iRobot Scooba experience

ktee

Now ordering from Woot also hv to be super careful. Unless it is a Roomba. :s8: What if they cant find a small box and the next available box is a 2 cubic meter box? Then we doom. :eek:

dankoo

I did enquire to BDX on re-packing. They mentioned they are looking into that for a small fee in future...wonder how small is the fee :p

ktee

A WARNING TO ALL & An Experience To Share

I spent USD89 (incl shipping) for an open boxed roomba 4210 from www.stootsi.com. The thing took longer than scheduled to reach cgw.

I received it, it was an open box set. Despite the warning fr stootsi, however, i prayed on the wording that they put on the e-mail:

...You will occasionally find an item that looks brand
new, or like-new.

I was wrong or damn unlucky. When i finally got chance to clean the dusty fellow last Sunday, this is what i found:

0. The set is super duper old. It has 2 dust sensors, old front wheel, diff big brush, and cld be in the dark basement for ages b4 it was sold to stootsi and bought by an id*** in SG.
1. Spoilt battery - after charging for a long long time, it still can't work - it turned green, but when set to clean - it worked for 2 seconds before the power light turned red. - Put a good batt in & it is ok except below.
2. Broken part (plastic cover) - i used super glue to glue it - no choice.
3. Missing yellow brushing nut. - make the Roomba cannot function properly - even if i put my other good battery in.

2qdbl0p.jpg

I was so mad. At least i thot the batt was ok, but it turned out to be a rotten lemon.:s27:

I e-mailed stootsi and made a mad fuss at them, even this stmt:

"What are you selling that you never even check?! The set was dirty like **** and full of dust and don't know what..." Almost wanted to put AIDS as warned by saxman! :s13:

This time they reacted super fast, perhaps becoz of my opening statement:

"I would like this matter to be directed to and attended by your CEO."

Their reply:

"We are sorry you are having problems with your purchase. As you may already know, we offer a free 14 day no-hassle return policy on Open Box items that we sell. We even pay for return shipping!

I have issued you an RMA for your purchase. Your RMA # is simply your Stootsi Order/Invoice Number."

They sent me an electronic pre-paid UPS label for me to send from Oregon and they wld give me the refund after i send back the full items.

Sadly, it is too costly for me to send it back and I will just put the case behind and move on. Consider spending >USD100 for spare parts.

My lesson learnt:

1. Never buy any open-boxed (used) items from abroad unless i can confirm that it works and from trusted source.
2. Never buy anything from Stootsi. Even if they sell Scooba 340 or 380 for a penny a dozen! :s8:

Lastly, anybody got extra yellow brushing nut (the 1 attached to the larger brush) to sell to me? :( Or anybody want to buy:

1. Charger - unmodded
2. Home base
3. Wall hanger for Roomba
4. Old type of virtual walls
5. Remote control (black) not scheduler

PM me if interested. - try to recover back a little - My lost in SGX is 100x more! :sad:

ktee

woot.com goduster came last week but went to tour. :o

DSCF3449.jpg

Not fair, mosmos. How come u hv more air bags than mine? The only good thing about this air-bag is my son loves to POP them with his feet, hard. :s8:

Sorry to hear bout your experience ktee. At least, this lesson can benefit all of us here about purchasing from stoosi.

Maybe this roomba can be used for spare parts. In case your other roomba's breakdown, u can rip this roomba apart.

ktee

Sorry to hear bout your experience ktee. At least, this lesson can benefit all of us here about purchasing from stoosi.

Maybe this roomba can be used for spare parts. In case your other roomba's breakdown, u can rip this roomba apart.

Thks bro! With a new batt & a yellow brush, it still works. That is a consolation out of this mess that i encountered. Otherwise, time to go ebay to sell the other parts. :s13:

ktee

I juz ordered a Black & decker tyre inflator for my 3 bicycles. It can be used for car tyres too except it is 110v. Hope my transformer hv enough juice to power it. :s11:

The cost is usd48 + free ship to bdx. i signed for prime & get 2 days shipping. =:p

Now the thing is in bdx. Total vol. weight is 4.2kg. Shipping chg to my home is SGD37.

Now, gettin lazier, even pumping tyres also need machine, but i got my wife's endorsement! :s13:

ktee

Wah damn :eek:, the li-on batt fr glo69 or roombaexchange (2 roomba + 1 scooba) is:

*Li-ion Battery Replacement for Roomba$89.99 $179.98 Capacity: - 2800mAh- -
*Li-ion battery replacement for Scooba$94.99 $94.99 Li-ion package: - 3700mAh Battery- - Sub Total:$274.97DeleteShipping Estimate:$54.70

Shippint to sg is about USD19 a piece. Total >sgd400 sure kena gst.

Perhaps get fr vic is cheaper. = usd90x3+usd12+bdx chg (approx. 15usd).

Does bdx ship batteries? :s11:

ktee

went to south africa. :o

goduster is very fun to play with though dust all fly around when you dusting. :crazy:

Tat's why u r MIA for some time? Holiday or work? Damn fun but careful the crime rate v high.

