iRobot Scooba experience

tthsrml

confirm more ex than buying separately from ebay. Is this going to be your first bot experience? My advice, try not to go into Scooba first. You may regret. dirt dog may not be necessary too. You got lots of pets @ home?

i've got 2 dogs at home... i'm sure just a roomba will not be sufficient

tthsrml

I buy from u the dirt dog $150? :D

not selling if i'm ever getting the 3 robots... cos... my house needs a roomba for the room and the dirty dog to suck up the fur in the living and kitchen area and the scooba is to help me mop for everyday... if not my dogs will have contact allergy.

now i'm mopping and cleaning everyday!!! tired!!!

thewiseone

Approx how big is your house or rather how big is the combined area to be cleaned? Why do u need a dirt dog for living room and kitchen?

Tell me about mopping and cleaning everyday!! :s22:

not selling if i'm ever getting the 3 robots... cos... my house needs a roomba for the room and the dirty dog to suck up the fur in the living and kitchen area and the scooba is to help me mop for everyday... if not my dogs will have contact allergy.

now i'm mopping and cleaning everyday!!! tired!!!

tthsrml

Approx how big is your house or rather how big is the combined area to be cleaned? Why do u need a dirt dog for living room and kitchen?

Tell me about mopping and cleaning everyday!! :s22:

my floor area is 1220sqft and have 2 dogs at home. they shed like mad... you will see fur balls... and i mean fur balls!!!! and i dun wan d roomba to be stucked just sweeping the whole area. and i felt since dirty dog is more "sturdy" it shd be a better idea to have it together to do the job.

sAxman_Returns

wah....never studied about the dirt dog, not sure if it's able to pick up "FUR BALLSSSS" effectively.

Roomba should be fine, at most it got stuck in the brush like what I shown earlier hehe......

Scooba is good for kitchen and toilet, dun expect miracles in other places, you may end up more work....still suggest you buy separately, but if you want to save the trouble, I think just go ahead lar. buying separately can siam GST mah, all in, tough case.....the additional cost is not just about the price itself, but combined packages means much bigger box, which results in much higher shipping fee.....i saw people complaining about iRobot always purposely use bigger box to ship lol!

i'm not discouraging you, but furnitures planning is a MUST for using such bots. I am glad that I am still doing up my new house, all my furnitures have to be at certain height with legs so that the Roomba can go in. If not you will end up extra work just to clean all those unreachable places.....even my dining chairs are not bought because I couldn't find 1 that's suitable (for both theme and Roomba restriction).

tthsrml

is it??? then will seriously consider before buying it.

but how effective is roomba picking up furballs???? cos those furballs are horrendous!!!

wah....never studied about the dirt dog, not sure if it's able to pick up "FUR BALLSSSS" effectively.

Roomba should be fine, at most it got stuck in the brush like what I shown earlier hehe......

Scooba is good for kitchen and toilet, dun expect miracles in other places, you may end up more work....still suggest you buy separately, but if you want to save the trouble, I think just go ahead lar. buying separately can siam GST mah, all in, tough case.....the additional cost is not just about the price itself, but combined packages means much bigger box, which results in much higher shipping fee.....i saw people complaining about iRobot always purposely use bigger box to ship lol!

i'm not discouraging you, but furnitures planning is a MUST for using such Robots. I am glad that I am still doing up my new house, all my furnitures has to be at certain height with legs so that the Roomba can go in. If not you will end up extra work just to clean all those unreachable places.....even my dining chairs are not bought because I couldn't find 1 that's suitable (for both theme and Roomba restriction).

thewiseone

No no, u should not be using dirt dog for your case IMO. Dirt dog is more suitable for areas like a workshop, garage, etc. whereby u have more 'solid' stuff left lying around. I cant speak from experience since i dont have any pets now. However, i would recommend u look into a Roomba for Pets or any of the normal Roombas with the easy clean pet brush. U dont need 2 Roombas for your house. If u need to mop the entire 1220 sq ft area and since u already have the budget ( i assume since u wanted to get the 3 bots from iRobot), u can get this instead (assuming u dont need scheduling):

1 x Roomba for Pets
2 x HSN Scooba 335 (if u r lucky u get a 340 instead)

OR

1 x Roomba for Pets
1 x Scooba 380
1 x Scooba 5800

Hope that helps.

my floor area is 1220sqft and have 2 dogs at home. they shed like mad... you will see fur balls... and i mean fur balls!!!! and i dun wan d roomba to be stucked just sweeping the whole area. and i felt since dirty dog is more "sturdy" it shd be a better idea to have it together to do the job.

sAxman_Returns

is it??? then will seriously consider before buying it.

but how effective is roomba picking up furballs???? cos those furballs are horrendous!!!

show us some pictures!!!! here is NPNT society! NPNT is the rule! :s22: <--- just kidding, but seriously, we need to see how "serious" it is to recommend better.

