example of what i hope the new cam can help in such photos (yes i definitely had even worse one, but i pick one of those that i saved in my fav under icloud). i'm totally fine with motion blur but it looks grainy when light is low. and since the point is about mobility, tripod is out of question.

the file is downsized to 96dpi, 1024 x 433 pixels, nothing in particular of this choice just that it matches an earlier photo where quality is ok with light being more well distributed. this one i can visibly see the grains for the girl with curly red hair and the wall next to her. and nothing is sharp in the picture. so yes, the quality is sometimes ruined pictures that i think is otherwise ok.

MOmx0fE.jpg
how low was the light?
normalllly if the photo is pixelated or blur (cat moves)
and the 13pm does know not enough light for "clear" photo so it will already auto do longer exposure like 1-3 sec. depending.
but before i realise is doing a long exposure... i alr move/the cat alr move
so i will retake and normally it is fine - i try to lean myself against something cos 1 handed unstable for long exposure. or if can just use 2 hands and lean on something

your food photo wont be an issue at all. the 8 is definitely too outdated aiyoh use this word very harsh but just gonna use.

even if the 1st photo is blur for 13pm. like if really really it feel insufficient light.
u retake with sturdy ish hand or stay for 1 sec when it takes. it is very smart de la.
no problem one.

i don't have any problem with with light setting and photo blur retake still blur.'

oh my god. PLEASE REMEMBER TO WIPE LENS for 13pm. any signs of off is always handprint.
so for the cat i always wipe lens then take.

EDIT: spoke too soon about blur.
the food photo seem more of image stablisation in the camera issues right

i DO have blur photos. but is 1) cat 2) idc don't need super clear crisp for all pics (naked eye dont always double tap to see enlarged unless very upfront blur and i want it to be super clear..... oh crap my initial post dont make sense liao........ hahahaha aiyah meaning even though can see difference aft go check but at that point of time it depends on circumstances.....) just depend what purpose. sometimes take photo to remember to buy correct item

3) food photos is more of the camera go use which camera or go macro it by itself.. then some parts will blur..

but yes overall the satisfaction from the phone > 8 i think you can go for 15pm since i feel you do care quite an amount of stuff.. i really think best is ask friend let you try and browse friend photo album.

zoossh

seeing your post + replying definitely makes me wanna "play" stuff if i sit somewhere in sg for over 30 min to take photos and adjust colours LOL (but yes my concept is still natural looking).

edited to add: problem with snow pictures. most snow appear blue than white due to reflection of the sky + whatever
braincells din bother at times but looking back should have done raw. (UGH!!!!!!!!!!!! how did your thread made me reflect loads)
LOL

just opened some raw that i shot (totally can recall which i shot raw)
managed to edit to white naturally (cursing in brains now)
is those in your tik tok after post processing? i only saw some videos and the snow looks alrite to me.

a quick glimpse and it seems that a lot of your coastal shots are taken under gloomy overcast weather. i'm not a landscape person but generally i dun fight the weather. if the lighting is not good, i lose all mood to shoot as the sea, the greens, the rocks will all lose its lustre. it is often not easy to take a good landscape along the coast as it is difficult to find a good foreground interest; u get big patches of sky, big patches of sea and zig zag lines of cliffs and coast, and without good lighting it will always look mundane (for me).

some said to do post processing but a lot of landscape photographer uses graduated neutral density filter. it helps to bring out the color of the sky (provided it is not all white/grey). u might want to check it out. but it is actually troublesome to use, expensive and the filter gets dirty. but if your interest is landscape, u can check it out.

zoossh

how low was the light?
normalllly if the photo is pixelated or blur (cat moves)
and the 13pm does know not enough light for "clear" photo so it will already auto do longer exposure like 1-3 sec. depending.
but before i realise is doing a long exposure... i alr move/the cat alr move
so i will retake and normally it is fine - i try to lean myself against something cos 1 handed unstable for long exposure. or if can just use 2 hands and lean on something

your food photo wont be an issue at all. the 8 is definitely too outdated aiyoh use this word very harsh but just gonna use.

even if the 1st photo is blur for 13pm. like if really really it feel insufficient light.
u retake with sturdy ish hand or stay for 1 sec when it takes. it is very smart de la.
no problem one.

i don't have any problem with with light setting and photo blur retake still blur.'

oh my god. PLEASE REMEMBER TO WIPE LENS for 13pm. any signs of off is always handprint.
so for the cat i always wipe lens then take.
i cant give specifics as it is pretty much left to the handphone to decide. i no longer control the aperture, shutter speed, exposure compensation as handphone is not as ergonomic for such controls. so all i control is composition and timing which makes travel more enjoyable.

the difficulty are those shots in the european narrow alleys that are not well lit, and the indoor restaurants with no natural lighting esp in close up where there is no light source.

for the food pictures, i already used all possible way (with no tool) to stablise, but since i still need to press the shutter on a phone, it still moves. i dun want to look like an oddball with a mini tripod either. as for street shots, they are done a lot while walking or with short pauses as i try to look natural without being intrusive. i had no real experience with zone focus and now the focus is all done by the phone.

so literally i'm banking on paying my way through a better low light handphone capability which is kind of hard to quantify.

yuemin

is those in your tik tok after post processing? i only saw some videos and the snow looks alrite to me.

