iRobot Scooba experience

alanseah

oh sianz.....should have bought earlier...now so ex..haizzzz :s31: :s22:
just wondering if the units happened to be faulty...what to do?

Can I know how much were your shipping charges too? ;)
Thanks

Well if the unit come faulty then too bad.... just bad luck..have to call irobot talk to them and then ship the unit back to them for a replacement.

mosmos

anyone knows if there are discount for irobots on woot.com now? i cant seem to search any....the website interface is confusing...

also are these robots new? where does woot.com get the robots?

woot.com only have 1 product on sale per day. :o

so have to check everyday for the offer.

silversurfer

oh sianz.....should have bought earlier...now so ex..haizzzz :s31: :s22:
just wondering if the units happened to be faulty...what to do?

Can I know how much were your shipping charges too? ;)
Thanks

Total shipping charges is USD$100.50. total weight is 29kg (volumeteric weight).

taligence

Yay!!:s12:

I managed to revive my blown Scooba charger by replacing the C1, a blown fuse and removing varistor RV1. Now the juice is flowing again.

I did the same to my roomba power suppler/charger. Whoopee!

Bye bye step down transformers!!:s8:

Last nite while charging my scooba (first charge) my 70Watt transformer overheated and the thermal cut off did not kick in which resulted in a blown Scooba power supply/charger. model 13143 for scooba 5990

I just opened the scooba charger and indeed there were burnt marks and blown bits. The whole PCB had become oily (yellow colour oil).

On closer inspection, discovered that varistor RV1 was blown open and F1 was blown to bits (nothing left except legs). The cap of F1 says T3.15A 250V. Is F1 a capacitor?

I am not electronics trained but hv picked up a bit of soldering skills over the years. I would be most grateful if someone here could tell me if the charger is still savageable.

Can I just replaced the blown components and modify the C1 and RV1 to get it working again.

If not, does anyone know if I can buy/replace the charger here?

Many thanks and regards

destin

hmmm

Well if the unit come faulty then too bad.... just bad luck..have to call irobot talk to them and then ship the unit back to them for a replacement.

hmm the most impt thing is...who pays for the shipping charges? :s31:
if we have to pay... it is not worth it...

alanseah

Well depending on where you brought it and how you ship it. If you have it ship internationally then you can ask for full shippment payment for exchange.

But if you use vpost or cgw then you have to ship it back yourself.

Well if you find all these too risky then we still have the local irobot where you can pay thousand to get the latest model and still got 1 yr warranty.

It's your choice. For me I rather take the risk and ship it in, well too bad for the local irobot since they r not doing anything to keep their local market so we have to look elsewhere...

hq83

for new models they need u to ship back the faulty set.
for old model those discovery se etc, now they dun need u to ship back anymore. they will ask u to dispose away the faulty set.

for the replacement set, they only do free shiping in US.
to vpost or cgw.
den u need to pay vpost/cgw to ship it back to singapore.

dankoo

Was toying with the idea of going thru my own forwarder....will it work? They still need your CC billing address to be same as ship address is it?

I can get quite a low rate from US to SGP.

alanseah

for new models they need u to ship back the faulty set.
for old model those discovery se etc, now they dun need u to ship back anymore. they will ask u to dispose away the faulty set.

for the replacement set, they only do free shiping in US.
to vpost or cgw.
den u need to pay vpost/cgw to ship it back to singapore.

really that will be great. I got a discovery still under warranty and now start to act strangely. So time to log a ticket and get a new replacement.

hq83

really that will be great. I got a discovery still under warranty and now start to act strangely. So time to log a ticket and get a new replacement.
my replacement still with UPS in US..
should reach vpost tomorrow..

sAxman_Returns

i still haven't got mine shipped.....that gundoo who sold me forgot to put in my vpost number even after I told him at least 3 times......sianz....

alanseah

brought a newstar 300w today so that can power my coming 2 roomba...

still awaiting for irobot to reply my email. But I dont think want to wait for the reply. Will call them later..

alanseah

I just called irobot and they will be shippment in my a new roomba discovery for me... And I had given them the CGW address...

But from the comgateway address it sound abit funny lei...
13822 NE Airport Way
Suite SGD-GWR
Portland
OREGON 97230

Suit SGD-GWR is that a correct CGW address???

destin

part time maid

Thanks Alan and hq83...I am still deeply considering...cos total my bill will add up to Singapore $1350 to get the both roomba and scooba....really ex leh..... regret nvr buy earlier....

Can I check with you guys whether is it a must to modify the power adaptor? I read in the forum previously that we have to modify and cant use 220V to 110 V transformer as it will spoil the irobot self charging circuit.....

Where can we modify?Any contacts? And how much it will cost? haizz......$$ fly away again liao lor...........

My wife has been bugging me everyday to buy leh...sianzz... duno if i should hire part time maid better... :look:

alanseah

Thanks Alan and hq83...I am still deeply considering...cos total my bill will add up to Singapore $1350 to get the both roomba and scooba....really ex leh..... regret nvr buy earlier....

Can I check with you guys whether is it a must to modify the power adaptor? I read in the forum previously that we have to modify and cant use 220V to 110 V transformer as it will spoil the irobot self charging circuit.....

Where can we modify?Any contacts? And how much it will cost? haizz......$$ fly away again liao lor...........

My wife has been bugging me everyday to buy leh...sianzz... duno if i should hire part time maid better... :look:

Hi Destin

Well some of us here never modify adaptor and still never have any problem. Just a thumb of rule is to buy those step down of higher watt then required. And you should be save enough.

E.g. I will go for 150W newstar stepdown to support a single robot. well actually you dont need a 150w but for me I rather play safe then be sorry.

Lastly do go to roombaexchange.com to find parts or guide to teach you how to tear apart your roomba for maintanence cause no matter how you clean your roomba, if you dont tear it apart to have a real cleaning your roomba will go abnormal within a few months.

hq83

i did not modify the adaptor.
using a newstar 150w for a discovery se.
its on 24/7

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.