I do agree with thewiseone. Just checked out some write up on dirt dog, it would even scratch your beautiful marble floor!!!!!!

Roomba should do the job well, if you scared not enough, get 2 sets of 550 and above. Scooba as I mentioned, really up to you, with Roomba 550 in place, I dun need to spend a lot of time mopping floor (of course, with ROMAN mop! not stupid traditional mop!) In case you're wondering why a guy is doing all these housework.....my girlgirl hasn't moved in yet, staying alone is a 5roomHDB is terrible!!!! I ish want to cry already :s22:

sorry ah, just curious, do you guys use ROMAN mop boh? I sold my Scooba because I can mop very fast with this mop lar hehe......cost me $40+ and I thought Scooba could replace it....

thewiseone

A thought about Scooba. I've been sitting on the fence for a long time before getting a Scooba. The thing about Scooba is that its not as automated as a Roomba. U need to segment areas for it to clean. U need to manually move it from one area to another. U need to empty the dirty tank. U need to refill the clean tank. It does not automatically go back to its homebase and recharge on its own when its low on battery. That said, why does 1 bother to get a Scooba? One simple reason: IT WASHES BETTER AND CLEANER THAN YOU CAN WITH A MOP AND PAIL. The iRobot advert about spreading dirty water around with a traditional mop and pail is very true. Apart from that, Scooba uses a lot less water & floor cleaner, yet results in a cleaner and much smoother floor. Also, it saves u the hassle of bending down to reach those hard to clean areas with your mop. The clean floor after Scooba is done speaks for itself. Its not about speed, its about quality.

show us some pictures!!!! here is NPNT society! NPNT is the rule! :s22: <--- just kidding, but seriously, we need to see how "serious" it is to recommend better.

I do agree with thewiseone. Just checked out some write up on dirt dog, it would even scratch your beautiful marble floor!!!!!!

Roomba should do the job well, if you scared not enough, get 2 sets of 550 and above. Scooba as I mentioned, really up to you, with Roomba 550 in place, I dun need to spend a lot of time mopping floor (of course, with ROMAN mop! not stupid traditional mop!) In case you're wondering why a guy is doing all these housework.....my girlgirl hasn't moved in yet, staying alone is a 5roomHDB is terrible!!!! I ish want to cry already :s22:

sorry ah, just curious, do you guys use ROMAN mop boh? I sold my Scooba because I can mop very fast with this mop lar hehe......cost me $40+ and I thought Scooba could replace it....

sAxman_Returns

thewiseone, I was just like you. But after using Scooba for 3 months, I decided to let go. Why?

1.The unit itself uses lesser water, however, to clean the damn thing, I ended up using same or more amount of water.
2.I find it very troublesome to use it as half of my house is on laminate flooring, I can't afford to let it die halfway on my laminate flooring, if not the next thing I see is warpped floor :(
3.My ROMAN mop(heck the traditional mop!) is pretty effective compared to Scooba, but pre-condition: Roomba must be in action first. For the benefit of those who doesn't know what's ROMAN mop, check it out :
314052.jpg
314051.jpg

this kind of sponge base mop can stick dirty stuff during mopping, it doesn't really wet the floor a lot during action, thus clean as good as Scooba.
4.Once my furnitures are well-planned to suit Roomba's restriction, I dun have problem mopping the whole house.

i do believe there are people would benefit from Scooba, but at the same time, the 3rd generation is still not a ready product to me. For others, it really depends on your needs lor......I will definately try the 4th generation Scooba once it's out and I can hoot one @ cheap price from ebay. However, if it still can't serve me well, I will still have to let go (hopefully not at a loss....)

sAxman_Returns

Saxman, this is not the problem i was referring to. The 5XX gearbox has a gap in its gearbox design whereby dust can get inside easily. In time to come, the build up will damage the gears. Hopefully its not an issue for those with a less dusty environment...

