iRobot Scooba experience

Hi All,
My roomba starting to give me headaches again. I have a feeling that the sensor on top doesn't seem to work anymore. Roomba doesn't respond to my scheduler remote and ignores my virtual walls :( Anyone know how do i check or even start to fix this?

SleeplessSG

Really need advice:

Roomba 410
from http://store.irobot.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2580729 - I understand there's no self-docking base... but it does come with charger, right? What's the height of this- is it 3.65" Height??? I can't confirm from specs.
According to review http://www.amazon.com/review/R2PCQ3U2Z12OBO/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm , the older models clean better and are shorter, hence am looking at this model. Advisable???

Scooba 5800
from http://store.irobot.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2371402&cp=2804605.3334444.2174932&sr=1 - again no self-docking but does it come with charger? What's the height- is it 3.5" Height? This review http://www.amazon.com/review/R27V85ITJJKDYU/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm is making me very worried. Advisable model?

I'm trying to find something that fits under my lowest cabinet- something not taller than 4.25" Height? Don't need self-docking.
Also what's the difference buying between i-robot.com, amazon.com, and hsn.com?
I'm trying to get US-based friend to order, and hand-carry back.
hsn.com seems to be down often???

I'm planning to hand-carry some Clorox back... anyone advise the best method/ source???

Pls, pls, advise, many thanks in advance!

boluilang

anyone with spoilt roomba, pls don throw away.

can give me? i need some spare part :(

i willing to go ur house and collect.

thanks

mosmos

http://www.lnt.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2192915&cp=&kw=scooba&origkw=scooba&sr=1

scooba selling cheap cheap.:s22:

untitled1.jpg

mosmos

Pls guide me, I'm utterly confused by the models and pricings. Looking for:
1 Roomba for 3 bedrooms apartment, maybe split the work into 2 passes.
1 Scooba for kitchen, living (not bedrooms as the bedroom flooring may be problem).

I'm looking to buy from US, and hand-carry it back to SG, which site which model suitable? Don't need fancy scheduling, just basic switch on before I leave the home and come back to clean floors? The dimensions seem to differ, any models that can go under the 5" H base of my cabinets without getting stuck? Will this gadget knock my light chairs about?

What other spare parts should I buy at the same time, I read about bald brushes, dead batteries and unavailable Clorox?

Thanks in advance!
Which model you like depends on your budget, their basic functions are all the same, except some fancy extras for more expensice model.

scooba is abt 8cm tall and roomba is abt 6cm tall. :o

roomba maybe can push yr light chairs, maybe you can put the chairs on top of table for roomba to clean better.

Maybe you can buy a spare battery and a set of spare brushes.

You don't need clorox for scooba now, you can use plain water add with any cleaning solution. :o

mosmos

Really need advice:

Roomba 410
from http://store.irobot.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2580729 - I understand there's no self-docking base... but it does come with charger, right? What's the height of this- is it 3.65" Height??? I can't confirm from specs.
According to review http://www.amazon.com/review/R2PCQ3U2Z12OBO/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm , the older models clean better and are shorter, hence am looking at this model. Advisable???
It does comes with a power adapter plug to roomba to charge battery, but it will be 110v type, you need to buy a 100w transformer in sg. :o

Not sure abt 5xx series ht, but it should be abt 6cm similar to 4xx model. :o
Scooba 5800
from http://store.irobot.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2371402&cp=2804605.3334444.2174932&sr=1 - again no self-docking but does it come with charger? What's the height- is it 3.5" Height? This review http://www.amazon.com/review/R27V85ITJJKDYU/ref=cm_cr_rdp_perm is making me very worried. Advisable model?
All scooba does not have self-docking.

Yes, it comes with a 110v power adapter which you plug into scooba to charge battery. :o

I'm trying to find something that fits under my lowest cabinet- something not taller than 4.25" Height? Don't need self-docking.
Also what's the difference buying between i-robot.com, amazon.com, and hsn.com?
I'm trying to get US-based friend to order, and hand-carry back.
hsn.com seems to be down often???

I'm planning to hand-carry some Clorox back... anyone advise the best method/ source???

Pls, pls, advise, many thanks in advance!
i-robot.com, amazon.com, and hsn.com - different company sell different price and maybe different accessories included. :o

Heard that raffles city basement got 1 store selling clorox? :s11:

jc777

cheesepie... i bought a $30 transfromer from selffix.... was charging my roomba... after 16 hours ... still fine... then i let the roomba start work... awhile later my wife say the docking no more light.... i set the transformer to lo ( 0 - 50W )....

$30 so laupok ! =( now my adapter fuse kaput..... need to buy need 1.. any1 gt lobang for US Set adapter ?
dont need to change the whole adaptor. the last time i experienced that also and i modded the component inside to work with our power supplier (220-240V) and managed to revive it.

