iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

was checking out scooba battery and this is what i read from a review at irobot.com

I read all these negative reviews on the battery dying quickly and want to give my advice. My battery is 3yrs old; I use my scooba 4 tankfuls each week and the battery still keeps a charge to clean a full tank on a single charge. My secret is I don't leave the battery in the scooba charging all the time. I charge my battery just before I use it and remove it from the charger/scooba until I use it. Because the battery will self discharge slowly, I don't recharge immediately after use and I use the battery immediately or within 3hrs of being fully charged. Even the constant tiny trickle charge will overcharge the battery, which is the number 1 reason the battery dies so quickly. I know the instruction says to leave it on the charger for best battery life but I think it overcharges the battery. My 3 yr old battery is proof my method works. My battery is still wearing out since I use to get over 2 full tanks of cleaning but at least it still cleans a tankful unlike many people's battery who report only 10 minutes after 8 months.

I use this same principle on all my rechargeable batteries and get same results. I have a 4yr old electric-start self propelled lawn mower battery, 5yr old rechargeable AA, AAA, C, D batteries, 3yr drill batteries -- all going strong.

no diff, I only charge roomba/scooba battery for 3.5hr using timer plug. Battery still die within 1year. :(

But i notice the li-ion battery still last quite long, hope it still last.

Jubooo

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-iRobot-Scoo...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item1e59ea1667

anyone bought from this seller before. thnaks!

tekster
where r u making that payment first. then easier to tell u

I bought a modified 240V scooba charger from from Fishisfast before. The charger works wonder for 2-3 months and the LED never light up triggling the service light on scooba. Happen to saw on roombariview another guy also facing the same issue but he's lucky to get it changed. I never change as it is expensive to ship back.

Thanks to him I began to research on this charger and now able to mod and repair both roomba and scooba charger myself :)

tekster

tekster
where r u making that payment first. then easier to tell u

tried to purchase from woot.com le. but the billing address for credit card can't be used. cause it only limited to purchase in USA.

Jubooo

no diff, I only charge roomba/scooba battery for 3.5hr using timer plug. Battery still die within 1year. :(

But i notice the li-ion battery still last quite long, hope it still last.

You bought thr li-on battery from RR?

Laneige

I bought a modified 240V scooba charger from from Fishisfast before. The charger works wonder for 2-3 months and the LED never light up triggling the service light on scooba. Happen to saw on roombariview another guy also facing the same issue but he's lucky to get it changed. I never change as it is expensive to ship back.

Thanks to him I began to research on this charger and now able to mod and repair both roomba and scooba charger myself :)

OHHHHHH. **** so FIshisfast is fishisboreng lor. :look:

what is RR. Thanks!

mosmos
what is timer plug. is it those that set timer n close the battery after 3.5hr :s11:. have u see if yr battery is fully charged at 3.5hr ... i see mine like sometimes 3hrs+ still not done charging using the external charger

tekster
woot cant help but if they use paypal u can use paypal to pay instead.

Jubooo

what is RR. Thanks!

Roomba/Robot Review. I won't comment on his ability, that could be some bad fishes. Even iRobot sometimes sells problemmatic robots. QC cannot be 100%.

what is timer plug. is it those that set timer n close the battery after 3.5hr :s11:. have u see if yr battery is fully charged at 3.5hr ... i see mine like sometimes 3hrs+ still not done charging using the external charger

It's just some timer that cuts off yr electricity when the countdown is up to prevent overcharging. If you uses the 300 series Scooba to charge, you dun have to worry about overcharging. If you have a 5xxx or using external charger then you have to monitor unless yr 5xxx Scooba's firmware is updated.

Jubooo

but those are smaller in cleaning size right. :s11:

335 cleans 500 sq feet & 340 is the same as 380 but the price is going north so it's quite ex for 340 too. 380 is overkill. Just get 330 and buy another set of battery you can achieve more cleaning area.

