iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

naxchua said:
mosmos~ chiu ish wierd wor... i thot people sweep and vacuum more often than mop?

if i wan to buy roomba 1st then buy scooba next year, where do u guys recommend i get my roomba from 1st?

i tried to read from page 58 to the last page, it's a bit confusing for me... :(
:o my hse not dirty mah, just some hairs or dry leaves fm balcony, so scooba can do most of the job. Including mopping the sticky floors.

which roomba are you planning to get? New 5xx series or older roomba models?

For older roomba models, you can try getting from woot.com or buy.com which cost abt usd$130-140.

For newer roomba models or scooba, you can get from hsn.com , 535 cost usd$250 and 335 cost usd$220. But I am not so sure abt ordering fm hsn.com with sg credit card.

naxchua

mosmos said:
:o my hse not dirty mah, just some hairs or dry leaves fm balcony, so scooba can do most of the job. Including mopping the sticky floors.

which roomba are you planning to get? New 5xx series or older roomba models?

For older roomba models, you can try getting from woot.com or buy.com which cost abt usd$130-140.

For newer roomba models or scooba, you can get from hsn.com , 535 cost usd$250 and 335 cost usd$220. But I am not so sure abt ordering fm hsn.com with sg credit card.

i m living in HDB 3rd floor... and becos my room window is facing the car park, my rooms and living room are very dusty and hairs... so seeing the picture u all post seems good... so i considering to get one for Xmas... hahaha... relieve some household chores for my mum...

which model do u recommend? i m pure idiot in understanding between the new models and old models... i dun mind remanufactured...

sneezybum

mosmos said:
:o it all depends how you want to clean the hse.

roomba is for sweep + vacuum

scooba is very little vacuum (eg sand/hair) + mop

For me, i use my scooba everyday, but roomba maybe 1-2 times a wk. :s22:

I am opposite of u. I use my roomba everyday, but only use my scooba about 3-4 times per week

mosmos

naxchua said:
i m living in HDB 3rd floor... and becos my room window is facing the car park, my rooms and living room are very dusty and hairs... so seeing the picture u all post seems good... so i considering to get one for Xmas... hahaha... relieve some household chores for my mum...

which model do u recommend? i m pure idiot in understanding between the new models and old models... i dun mind remanufactured...
:s22: what's yr budget?

roomba has a lot of different models. some have lighthouse, scheduler , etc

mosmos

sneezybum said:
I am opposite of u. I use my roomba everyday, but only use my scooba about 3-4 times per week
my nephews come to my hse daily during day time, run here and roll there, so floor is always sticky. Even without scooba last time, my mum would have mop the floor daily. :s22:

scooba really save the day now :s13:

naxchua

mosmos said:
:s22: what's yr budget?

roomba has a lot of different models. some have lighthouse, scheduler , etc

wah~~ around $400 can ship one to singapore boh? hehehe... this roomba will depend on my bonus liao~~ hehehe...

mosmos

naxchua said:
wah~~ around $400 can ship one to singapore boh? hehehe... this roomba will depend on my bonus liao~~ hehehe...
shipping would cost abt sgd$50 by vpost or comgateway (slightly cheaper).

for your budget, I guess you can get roomba discovery usd$130. I think 535 might be a little over sgd$400. :s22:

naxchua

mosmos said:
shipping would cost abt sgd$50 by vpost or comgateway (slightly cheaper).

for your budget, I guess you can get roomba discovery usd$130. I think 535 might be a little over sgd$400. :s22:

oh okay... so meaning if $500 budget should be able to get the 535? hmm... okay... i will check with u again when my bonus is released... hehehe...

discovery and 535 got any big difference? cos i onli get to see 535 demo video... and it's good that it can climb over wires... as my room inside got plenty of wires across the room... :D

mosmos

naxchua said:
oh okay... so meaning if $500 budget should be able to get the 535? hmm... okay... i will check with u again when my bonus is released... hehehe...

