iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...mp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B000RTSFJ2

28tjjm9.jpg

mingkiat

I am in Singapore. This offer was made to me by someone. Still good? I think the 570 is a newer gen compared to 560. Supposed to be more cleverer?

from as far as I read, the 550, 560 and 570 are exactly the same robot in different coloured housing (replaceable).

The only difference is the accessories included.

550 selling about US290 from Costco, not sure they'll ship to SG
560 selling about US329 from buy.com last time i checked. occasionally they have offer at $289 (i got at this price)
570 not many places sell. irobot.com selling at $349.

There is a comparison chart on irobot.com u can go take a look.
570 = 560 + remote command centre ($39.90)
550 = 560 + 2 extra filter + batteries for virtual walls

thewiseone

thewiseone

Yeah, i got Roombas :s22:

Personally, as mentioned in my earlier postings, I wouldnt go for ANY of the 5XX series at the moment. However, if the new one suits yr needs and u can get it at a good price, by all means go for it. :)

You have a Roomba? Worth buying the 560? It's pretty cheap here in US.

XxDrAg0nxX

Yeah, i got Roombas :s22:

Personally, as mentioned in my earlier postings, I wouldnt go for ANY of the 5XX series at the moment. However, if the new one suits yr needs and u can get it at a good price, by all means go for it. :)

But hor how do we tell when they fix the problems?

I dont think the are going to announce the revision right? :(

chewpc

Did anyone here buy the Li-Ion scooba battery from glo69?

No one bought the Li-ion battery from glo69? I was hoping to get a spare battery for my scooba 380. Anyone can suggest where to buy spare battery? Vpost don't ship battery right?

chewpc

Price is not bad but i got it cheaper from Ebay. Only paid US$285 last year. I think the best deal now is still from HSN. A 335/340 for only US$249 (before discount, there's a 15% discount code which u can use). Shipping within US is US$3.95. Only problem: Need someone in US to get it for u.

Yes, I tried to place an order through HSN, went through successfully, but the next day received a order cancelled email. I tried with various credit cards to re-order, but can't even get through the place order process.

thewiseone

Already replied u, pls see post #3311 :s22:

Just PM glo69 if u need a battery. He'll sent one to u via USPS.

No one bought the Li-ion battery from glo69? I was hoping to get a spare battery for my scooba 380. Anyone can suggest where to buy spare battery? Vpost don't ship battery right?

thewiseone

They will ! Usually after first release, 1+ years down the line, there'll be revision updates. Like the previous Discovery series, 2.1 updates were made sometime in 2006, though the Discovery series was released in end 2004 or early 2005 if i recalled correctly.

chewpc

Already replied u, pls see post #3311 :s22:

Just PM glo69 if u need a battery. He'll sent one to u via USPS.

Opps ... sorry, missed it.

I am thinking of getting from him. I just wonder if it is safe to just paypal him the money before he send the item over and also whether there will be any issue sending battery over here.

Looks like the quality of his battery is good that's why I don't see much complain in the forum, right?

He quoted me USD70 and shipping USD20, I think it is more expensive then the quote I saw in the forum here. But I guess no choice but to buy from him unless there is another source.

Thanks!

sAxman_Returns

I was offered a Roomba 570 (US set, sealed new in box) for S$750. After buying transformer at about S$30, it is S$780. Is this a good buy? How much is it selling for Singapore

somebody at renotalk said he got lobang for $500+, see if his lobang is true or not. :s22:

it's a physical design issue. Nevertheless, you can take out the gearbox and clean up occasionally, nevertheless, based on the dust level in SG, i doubt we would get into that gearbox problem.....

Any starhub bb users here? Are you able to enter hsn site? Mine seems block.
slow, but dun bother, just use eBay lor.

thewiseone

Dont worry he's reliable. Anyhow, anyone else wants to get a Li-Ion battery from him? If there's a couple of orders, i can try to get a better pricing from him.

Opps ... sorry, missed it.

I am thinking of getting from him. I just wonder if it is safe to just paypal him the money before he send the item over and also whether there will be any issue sending battery over here.

Looks like the quality of his battery is good that's why I don't see much complain in the forum, right?

He quoted me USD70 and shipping USD20, I think it is more expensive then the quote I saw in the forum here. But I guess no choice but to buy from him unless there is another source.

Thanks!

XxDrAg0nxX

it's a physical design issue. Nevertheless, you can take out the gearbox and clean up occasionally, nevertheless, based on the dust level in SG, i doubt we would get into that gearbox problem.....

Hmm, you mean our dust level lower than theirs meh? :D

Anyway, I noticed that it was hair / fur like stuff in the video...

I wonder if such a thing can be solved by sloting one of those tiny silicon rings on those rods.?

sAxman_Returns

Hmm, you mean our dust level lower than theirs meh? :D

Anyway, I noticed that it was hair / fur like stuff in the video...

I wonder if such a thing can be solved by sloting one of those tiny silicon rings on those rods.?

pIROBOT1-3966973p275w.jpg

only comes with 5xx series i think......

these are not silicon but hard plastic...if not.....it will become another toy of yours :s22:

hoppie

Dont worry he's reliable. Anyhow, anyone else wants to get a Li-Ion battery from him? If there's a couple of orders, i can try to get a better pricing from him.

Hi bro,

Sorry i am kind of new to this irobot thingy. Why is the 5xx no good? I just came back from Fry's and bought a 560, cost me $318USD all in. They dun sell the command center though.

BTW, i may need some help to do the 110v to 220v conversion. May i know who can do it reliably in Singapore. Thanks

sAxman_Returns

for you to slot the brushes one lor, but I can use my bare fingers to remove the hairs.....

anyway, you can just use a transformers when you're on 240v region. Otherwise, mod it or buy another 240v power supply.

hansolo76sg

i've opened up the PSU and nothing looks broken or burnt. i suppose getting new PSU or the charging base is something to try but will try to avoid this cost if possible.

somehow i have a hunch its not a PSU problem.. i've read scooba's battery has a bad history in oversea forum...

anyway the best is if someone experienced similiar symptom? i dun suppose any scooba owner here can offer some personal time and i bring my scooba over to test with your charger? ;)

Think the mod probably wasnt properly done. Either u bring back the power supply to check or get a new one. Alternatively, u can try ordering an external charging base to see if its not so particular like the Scooba onboard charging circuit.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.