iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

thewiseone said:
mosmos, which Scooba model do u own? U bought the charging base separately? Any noticeable wear on the driving wheels and front wheel so far?
380 and 5800. :o

380 has the charging base included.

my 380 driving wheel wear off in abt 1mth+, then 380 move very clumpsy, always get stuck under cupboard or sofa. :(

luckily, 380 comes with replenish set free, after changing wheel the 380 move much freely again.

front wheel was ok, no wearing off, as good as new. :)

thewiseone

U purchased 2 Scoobas... a 380 and a 5800??! :s22: Why 2 units? Do u use them very often or rather do u have a large area to cover? BTW, whats yr observed difference between the 2 units? Is the difference in area coverage as stated in the specs for actual usage?

Why did the 380 driving wheels wear off so quickly? Is the cleaning floor area very rough?

mosmos said:
380 and 5800. :o

380 has the charging base included.

my 380 driving wheel wear off in abt 1mth+, then 380 move very clumpsy, always get stuck under cupboard or sofa. :(

luckily, 380 comes with replenish set free, after changing wheel the 380 move much freely again.

front wheel was ok, no wearing off, as good as new. :)

mosmos

thewiseone said:
U purchased 2 Scoobas... a 380 and a 5800??! :s22: Why 2 units? Do u use them very often or rather do u have a large area to cover? BTW, whats yr observed difference between the 2 units? Is the difference in area coverage as stated in the specs for actual usage?

Why did the 380 driving wheels wear off so quickly? Is the cleaning floor area very rough?
Yah, i got 5800 and 380 :o

My mum lah, wants faster mopping all at the same time and also 380 battery not lasting enough for the whole house. :s22:

I live in 5-rm flat. 380 battery only last for 3 bedrooms and 2 living rm. Then kitchen and balcony are always left out.

I use both of them everyday. But Roomba is quite seldom use. Roomba battery is very lasting, more than enough for whole hose for 2 days.

5800 was very heavy, even the water container was heavier, also wetter, noisier and slightly slower. Not as those in roombachat forum saying 380 is 2x faster.

380 coverage is abt 2 container of water while 5800 battery only last 1 time.

I notice that 5800 like to go along the wall while 380 likes to turn circles.

If I want to get another one, I will get 350 instead. Cheaper than 380, without those extra virtual wall, rubber mat or ext charger and will be much much lighter than 5800.

thewiseone

eh... 2 living rms??? meaning the dining area and living room area? Actually, all u need is just one extra battery to do the job. BTW, how many tank changes of cleaning solution / emptying dirty water is required to cover 3 bedrooms and 2 living rms?

The 5800 likes to go along walls??? meaning it spends most of its time cleaning the perimeter? What abt the middle of the room?

Typically, how long does it take to clean the whole house with yr 2 scoobas?

mosmos said:
Yah, i got 5800 and 380 :o

My mum lah, wants faster mopping all at the same time and also 380 battery not lasting enough for the whole house. :s22:

I live in 5-rm flat. 380 battery only last for 3 bedrooms and 2 living rm. Then kitchen and balcony are always left out.

I use both of them everyday. But Roomba is quite seldom use. Roomba battery is very lasting, more than enough for whole hose for 2 days.

5800 was very heavy, even the water container was heavier, also wetter, noisier and slightly slower. Not as those in roombachat forum saying 380 is 2x faster.

380 coverage is abt 2 container of water while 5800 battery only last 1 time.

I notice that 5800 like to go along the wall while 380 likes to turn circles.

If I want to get another one, I will get 350 instead. Cheaper than 380, without those extra virtual wall, rubber mat or ext charger and will be much much lighter than 5800.

mosmos

thewiseone said:
eh... 2 living rms??? meaning the dining area and living room area? Actually, all u need is just one extra battery to do the job. BTW, how many tank changes of cleaning solution / emptying dirty water is required to cover 3 bedrooms and 2 living rms?

The 5800 likes to go along walls??? meaning it spends most of its time cleaning the perimeter? What abt the middle of the room?

Typically, how long does it take to clean the whole house with yr 2 scoobas?
yah, 1 dining rm and 1 living rm, those old type 5-rm flat.

My mum already complaining why mop so slow, getting another battery with 1 scooba will even take longer to mop whole hse. :(

Now with 2 sccoba, only need 2 tanks for 380 and 1 tank for 5800. :s7:

380 for the bedrms and 5800 for living rms, then refill 380 again for kitchen + balcony.

5800 also do circle in middle of rm, but not as much as 380.

