iRobot Scooba experience

dankoo

I'm thinking of getting a roomba (as my rooms are laminated flooring, read that scooba cannot use) but worry about spare parts and warranty issues.

What would be the recommended model to get for a 5 room flat with 3 laminated flooring and terazzo flooring in living room?

the local irobot.com.sg pricing seems expensive .. may be can buy 2 from US if worry about warranty and parts? but I read on vpostUSA site that they won't ship anything with Lithium batteries.. how did you guys get it through?

Thanks

Yes, the risk abt getting from US is the warranty. By right, once irobot knows you use it outside US, they will void the warranty (ppl here has ways to overcome that). Besidesm it is not worth the shipping charge to ship back to US and back to you for the replacement.

Vpost will not ship just batt but if you are buying with the device, it is ok.

appiez

mos mos.. roomba 5xx is it latest series?

edited: I read from irobot.com liao.. :)

appiez

yes, but no lighthouse, only basic virtual wall. :o

What's in the Box: Vacuum, AC Adapter, Virtual Wall, Filter, and Quick Start Guide

just read from previous page wats the purpose of lighthouse :o.. gonna give it a miss since my current no lighthouse too :p

thanks mos mos :)

mosmos

can the AC adaptor be use in sg?

AC adapter is 110v, you need to buy a stepdown transformer of at least 100w. It will cost abt $25 at hardware store.

NF-100_l.jpg

naxchua

Just to share my experience on getting my 1st roomba:

28/02/08 - iRobot Roomba 4296 Remote Schedule appeared on woot.com
28/02/08 - very excited! Quickly register as wooter and wooted for 1 unit.
28/02/08 - then only realised woot does not accept oversea credit card.
28/02/08 - panic, disappointed.... stay calm...
28/02/08 - ah huh! Found out woot accept paypal.
28/02/08 - signup paypal account at paypal.com.
28/02/08 - successfully wooted for 1 roomba. (my very 1st roomba)
28/02/08 - provide woot with vpost USA address. (my very 1st online purchase from USA)
28/02/08 - paypal emailed me the payment details. (US$99.99 + shipping $5 = US$104.99, equivalent SGD$150.44)
28/02/08 - i forwarded the payment details from paypal to vpostUSA as my invoice submission.
29/02/08 - vpostUSA emailed me acknowledge receipt of my invoice.
29/02/08 - found out that i can track the status of your woot delivery as early as 2nd day after i wooted.
29/02/08 - Go to fedex.com >> Select your country. >> Move mouse over the track tab and click on track by reference in the drop down menu. >> Leave account number blank >> Enter your Woot order number in the reference box. >> Enter the ship date +/- 15 days. >> Enter your destination country. >> Enter your destination zip.>> Click on track.

01/03/08 - realised the invoice amount appears in my vpostUSA a/c as US$150.44.
01/03/08 - request vpostUSA to amend the record, it should be US$104.99.
03/03/08 - and vpostUSA change the amount to US$140.99, OMG!:s22:
03/03/08 - inform vpostUSA again, the correct amount should be US$104.99!
03-10/03 - tracking my woot order at fedex.com
11/03/08 - finally reached vpost USA.
12/03/08 - emailed vpostUSA to match my invoice.
13/03/08 - vpost USA responded, size:62X42X12 cm (5.2kg), actual weight=5.2kg, so total shipping cost = SGD60.87!!:eek:
13/03/08 - made payment to vpost using the $15 promo code:083DAH2 so final shipping cost paid= SGD$45.96
13/03/08 - compare to comgateway.com, shipping cost for 5.2kg should be US$32 (SGD should be around $45 only)
13/03/08 - thereafter... the tracking record in vpost a/c shows "Processed in U.S.A/Japan", tracking record in speedpost shows "Information Not Available"
17/03/08 - waiting for my roomba to arrive.... waiting... waiting....

urs is alot cheaper... mine was more expensive cos due to the dimensional weight is heavier than the actual weight... hence they will charge u according to dimensional weight... i believe comgateway will do that too.... anyway dun worry... u should be receiving it around 1 - 2 weeks time...

mosmos

sAxman_Returns

mosmos, are the roomba and scooba virtual wall compatible with each other? I saw the roomba scheduler have the same design of virtual wall, but different color.

510 only can take 3 rooms right?

mosmos

mosmos, are the roomba and scooba virtual wall compatible with each other? I saw the roomba scheduler have the same design of virtual wall, but different color.

510 only can take 3 rooms right?

4xx roomba and scooba virtual walls are the same.

I am not sure whether 5xx virtual wall can stop scooba, but i guess should be able to, but better check again.

Old roomba scheduler virtual wall is the same as normal 4xx roomba virtual wall except got scheduler function, but you can't schedule scooba.

510 is the same as 5xx series but I am not sure why the new docking station did not mention 510 as compatible. :s22:

One more thing, 510 can't use lighthouse + wireless command.

sAxman_Returns

schedule scooba? uhm...how to do that? but dun think it's a good idea...coz the moment it runs out water, that patch of place that it stops will remain wet wet.......until you notice it.....

mosmos

schedule scooba? uhm...how to do that? but dun think it's a good idea...coz the moment it runs out water, that patch of place that it stops will remain wet wet.......until you notice it.....

just now typo. :o

you can't schedule scooba, but can use 4xx roomba remote control to move it around.

bahang

AC adapter is 110v, you need to buy a stepdown transformer of at least 100w. It will cost abt $25 at hardware store.

NF-100_l.jpg

If I buy additional roomba in future, how do I share 2 roomba with 1 stepdown transformer?

If I going to station another roomba scheduler at another area of the house, I need 2 stepdown transformers right?

jc777

think you wouldnt want to schedule scooba, else if kena stuck or something wrong, the whole house flood.

mosmos

If I buy additional roomba in future, how do I share 2 roomba with 1 stepdown transformer?

If I going to station another roomba scheduler at another area of the house, I need 2 stepdown transformers right?

:o use a more powerful one, maybe 200w above, then plug in a mutli-socket.

since you are going to station at another another then get another 100w lor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.