discovery and 535 got any big difference? cos i onli get to see 535 demo video... and it's good that it can climb over wires... as my room inside got plenty of wires across the room... :D
hsn.com 535 website below,
http://home-solutions.hsn.com/irobo...bot_p-3675181_xp.aspx?web_id=3675181&ocm=sekw

actually not much of a difference, 535 has the lighthouse function and ability to schedule if you extra purchase a wireless command. Other than that would be roughly the same, maybe 535 slightly better in cleaning and bumping.

roomba discovery can also climb over the wires, but i think better don't let both roomba to climb, might eat your cables if is soft and thin. :crazy:

molecule

naxchua said:

Some wires, not all the time. My 535 roomba got stuck once in a bunch of wires so not 100%.

naxchua

mosmos said:
http://home-solutions.hsn.com/irobo...bot_p-3675181_xp.aspx?web_id=3675181&ocm=sekw

actually not much of a difference, 535 has the lighthouse function and ability to schedule if you extra purchase a wireless command. Other than that would be roughly the same, maybe 535 slightly better in cleaning and bumping.

roomba discovery can also climb over the wires, but i think better don't let both roomba to climb, might eat your cables if is soft and thin. :crazy:

hmm... this pricing sounds good leh... US$250 x 1.6(based on Highest Currency Exchange rate) = SGD$400 + SGD$50 delivery to SG...

hmm... my cables are most RJ45 and power cords... should be okay... if this case, i will work my way for 535... :D

how come no one do MO? hehehe...

mosmos

naxchua said:
hmm... this pricing sounds good leh... US$250 x 1.6(based on Highest Currency Exchange rate) = SGD$400 + SGD$50 delivery to SG...

hmm... my cables are most RJ45 and power cords... should be okay... if this case, i will work my way for 535... :D

how come no one do MO? hehehe...
:o there was a MO by qishan last wk for woot.com $99.99 remanufactured scooba.

naxchua

mosmos said:
:o there was a MO by qishan last wk for woot.com $99.99 remanufactured scooba.

:s31: :s31:

sad.... then bo pian liao lor... guess i need to get from HSN... :(

vee4044

mosmos said:
http://home-solutions.hsn.com/irobot-roomba-vacuum-cleaning-robot_p-3675181_xp.aspx?web_id=3675181&ocm=sekw

But it look solid n nice, the most i like it running so silent, I saw in vivocity BEST, selling $700+ , like it so much, mosmos pls keep me update for woot.com selling tis 535. Thank U you !!!!

mosmos

vee4044 said:
But it look solid n nice, the most i like it running so silent, I saw in vivocity BEST, selling $700+ , like it so much, mosmos pls keep me update for woot.com selling tis 535. Thank U you !!!!
wah BEST already selling the lastest model. Our local dist used to be selling very old models in the past :s22:

:o woot.com seldom sell lastest products, maybe have to wait for quite a while.

thewiseone

Its not exactly BEST thats selling the latest model, its the gentleman from our local iRobot distributor who set up a stand selling it. When he's not around, u wont find a single unit @ Best Vivocity.

mosmos said:
wah BEST already selling the lastest model. Our local dist used to be selling very old models in the past :s22:

:o woot.com seldom sell lastest products, maybe have to wait for quite a while.

mosmos

thewiseone said:
Its not exactly BEST thats selling the latest model, its the gentleman from our local iRobot distributor who set up a stand selling it. When he's not around, u wont find a single unit @ Best Vivocity.
:s22: then courts one also?

molecule

vee4044 said:

actually the one that is sold by local dist is 530 model not 535.

bakasa2002

molecule said:
actually the one that is sold by local dist is 530 model not 535.
yeap, it shd be 530 selling at $688. 535 will most likely nt make it to woot anytime soon as mosmos said as it's suppose to be an exclusive HSN model. I tried ordering with HSN b4 using sg cc but it doesnt accept.

So naxchua, if u getting, hv to get it either thru US fren or concerige svc of vpost or cgw. btw, your calculations of $400+50, didn't include gst i suppose, so do add that in too. :)

mosmos, got a question for u. u using scooby 380 right? Hw big is ur plc? How many times u need to chg water? considering whether a 5800 is suffice for my plc. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.