Goduster, u muz be using energizer. Use weaker china made batt (ensure no milk content) and it spins slower like 1 turn, 2 turns, 3 turns... :s13: It becomes my son's new toy liao, albeit more ex than his usual toy!

thewiseone

Think u cant directly compare prices between the 2. Vic's Li-Ion batteries have higher capacities. Roomba's Li-Ion from Vic is 3600mAh, from glo69 and Roombaexchange is 2550mAh. Scooba's from Vic is a huge 4800mAh while glo69's is 3700mAh.

Wah damn :eek:, the li-on batt fr glo69 or roombaexchange (2 roomba + 1 scooba) is:

*Li-ion Battery Replacement for Roomba$89.99 $179.98 Capacity: - 2800mAh- -
*Li-ion battery replacement for Scooba$94.99 $94.99 Li-ion package: - 3700mAh Battery- - Sub Total:$274.97DeleteShipping Estimate:$54.70

Shippint to sg is about USD19 a piece. Total >sgd400 sure kena gst.

Perhaps get fr vic is cheaper. = usd90x3+usd12+bdx chg (approx. 15usd).

Does bdx ship batteries? :s11:

thewiseone

South Africa? Was it nice?

Oh... the Goduster with dust flying is not exactly my idea of dusting... perhaps u should use Goduster followed by Roomba to pick up all the stirred up dust that falls on to the floor. :D

went to south africa. :o

goduster is very fun to play with though dust all fly around when you dusting. :crazy:

ktee

Think u cant directly compare prices between the 2. Vic's Li-Ion batteries have higher capacities. Roomba's Li-Ion from Vic is 3600mAh, from glo69 and Roombaexchange is 2550mAh. Scooba's from Vic is a huge 4800mAh while glo69's is 3700mAh.

Then, gettin fr Vic is more wu hua. Ok, i shall ask him again after i find out who will ship them to my home. Definitely not vpost. :s8: I had a hard time settling with them to ship to my home. After tat, mosmos wont be able to do it despite many attempts.

thewiseone

ktee, suggest u either keep the Roomba for salvaging spares when u need them or break it down into various parts and sell them off as spares.

IMO, avoid buying opened box, refurbished and refurnished units unless u intend to buy the product as a donor for spare parts. Its really not worth the hassle and disappointment for the little savings.

mosmos

Tat's why u r MIA for some time? Holiday or work? Damn fun but careful the crime rate v high.

Goduster, u muz be using energizer. Use weaker china made batt (ensure no milk content) and it spins slower like 1 turn, 2 turns, 3 turns... :s13: It becomes my son's new toy liao, albeit more ex than his usual toy!

:o for travel. crime rate was ok, nvr encounter anything or seen anything dangerous. Felt safe there now.

Lucky i am using rechargable batteries for goduster. Play for a few times still have enough battery. At 1st i thought using rechargable battery no so powerful, spinning was a bt slow.

ktee

ktee, suggest u either keep the Roomba for salvaging spares when u need them or break it down into various parts and sell them off as spares.

IMO, avoid buying opened box, refurbished and refurnished units unless u intend to buy the product as a donor for spare parts. Its really not worth the hassle and disappointment for the little savings.

Ha. My original intention was to use the battery (consider new batt cost 60+) and with 20 more, i get brushes, charger, even a roomba for spare parts.

Sadly, this batt is a lemon. :sad:

So far, remanufacured roomba fr woot, amazon all ok. Except this open-box fr stootsi. :s27:

I am a gambler with no money. :o

mosmos

South Africa? Was it nice?

Oh... the Goduster with dust flying is not exactly my idea of dusting... perhaps u should use Goduster followed by Roomba to pick up all the stirred up dust that falls on to the floor. :D

SA is really quite nice. But my camera spoilt on 1st day, maybe weather cold + dry. :s22: Went to buy a fuji Z20 there, pictures turnout very noisy. :(

:s13: my mum is complaining dust all fly ard the hse.

mosmos

Ha. My original intention was to use the battery (consider new batt cost 60+) and with 20 more, i get brushes, charger, even a roomba for spare parts.

Sadly, this batt is a lemon. :sad:

So far, remanufacured roomba fr woot, amazon all ok. Except this open-box fr stootsi. :s27:

I am a gambler with no money. :o

:s22: next time better buy from more reputable stores.

ktee

Then, gettin fr Vic is more wu hua. Ok, i shall ask him again after i find out who will ship them to my home. Definitely not vpost. :s8: I had a hard time settling with them to ship to my home. After tat, mosmos wont be able to do it despite many attempts.

I juz checked Borderlinx website and there is no mention of battery/lithium in their prohibited article to sg:

http://www.borderlinx.com/citi/sg/en/prohibited.html

Now 2 of my 3 whites are sitting idle. Not productive leh.

Time to make my move now, alas the 7% problem... :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.