I think it's roughly 1 hr for whole hse, did not really time the whole cycle.
:s22:

karoon

apart from roomba and scooba, anyone with experiece on its competition in sg?

eg electrolux trilobite(sp?) and the hoover robotic vacuum?

mosmos

karoon said:
apart from roomba and scooba, anyone with experiece on its competition in sg?

eg electrolux trilobite(sp?) and the hoover robotic vacuum?

hoover brand? :s22:

roughly how much is it? :s11:

I guess irobot is among the most afforable robotic cleaners around, other than those no brand ones :s7:

dankoo

Just to check: My Roomba batt was in operation since Mar. I find that now it only lasts ~45mins before it goes red. I use it everyday. Is this the normal time or dying liao?

mosmos

dankoo said:
Just to check: My Roomba batt was in operation since Mar. I find that now it only lasts ~45mins before it goes red. I use it everyday. Is this the normal time or dying liao?
My roomba abt 1wk+ old, battery last for more than 1-2hr. :o

thewiseone

Dankoo, have u tried the 72hr recondition charge. If not, remove battery, press & hold power button for 30 secs, release and reinstall battery. Do not use your home base, connect the power supply directly to yr Roomba and let it charge the battery CONTINUOUSLY UNINTERRUPTED for the next 72hrs. Thereafter, run the Roomba to see if there's any improvement in performance. If performance improves, use the Roomba and charge normally. After a few more charge/discharge cycles, performance should be back. However, if u only notice a small improvement, try to get a Roomba Rapid Charger to recharge the battery instead. If performance cannot be restored even with a Rapid Charger, then its time for a new battery.

dankoo said:

GoogleMe!

Think my battery also buay gu liao... after 1.5 years of usage.

Must buy new battery already. Has anyone tried to use li-ion to replace before?

thewiseone

The Li-ion batteries should be the way to go if u r looking for replacement cells. I may be getting Li-ions for Scooba. For those interested in Li-ions for Roombas/Scoobas, let me know and I see if I can consolidate the orders together. :)

GoogleMe! said:
Think my battery also buay gu liao... after 1.5 years of usage.

Must buy new battery already. Has anyone tried to use li-ion to replace before?

GoogleMe!

Do I need to solder anything? Or just replace the battery only?

Do I need to change the charger?

thewiseone

There are two forms available for the Roomba.

1) Complete battery pack : Fully assembled with battery housing. With this one, u simply drop it into yr Roomba just like yr existing APS battery, needs no modifications to your charger.

2) Assembled li-ion pack: Li-ion assembly which requires u to open yr existing dead battery pack to replace. Requires soldering the 3 connectors. Dont need any modifcations to charger.

GoogleMe! said:
Do I need to solder anything? Or just replace the battery only?

Do I need to change the charger?

mosmos

thewiseone said:
There are two forms available for the Roomba.

1) Complete battery pack : Fully assembled with battery housing. With this one, u simply drop it into yr Roomba just like yr existing APS battery, needs no modifications to your charger.

2) Assembled li-ion pack: Li-ion assembly which requires u to open yr existing dead battery pack to replace. Requires soldering the 3 connectors. Dont need any modifcations to charger.
got any Complete battery pack for sccoba? :s11: :o

mosmos

whypurplishblue said:
uploaded the pics at tinypic, in case they remove it again, like last time someone post a roomba 550 review.

6f7zzly.jpg

6ez0xhs.jpg

thewiseone

One thing to take note of Li-ion Scooba battery, they cannot be charged on the bot itself. It has to be charged using an external charging base, else it will trigger an error code on the Scooba. :s27: It will not be an issue for those who use only the charging base to recharge their batteries though.

mosmos said:
got any Complete battery pack for sccoba? :s11: :o

mosmos

thewiseone said:
One thing to take note of Li-ion Scooba battery, they cannot be charged on the bot itself. It has to be charged using an external charging base, else it will trigger an error code on the Scooba. :s27: It will not be an issue for those who use only the charging base to recharge their batteries though.
Lucky I have the ext charger when I bought 380. :D

But will the ext charger show charge finish status for Li-ion battery?

thewiseone

The Li-Ion battery assembly has its own charge control circuitry, including trickle charging. You can essentially just leave the battery in the charging base w/o damage, unlike the original Scooba NiMh battery. As for the charge status LED, i'll have to check that out cos I dont have a Scooba nor battery at this time ! :s27:

mosmos said:
Lucky I have the ext charger when I bought 380. :D

But will the ext charger show charge finish status for Li-ion battery?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.