iRobot Scooba experience

p3c_sgd

That time i went to courts to check out the roomba. That salesman told me the scheduler is better than discovery and discovery better than sage. All different. He tried so hard to push the scheduler to me...while i was just looking at the red color roomba (i think it is sage)...hmmm...Lucky i did not buy from them. So ex somemore.

Probably I get a sage plus homebase...that will be cheaper. I don't want to spend too much this time...sometimes i think back of my scooba paid at $1200, feel like kena cheated. This price can buy two from USA...

The scooba is very good. It really clean the floor. However, the clorox is an issue. I have been using plain water..unless you want to try kiwi...as mentioned by mozzilla...I don't want risk my scooba...$1200 leh. Since I have the scooba, my wife damn lazy...let the scooba do the work and nag at me most of the time hahhaha...

I guess its hard to find an honest salesman nowadays hehe. In a way he's right though.. but its just a matter of adding accesories to upgrade your unit. But I rather get the lower unit first.. then later if want upgrade just add-on the accesories hehe.. unless got major price difference :)

Dun feel too bad bout the scooba lah.. think of it as u bought 1 yr warranty on it for that price.. imagine if u didn't have warranty.. and something went wrong.

Sounds like the scooba is a good investment. I might just get one too hehe. Want to see if the clorox really does have a big difference. I thought water could be fine if there is not much oil on the floor.

ronnie

whypurplishblue said:
I have to wait till they have stock again. Definately will get one. Kinda miss having that little thing roaming around the house hehe.

You could buy accesories to add on the sage to "upgrade it. You could do this:
Sage + Home base = Discovery
Sage + Home base + scheduler upgrade = Scheduler
Discovery + scheduler upgrade = Scheduler

Something like that :s8: Thats what they explained to me. So I guess its up to you what you want to do. I think the diference between the discovery and the sage is that the discovery has a four buttons. sage only has 3 i think.

I'm actually considering to get a scooba. How is your scooba doing? does it clean well?

Actually, the sage also has 4 buttons and most sage you get now from the US do come with the home base.

oh, I always thought sage was an entry model and doesn't come with home base unless you purchase it as an accessory.

thewiseone

Sage was never an entry model. Some promotion or retailers may just package an additional home base with it. The Roomba Red was supposedly the entry model but thats now taken over by the Roomba 400. Value-4-money, usually what you can do is to purchase a Roomba Red and a scheduler upgrade kit (consists of fast charger, home base, scheduler remote and a virtual wall w/ scheduling). Thats usually least $$$ spent with less redundant accessories.

whypurplishblue said:
oh, I always thought sage was an entry model and doesn't come with home base unless you purchase it as an accessory.

I just got the impression that sage replaced the roomba red. Do you know what are the differences between the sage and red or roomba 400?

dankoo

Wow...happy to see this thread is alive and without interference

I have been using the scheduler and I would say that it is cleaning pretty well...I normally schedule it to clean my living only as I am also in a exec flat and my living area is quite big and long. My concern is getting replacement batt now...I have emailed GK and will wait for their reply to see if they carry these accessories.

p3c_sgd

I called GK to return the demo unit. They told me this

roomba 4150 - No home base
roomba 4110 - with home base
roomba 4100 (aka red roomba) - no home base, 7hr charger (not 3 hr)

I asked why there is so many different models, they said irobot cater for diff budget and needs...anyway, i just buy the 4150 or 4110. I think home base is good...but scheduler not that useful to me.

thewiseone

Sage has additional max clean button. Sage comes with fast charger, Red normal 7hr charger. Sage has 1 filter, Red has 1 additional filter. To know more, simply visit www.irobot.com and go to their online store. Details all there. :)

whypurplishblue said:
I just got the impression that sage replaced the roomba red. Do you know what are the differences between the sage and red or roomba 400?

thewiseone

Dont need to wait. U can get some decent deals at amazon and ebay for the batteries.

dankoo said:

I have been using the scheduler and I would say that it is cleaning pretty well...I normally schedule it to clean my living only as I am also in a exec flat and my living area is quite big and long. My concern is getting replacement batt now...I have emailed GK and will wait for their reply to see if they carry these accessories.

thewiseone said:
Sage has additional max clean button. Sage comes with fast charger, Red normal 7hr charger. Sage has 1 filter, Red has 1 additional filter. To know more, simply visit www.irobot.com and go to their online store. Details all there. :)

dankoo said:

How long have you been using your scheduler? and how is the battery life so far? Wondering how long before the battery will die out. If your electronic savvy, I've read in roombareview that you can replace the cells in your roomba battery with C size rechargeble batteries. But involves a bit of soldering work.

thewiseone

Its actually 12pcs of 1.2V 3000mAh rechargeable NiMh Sub C cells. You can simply purchase replacement battery poles on ebay. Some are kit-out with the necessary contact pins, 70C thermistor, etc. so all u need to do is pry open the battery case and perform a 1-1 swap.

whypurplishblue said:
How long have you been using your scheduler? and how is the battery life so far? Wondering how long before the battery will die out. If your electronic savvy, I've read in roombareview that you can replace the cells in your roomba battery with C size rechargeble batteries. But involves a bit of soldering work.

dankoo

whypurplishblue said:

Been using for 4 mths...so far batt is still strong..will keep going for 1.5-2hrs. ...just want to have one as backup. shall look into the DIY method. Thanks!

dankoo said:
Been using for 4 mths...so far batt is still strong..will keep going for 1.5-2hrs. ...just want to have one as backup. shall look into the DIY method. Thanks!

Thats good to hear.. Looks like its still in peak performance hehe.. Anyone here have a roomba for over a year yet?

thewiseone

Unfortunately due to the high temp associated, its not going to last for long. You'll notice the battery will start losing its performance at about the 10th month period (especially if its used daily). :s22:

dankoo said:

dankoo

I use it daily and I presumed that it will die off coming to a year usage too. Checked the link on DIY batt...erm..though I was a electronic student yrs back...I have given back all as I was not in the industry...so it is too "Chim" for me...I wonder are we able to get the cells locally too....

p3c_sgd

I just ordered a sage from gk. Collect this Friday. One question. Do you guys let the battery charge 24hrs without interruption? GK said must leave it on 24 hrs so that the battery will remain in good condition. I wonder how much electricity will be used for 24 hrs charging...anybody knows? I meant how much in terms of dollars to be used for charging... :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.