500 or 850 sq feet, you still have to empty Scooba's tank every 45-55 mins so IMO it's like cleaning the same area. Dunno how iRobot can achieve a bigger cleaning area with the same amount of time? Maybe 380's batteries last longer with more mAh? Or maybe 380 runs faster? I dun see any difference with my 340 claiming a cleaning area of 850 sq feet.

Laneige

Roomba/Robot Review. I won't comment on his ability, that could be some bad fishes. Even iRobot sometimes sells problemmatic robots. QC cannot be 100%.

It's just some timer that cuts off yr electricity when the countdown is up to prevent overcharging. If you uses the 300 series Scooba to charge, you dun have to worry about overcharging. If you have a 5xxx or using external charger then you have to monitor unless yr 5xxx Scooba's firmware is updated.

LOL bad fishes. hehe. Ok i will go n read up in details abt 330 or 335 then. I always thought that it cover smaller size after i see the infor pop up box from irobot.com compared to 380.

How do i check if my firmware is updated. 5xxx is referring to what item etc. i only know my scooba should be made on 2009 aug n july. all along i thought external charger no issue compared to direct charging to scooba. Ohhh ohh :s27:

i know i must remove battery from scooba n charger once the mission (or charging) is completed. but i never expect must be so accurate on charging that lousy battery.

mosmos

what is RR. Thanks!

mosmos

tekster
woot cant help but if they use paypal u can use paypal to pay instead.

timer plug is this type, can get less than $10 in supermarket. I get mini timer plug from giant, 2 for $15. :o

my scooba + roomba 4xx series battery will be fully charged in less than 3hrs, so I play safe set it to 3.5hr :o

You just set accordingly to your usage. :o

timer.jpg

Jubooo

How do i check if my firmware is updated. 5xxx is referring to what item etc. i only know my scooba should be made on 2009 aug n july. all along i thought external charger no issue compared to direct charging to scooba. Ohhh ohh :s27:

Scooba 5800/5900. However not all 5xxx series are affected, only certain batches before certain date but I'm not sure about the date and the one you mention. S330 belongs to 5800 also but confirm 300 series got no issue.

croc1977

335 cleans 500 sq feet & 340 is the same as 380 but the price is going north so it's quite ex for 340 too. 380 is overkill. Just get 330 and buy another set of battery you can achieve more cleaning area.

500 or 850 sq feet, you still have to empty Scooba's tank every 45-55 mins so IMO it's like cleaning the same area. Dunno how iRobot can achieve a bigger cleaning area with the same amount of time? Maybe 380's batteries last longer with more mAh? Or maybe 380 runs faster? I dun see any difference with my 340 claiming a cleaning area of 850 sq feet.
Just last week i bot from another former guy Scooba battery for S$100

Compare against original Scooba Battery another 20-30 min more.

So i can mop my house within 2 1/2 hour rather than 6-7 hours cos i have to wait for the battery charge full again then i go round 2...

reliabitly of battey unknown but look promising,,,

croc1977

timer plug is this type, can get less than $10 in supermarket. I get mini timer plug from giant, 2 for $15. :o

my scooba + roomba 4xx series battery will be fully charged in less than 3hrs, so I play safe set it to 3.5hr :o

You just set accordingly to your usage. :o

timer.jpg
so should we charge 24/7 for our roomba/scooba or ?

what is the correct way?

mosmos

Just last week i bot from another former guy Scooba battery for S$100

Compare against original Scooba Battery another 20-30 min more.

So i can mop my house within 2 1/2 hour rather than 6-7 hours cos i have to wait for the battery charge full again then i go round 2...

reliabitly of battey unknown but look promising,,,

your scooba battery is li-ion one? :s11:

looks cheap leh. :eek:

mosmos

so should we charge 24/7 for our roomba/scooba or ?

what is the correct way?

I never charge more than 3.5hr for all my batteries. :o

But according to their manual book, they should be switch on 24/7. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.