OMG, I finally saw what you mentioned.....

http://youtube.com/watch?v=MQ1l8FikTwo

if the dust really built up and spoilt the gearbox, does iRobot covers that warranty? If not I think I have to open up the gear box every month just to clean it......

blurrblurr

Yes it does. I had ask for one new brush module when I report to them is faulty. Very good service they have.
Recently bought another roomba 560 from Ebay. Is only sing dollar $510 with shipping included. Those who think ebay is unreliable think is not true. Get from those whose ratings have more than 1000+ good. You shall be on save side.

thewiseone

Saxman, i've never used this particular Roman mop but i have used something similar. Are u positive that your Roman mop is as clean as the Scooba? Have u done an A/B testing on it? Trying cleaning your house with the Roman mop followed by getting Scooba to clean the same area. Do the same the other way around with Scooba first. Monitor the condition of the dirty water. I'll let the results speak for themselves. :)

Scooba is not recommended for laminate flooring actually. It can damage some poorer laminate finishing. Scooba is great for ceramics, marble, etc. How can Scooba be cleaner than yr manual mopping? Apart from not recycling dirty water, it has the rotating brush to scrub. This is particular useful for the gaps between the tiles where your mops and what nots cannot effectively reach. In addition, i have monitored that for my marble flooring, the shine and smoothness is unrivaled by my manual mopping (with more detergent, water and sweat!).

I never need a lot of water to wash my Scooba. Just need to rinse the port and the external tank surface. Done. Perhaps u have been scrubbing your Scooba too clean? :D

thewiseone, I was just like you. But after using Scooba for 3 months, I decided to let go. Why?

1.The unit itself uses lesser water, however, to clean the damn thing, I ended up using same or more amount of water.
2.I find it very troublesome to use it as half of my house is on laminate flooring, I can't afford to let it die halfway on my laminate flooring, if not the next thing I see is warpped floor :(
3.My ROMAN mop(heck the traditional mop!) is pretty effective compared to Scooba, but pre-condition: Roomba must be in action first. For the benefit of those who doesn't know what's ROMAN mop, check it out :

this kind of sponge base mop can stick dirty stuff during mopping, it doesn't really wet the floor a lot during action, thus clean as good as Scooba.
4.Once my furnitures are well-planned to suit Roomba's restriction, I dun have problem mopping the whole house.

i do believe there are people would benefit from Scooba, but at the same time, the 3rd generation is still not a ready product to me. For others, it really depends on your needs lor......I will definately try the 4th generation Scooba once it's out and I can hoot one @ cheap price from ebay. However, if it still can't serve me well, I will still have to let go (hopefully not at a loss....)

thewiseone

Like that super hassle liao! I think u just monitor to see. If yr environment isnt too dusty, perhaps do it on a half yearly basis or longer. If u start hearing any abnormal grinding noise or the brushes turn sluggishly, stop and check!

OMG, I finally saw what you mentioned.....

http://youtube.com/watch?v=MQ1l8FikTwo

if the dust really built up and spoilt the gearbox, does iRobot covers that warranty? If not I think I have to open up the gear box every month just to clean it......

tthsrml

what is roman mop? those with sponge?

you see i'm lazy... and i wanna spend as much time either resting after work or be with my dogs.

so i'm hoping that the scooba will do the job.

koiphone

So far what kind of parts can be claim from US irobot without sending anything back to them.
Is it?
1) Battery
2) Side Brushes
3) Brushes module

Anything else.

thewiseone

I dont think the Scooba will meet yr needs of rest and lazy :s22:

U need to change water, carry it about, clean up after its done...

U should be better off with a mop.

what is roman mop? those with sponge?

you see i'm lazy... and i wanna spend as much time either resting after work or be with my dogs.

so i'm hoping that the scooba will do the job.

thewiseone

Dont go overboard with the claims, else it'll be really obvious. Why all the hassle of claiming for a side brush or parts? Just claim for the entire unit, minus battery. Battery can get it on your own. Getting the complete unit is more worth than just the battery.
The above is for the older series. For the newer ones, i'm not sure.

So far what kind of parts can be claim from US irobot without sending anything back to them.
Is it?
1) Battery
2) Side Brushes
3) Brushes module

Anything else.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.