iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

bakasa2002 said:
mosmos, i don't hv the scooba batt. Also, so far after 2 days of usage, quiet freq abt 4-5 times for the entire hse, there's no rattling noise. Is it a reported issue?

Only problem is like mentioned in roombareview, the packing by HSN sucks .... but enuff straoform to protect the roomba lah ... just not tape and secure properly.

ktee, thanks for the heads up. Realise the batt for roomba only wk for 4th gen roomba and earlier, do let me know if you guys wanna get, will sell for cheaper than gk e remaining ones, once my fren confirm the no. of batt he needs. :)
:o wah nice to hear you got an improved unit.

I think roombareview still talking abt the rattling noise, getting their brush replaced.

mosmos

ktee said:
no lah, juz tat the batt can last bout 1 year n in a few months (4 or 5) times, we need to start to look for new batt loh... =:p kiasu a bit loh.
:o that time then buy lor.

if keep new battery for so long, wonder will it leak inside or fail to charge later? :s11:

bakasa2002

yeap, it's a bit quieter than the previous generation and the sensor to get roomba to slow down when approaching walls and hard objects is quite cool. It doesn't bang into my wooden furniture and leave any damage.

I am waiting for more accessories for the 5th gen roomba to b available and prices appear to be quiet high for now. Having new unit also equals to being like a trial user. Just hope that it doesn't give me problem ....

Btw, I am really excited cos' my floor has never felt squeaking clean b4. Guess I am a convert on what this new toy can do .... Might start planning for a Scooba soon ... I guess I m getting lazier ... haha ...

ktee

bakasa2002 said:
yeap, it's a bit quieter than the previous generation and the sensor to get roomba to slow down when approaching walls and hard objects is quite cool. It doesn't bang into my wooden furniture and leave any damage.

I am waiting for more accessories for the 5th gen roomba to b available and prices appear to be quiet high for now. Having new unit also equals to being like a trial user. Just hope that it doesn't give me problem ....

Btw, I am really excited cos' my floor has never felt squeaking clean b4. Guess I am a convert on what this new toy can do .... Might start planning for a Scooba soon ... I guess I m getting lazier ... haha ...

You will be even more amaze at wat a scooba can do! I confess i hv a discrimination! :evil: I luv my scooba more than my roomba as it is messy to clean the roomba n the suction is not tat good as compared to normal vac. However, tis is understood as it runs on battery.

aeng

anyone has experience using Scooba on laminate floors?

most laminate floors are sensitive to water and if any standing water is left on it for some time, the boards may swell up and pop.

I was thinking of a Scooba to do the mopping on my laminate floor but dunno if it's really advisable or not.

mosmos

aeng said:

most laminate floors are sensitive to water and if any standing water is left on it for some time, the boards may swell up and pop.

I was thinking of a Scooba to do the mopping on my laminate floor but dunno if it's really advisable or not.
:o I am not sure abt yr type of floor. Just take note that scooba mopping will be wetter than self-mopping.

kangkeng

aeng said:

I've been using my Scooba on laminate flooring for a couple of weeks now. Generally, it seems to leave the floor a little wetter than a normal mopping. I've been using a mop on the floor for years, so I'd guess it's okay.

My experience. You take your own chances :)

bakasa2002

Hi there, anyone shipped their scooba over using VPost lately? How much did you pay, can share the cost with me? I think will kana GST also right?

I know this is a silly question, but I think going thru Vpost shd be cheaper than USPS, UPS or Fedex right?

mosmos

Vpost charges after 10-12% discount~

Scooba 380 :(

o0z1ie.jpg

Scooba 5800

nq65n6.jpg

bakasa2002

Thanks Mosmos, I presume your 380 is for 2 pieces? Don't tell me 1 pcs weight 12.4kg? Can I check with you what is CIF?

Also, for your 3800 which I think cost than less than 400SGD, there won't be any GST charges by Vpost?

Also, can I safely say that using Vpost is definitely cheaper than USPS and UPS, etc?

thewiseone

Dont count on it, it could be likely 1 unit only. Chargeable weight means the higher of the 2 weights, actual weight and volumetric weight. If u have a package which is dimensionally large but light weighted, its possible that it'll have a volumetric weight significantly higher than its actual weight. Check VPost website on the calculation for volumetric weight. To ship one piece of Scooba using USPS, should be around US$72. It'll be a MUCH QUICKER using USPS.

bakasa2002 said:
Thanks Mosmos, I presume your 380 is for 2 pieces? Don't tell me 1 pcs weight 12.4kg? Can I check with you what is CIF?

Also, for your 3800 which I think cost than less than 400SGD, there won't be any GST charges by Vpost?

Also, can I safely say that using Vpost is definitely cheaper than USPS and UPS, etc?

mosmos

bakasa2002 said:

380 is one unit only. The 380 box is bigger than 5800 one. :sad:

I am not sure what is CIF also. You mention then I notice now. :s22:

Yah, for 5800, there is no GST charge, below 400SGD mah.

I had learn a thing. You can anyhow declare yr value using performa invoice.

carey

Just received word that my Roomba and Scoba are here :)

Going to rush home soon to catch the delivery man...

Then it's a long 16-hour wait before I can use them :(

mosmos

carey said:
Just received word that my Roomba and Scoba are here :)

Going to rush home soon to catch the delivery man...

Then it's a long 16-hour wait before I can use them :(
:s7:

how's the vpost delivery charges for the 2 items?

carey

mosmos said:
:s7:

how's the vpost delivery charges for the 2 items?

It's S$160 if I remember correctly, inclusive of the 7% GST charge that they collected for the gahmen

mosmos

carey said:
It's S$160 if I remember correctly, inclusive of the 7% GST charge that they collected for the gahmen
:sad: how come my 380 only so expensive?

mosmos

my woot.com roomba arrived just now.:s7: It for my grandma.

using my sister comgateway, still have not received the delivery charges yet. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.