SleeplessSG

Mosmos,
thanks so much for your replies :) , much appreciated! I was having a hard time digesting the info reading from the start of this 300+page thread.

A few more questions- what areas do you Scooba users put Scooba? I'm looking around and realising the parquet flooring is suspect (in sealing), the base of wardrobes, the wooden furniture here and there, the piano, the standing box-type speakers...

Also read somewhere to prolong battery life, charge then remove battery to store in cool dry place. Also 1 cleaning cycle per charge only applies to Scooba and Roomba too?

Anyone used Scooba in toilets? Toilets so small... if 1 cleaning cycle per charge, still ok???

mosmos

Mosmos,
thanks so much for your replies :) , much appreciated! I was having a hard time digesting the info reading from the start of this 300+page thread.

A few more questions- what areas do you Scooba users put Scooba? I'm looking around and realising the parquet flooring is suspect (in sealing), the base of wardrobes, the wooden furniture here and there, the piano, the standing box-type speakers...

Also read somewhere to prolong battery life, charge then remove battery to store in cool dry place. Also 1 cleaning cycle per charge only applies to Scooba and Roomba too?

Anyone used Scooba in toilets? Toilets so small... if 1 cleaning cycle per charge, still ok???

I think you can't use scooba on parquet flooring as scooba may leave a wetter floor than normal mopping.

I mostly use scooba in bedrooms + living rooms. If still got enough battery power will use in balcony and kitchen.

For battery, irobot would have recommended to always switch on.

For me, after charger 3.5hr, i will switch it off. Since i use everyday, battery does not lose many power. :o

I had used in toilet before, but toilet is too small for scooba to move around nicely, since there are toilet bowl and pipes blocking the way.

seowbin

those who are interested to get chop

there's a booth in sitex area... go and take a look :D

Evilmerlin

I've been eyeing the Rhoomba 560 for quite sometime and I've got some questions about it.

I'm staying in a HDB jumbo (those 3 and 4 room combine type). Is it possible to make the 560 clean certain sections of the house through out the week? Like say clean 2 rooms on monday then the another 2 rooms on tuesday etc etc such that it'll cover the entire house over the week. I'm pretty sure the 560 doesn't have enough power to cover the entire house in one charge.

Is it smart enough to return for charging on its own or will it run till its flat?

mosmos

Am apprehensive... impulsively placed order via Google checkout for Roomba415 from Linens 'n Things- http://www.lnt.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2762396&cp=1331608.2585776.3004431&parentPage=family

Using Vpost... local Visa... will it go through? What kind of Vpost postage am I looking at?

:s11: how much did you pay?

I saw the link the price now is $115. :eek:

Whether the order will go thru' depends on merchant lor, some accept overseas card while some don't. :s22:

Vpost will bill you when the box reach their USA address, then you will know the price. Remember to apply their discount code when vpost billing, uob now giving 20% discount. :o

usually it will cost abt $50-60 for roomba. :o

mosmos

I've been eyeing the Rhoomba 560 for quite sometime and I've got some questions about it.

I'm staying in a HDB jumbo (those 3 and 4 room combine type). Is it possible to make the 560 clean certain sections of the house through out the week? Like say clean 2 rooms on monday then the another 2 rooms on tuesday etc etc such that it'll cover the entire house over the week. I'm pretty sure the 560 doesn't have enough power to cover the entire house in one charge.

Is it smart enough to return for charging on its own or will it run till its flat?

then you can use virtual wall. :o

some days set to virtual wall while some days use lighthouse lor.

I am not sure how big is your hse, but for 2 flat combine, i guess it will not have enough power to clean 2 hse. :s22:

Yes, 560 can return back to charge automatically, but that's also depends on yr location of the housebase. :o

SleeplessSG

:s11: how much did you pay?

I saw the link the price now is $115. :eek:
This price but abit more expensive via Google checkout. Is that expression good or bad... oh no, don't tell me I got carrot-chop?
Not confirmed order, it's in "process" leh.

Roomba 415 is ok model? I don't need lighthouses or virtual walls or self-docking, just something easy to handle.

Any good deals for Scooba?

SleeplessSG

I just read that LNT blacklisted Vpost address (somewhere in the middle of this lengthy thread I'm trying to read through). But my status from LNT is "shipped", with UPS Tracking Code. Does this mean my order went through? They suddenly took Vpost off blacklist now that they're closing???

mingming2

hi

Ordered a Roomba 530 from LNT yesterday using Google Checkout as well. Latest status show credit card charged, and shipped out today via UPS to vpost in Oregon. From past buying experience, it means the order should go through liao.

vpost seems to be cheaper as compare to borderlinx due to uob discounts, and Vpost Oregon does not impose sales tax (impt to check).

awaiting order at vpost patiently, and pray the volumetric weight is not too big ....

regards

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.