iRobot Scooba experience

jc777

I poofed my 1st roomba charger. Still dont know why? After modding, voltage chk ok. When plugged in, the light blink n went off. Then the charger RIP. :(
my un-modded charger was killed together the lousy transformer attached. then went ahead and modded and revived the charger. working well till today.

manage to get about 90-105 minutes of run time with a single charge before light up red, about 50 min for living room, 25 min for kitchen, another 25 min for 1 bedroom. think quite decent run time.

jc777

charger is ok :s34:

if RIP the roomba directly den really jia lat
if you were to use the base station to charge, it would provide some kind of isolation (if i am not wrong). so if anything were to RIP, it would be the base station bah.

molecule

has anyone successfully bought from buy.com? I tried but failed at payment with both googlecheckout and paypal as it mentions that Singapore CC not accepted. Any method around this?

mingkiat

has anyone successfully bought from buy.com? I tried but failed at payment with both googlecheckout and paypal as it mentions that Singapore CC not accepted. Any method around this?

I bought from buy.com using google checkout. At first I use vpost address, it got rejected after 1 days. tried with credit card and paypal also doesn't work.

Finally I changed to my friend's address in US, using the same google checkout. Everything goes smoothly then I ask my friend to post to me using USPS.

XxDrAg0nxX

I bought from buy.com using google checkout. At first I use vpost address, it got rejected after 1 days. tried with credit card and paypal also doesn't work.

Finally I changed to my friend's address in US, using the same google checkout. Everything goes smoothly then I ask my friend to post to me using USPS.

Hmm in this scenario then whats the problem ah?

Cos i dont think its the payment problem cos we pay paypal and paypal pays the merchant.

They dont accept VPOST address?

sAxman_Returns

i dunno why you guys dun buy from ebay. I am already getting 2nd iRobot item from ebay liao, not to mention some other stuff including speakers, remote control etc.

seowbin

wah lan.. never try to mod your charger...

i go SLT buy.. den all closing liao, i go 4th floor, the uncle quite helpful but the varister gimme wrong rating i think...

when i take out it's so small compare to my existing one but i don't doubt him.. i just fix them in..

lucky bo explode :s13:, fix liao, can't work :sad:

den after that, i cut away.. can work liao.. heng...

c1.jpg

c2.jpg

the cap also kan big... den i just bo chup, melt the casing for it

sian half.... now i use some tape to cover it.. this is call 'nothing to do, find problem for myself'

seowbin

it's better that you put for better protection mah :s13:

sian :(

now my charger one hole liao.. kan jiong is like that.... get a cap so damn big

molecule

Hmm in this scenario then whats the problem ah?

Cos i dont think its the payment problem cos we pay paypal and paypal pays the merchant.

They dont accept VPOST address?

nope, not that they dun accept vpost address. At checkout they already reject both googlecheckout or paypal tied to sg credit card. Can't even make payment.

sAxman_Returns

Guess my 550 is arriving soon, first charge for how many hours b4 action ah?

the battery seems like the APS one huh?

218216.jpg

blurrblurr

You shall ask for the compact version.
But for the 500 series where they uses the white adapter, the big capacitor can be cover up.

blurrblurr

wah lan.. never try to mod your charger...

i go SLT buy.. den all closing liao, i go 4th floor, the uncle quite helpful but the varister gimme wrong rating i think...

when i take out it's so small compare to my existing one but i don't doubt him.. i just fix them in..

lucky bo explode :s13:, fix liao, can't work :sad:

den after that, i cut away.. can work liao.. heng...

c1.jpg

c2.jpg

the cap also kan big... den i just bo chup, melt the casing for it

sian half.... now i use some tape to cover it.. this is call 'nothing to do, find problem for myself'
You shall ask for the compact version.
But for the 500 series where they uses the white adapter, the big capacitor can be cover up.

mingkiat

Guess my 550 is arriving soon, first charge for how many hours b4 action ah?

the battery seems like the APS one huh?

218216.jpg

How's the 550 ? I got the 560 and wonder what's the differences ..
So far i have been using it for a week and wow the amount of dust it picked up .. esp the very fine typed that got trapped along the filter ..

From what I see the 550 comes with 1+3 filters instead of 1+1 (for 560). I wonder how long should we change the filter.

sAxman_Returns

How's the 550 ? I got the 560 and wonder what's the differences ..
So far i have been using it for a week and wow the amount of dust it picked up .. esp the very fine typed that got trapped along the filter ..

From what I see the 550 comes with 1+3 filters instead of 1+1 (for 560). I wonder how long should we change the filter.

550 = 560, only the faceplate is different, 550 is very dark grey or close to black (like the 570) and 560 is silver if I'm not wrong. It's a OEM for Costco, so battery is included for the lighthouse and additional 2 filters, in a way, it's so much more value for money. Hooted it for just USD250. iRobot is overpricing them at direct online stores, this is to create more value for their resellers.

But I haven't received it yet lar...still expecting it......yah, hopefully it's able to solve my sticky dusty problem which I given up the hope on Scooba......too much maintenance already :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.