a quick glimpse and it seems that a lot of your coastal shots are taken under gloomy overcast weather. i'm not a landscape person but generally i dun fight the weather. if the lighting is not good, i lose all mood to shoot as the sea, the greens, the rocks will all lose its lustre. it is often not easy to take a good landscape along the coast as it is difficult to find a good foreground interest; u get big patches of sky, big patches of sea and zig zag lines of cliffs and coast, and without good lighting it will always look mundane (for me).

some said to do post processing but a lot of landscape photographer uses graduated neutral density filter. it helps to bring out the color of the sky (provided it is not all white/grey). u might want to check it out. but it is actually troublesome to use, expensive and the filter gets dirty. but if your interest is landscape, u can check it out.
haha me life aint got time for post processing. i only adjust the "darkness" or the "brightness" for certain stuff like the lava show becos else can't see the orange - i adjust on the spot.
the aeroplane fly in shot is edited close to the eye's perspective - using the camera filter i manually push around the two stuff that is easier to push = the "only" thing i fast adjust if i feel i want to amend how the colours are becos very off - which i only learnt/self figured in Conciergerie. (no i very lazy don't bother with trying to adjust the +- exposure.)

ya july seoul jeju = rain rain rain stop rain rain stop etc or just haha

you very enthusiast to go slowly shoot stuff

hmm no leh i not into shooting clouds (used to) or gonna invest $$$ into photography within short term..
just happen it has clouds and it is uncontrollable and probably wont bother with the etc but cooooool

edit: clouds in general in shots for daytime is just kinda weird here x there. so i dont bother trying to "do anything" like ... whatever.

i cant give specifics as it is pretty much left to the handphone to decide. i no longer control the aperture, shutter speed, exposure compensation as handphone is not as ergonomic for such controls.

the difficulty are those shots in the european narrow alleys that are not well lit, and the indoor restaurants with no natural lighting typically close up where there is no light source.

for the food pictures, i already used all possible way (with no tool) to stablise, but since i still need to press the shutter on a phone, it still moves. i dun want to look like an oddball with a mini tripod either. as for street shots, they are done a lot while walking or with short pauses as i try to look natural. i had no real experience with zone focus and now the focus is all done by the phone.

so literally i'm banking on paying my way through a better low light handphone capability which is kind of hard to quantify.
whats your camera camera?

xs to 13pm i was impressed but these days im not that impressed in terms of im used to it.
im usually only annoyed because it choose to focus on something else instead of the cat when i video/photo
but since the phone aint directly infront of my eyes (hold near the cat - upclose etc)
i can't immediately rectify it until i review.

but for other than the cat walk and snap i really cannot recall pek chek moments
but depends if your expectation is higher or lower than mine la.

but most of my iphone friends i see their pics/insta i feel all very ok.
the video stablisation exist for walking at a alright speed in my pov with just the hands.

but if i try to hand support hand for stablisation for left right ?panning?
it is definitely better.

but seems you photo > video right

yuemin

https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...up-thread-worldwide-2022-2023.2359225/page-72btw you can go browse macrumours and reddit like iphone"xxx" but yes most people only post nice shots. i think mines the lesser staged stuff liao LOL

or if you kinda decide which you want... or you can simply even go to apple store and try the camera idk if it can stay in the phone memory to review..
then you just "shake" and snap the shot to test the stabilisation.
becos i think thats the main thing you are questioning(?)
correct me if wrong

and idk how what true what people say in the other thread abt open =have fees.
but i did return to apple store purchases because of scratch or ipad pro i got the larger but felt too large after using it for day ish or more and returned it. got the smaller one. no incur fees.

i think esp the "holiday" period xmas or sth there's extended period but ofc dont break, scratch or liquid damage the phone la - will have to pay more or rejected idk..
is not really abusing the policy if you genuinely trying to figure out if you can deal with the 15pm or 15p.
(yeah only the ones on apple site can do this)

zoossh

i only use video for fun stuff at family. but i came across a lot of videographer youtube due to my shooting style.

i like cinematic aspect ratio which is more common to videographer. i check out rigs and cages often used by them. and i like using actual filters and some of these seems more common to videographers, for example diffusion filter. but otherwise i only do photo.

ZhouXingXing

Is the main lens sensor size and algorithm the same for ip15 plus and ip15 pro max? thought they are different…
The iPhone 15 Pro retains the same main 24mm f/1.78 lens and sensor (2.44 µm quad pixel) as the iPhone 14 Pro.

The main camera’s 26mm-equivalent lens is slightly slower at f/1.6 compared to the iPhone 14’s f/1.5. The wide and front cameras remain the same across generations, with 12 MP resolutions and apertures of f/2.4 (wide) and f/1.9 (front).

source from dp review

cpuer

My wife Iphone13 night shot, OK to you? Looks ok when viewed on a phone, but on a notebook at 100% it's not that great.

zoossh

My wife Iphone13 night shot, OK to you? Looks ok when viewed on a phone, but on a notebook at 100% it's not that great.

It’s says google drive request access. May not be very secure?

zoossh

The iPhone 15 Pro retains the same main 24mm f/1.78 lens and sensor (2.44 µm quad pixel) as the iPhone 14 Pro.

The main camera’s 26mm-equivalent lens is slightly slower at f/1.6 compared to the iPhone 14’s f/1.5. The wide and front cameras remain the same across generations, with 12 MP resolutions and apertures of f/2.4 (wide) and f/1.9 (front).

source from dp review
I’m looking at the pro max, not pro.
i thought the sensor size is different.
14pm = 9.8mm
15pm = 13+ mm

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.