iRobot Scooba experience

sAxman_Returns

today i managed to run 5800 fully till the batt flat. its able to complete 2.5 cycles! :s31: noise level was quite high, had to increase my tv volume inorder to listen. slow speed dun really bother me as long it completed the work. i dun find its wet, maybe my flooring is homogeneous tiles, which dry easily. :s22:

how do you measure numbers of cycle?

2.5? how do you know it's not 2.3, 2.7 or 2.8?:s22:

sAxman_Returns

:s22: which battery you got?

top one only 1.5 mission, bottom one 2 mission.

6lwd0tw.jpg

the bottom one is this? http://store.irobot.com/product/ind...609&cp=2174941.2174945&parentPage=subcategory
and seems like it's the same as the grey one distributed by HSN: http://store.irobot.com/product/ind...967&cp=2174941.2174945&parentPage=subcategory
290804_alt3

mosmos

Discovery Series Replenish Kit

vacuumcleanerbacgs_1978_3976584

where can get cheapest online arh :D

so did woot.com send you the missing items?

i guess spare brushes are almost the same prices everywhere.

register your roomba at irobot website, afterthat you will receive an email of 15% discount for accessories.

seowbin

so did woot.com send you the missing items?

i guess spare brushes are almost the same prices everywhere.

register your roomba at irobot website, afterthat you will receive an email of 15% discount for accessories.
like nv leh...

maybe e-mail wrong person :s13:

kidz_buzz

mosmos,
all the electrolux vacuum uses the hepa filter, which has to be replaced every so often.For Trilobite, the manual states that the filter has to be replaced every time the bin is emptied, so it is $$$ down the drain every time , sob sob...
The reason why I picked trilly over roomby is because my son is very allergic, so the hepa system seems the right choice.It does deliver, picks up every bit of dust.My main complain is that it moves like an old grandfather, n only goes to work for less than one hour before it has to go back for recharge , which takes up another 2 hrs.Now we have five storeys in the house, so am thinking of getting the roomba 5x to help out.Have already ordered the scooba, which comes with a red roomba.How does the red one compare to 570 in terms of surface area covered at one go?

Hi! mariatan,

I am a new iRobot Roomba user and so far, I am satisifed with its performance. Before I decided to get a Robotics floor vac, I did some homework and my network scouting narrows down to Electrolux Trobolite and iRobot. There are a huge price difference between these 2 brands and I am afraid my investment will go down the drain if it turns out that the Trilly does not justify its hefty price tag. U seem to be a satisfied user of Trilly except the maintenance and its snail-paced speed. May I know its sound level in comparison to a domestic vac cleaner or an iRobot? The Roomba I am using is pretty noisy and quite stress out when conversation is met around the house while it's running, therefore, I usually make it work while I am out for an errand. May I know do u by any chance that u would like to sell yr used Trilly? I am very keen to purchase a used set cos I like its color and posh design. The local Electrolux quoted me at $2400 after 20% discount which I am thinking VERY HARD. Well? Let me know by email kidz_buzz@yahoo.com if by any chance u wanna sell yr Trilly. Tks.

kidz_buzz

mosmos, thanks for the prompt reply.Would try this method, then report back.
BTW, I just received my Trilobite 2 from UK (ordered before i found this site), paid an equivalent of 2500 bucks after tax and UPS express.If anyone has question about this model, please feel free to ask me.
Hi! mariatan,

I am a new iRobot Roomba user and so far, I am satisifed with its performance. Before I decided to get a Robotics floor vac, I did some homework and my network scouting narrows down to Electrolux Trobolite and iRobot. There are a huge price difference between these 2 brands and I am afraid my investment will go down the drain if it turns out that the Trilly does not justify its hefty price tag. U seem to be a satisfied user of Trilly except the maintenance and its snail-paced speed. May I know its sound level in comparison to a domestic vac cleaner or an iRobot? The Roomba I am using is pretty noisy and quite stress out when conversation is met around the house while it's running, therefore, I usually make it work while I am out for an errand. May I know do u by any chance that u would like to sell yr used Trilly? I am very keen to purchase a used set cos I like its color and posh design. The local Electrolux quoted me at $2400 after 20% discount which I am thinking VERY HARD. Well? Let me know by email kidz_buzz@yahoo.com if by any chance u wanna sell yr Trilly. Tks.

mariatan

Ha ha, my Trilly is 2 n a half month old only, n it's the silver color one, not as pretty as the original red .Thanks for the offer but i need it to clean our new house, n am in fact thinking of getting another one.Wah, Singapore selling for 2400 bucks only ah, u see, i now live in Taiwan(due to marriage), they are selling the little robot at 3999 Sing dollar equivalent here, so i thought i had a good deal buying from UK.
OK, for the noise level, it is about the same as say, the Oxy model of Electrolux, not sure how it compares to roomba as mine is still waiting for a match up with VPOSTUSA.would report back when i have a chance to use it.
i am very happy with my Trilly, from the roombareview website, roombas are supposed to last for 1.5-3 years only,trilobite is more durable, seems to be able to hold out for more than 5 years, according to the Electrolux customer service here in Taiwan.I've also found out that I could vacuum the filter n reuse it, n it is not so snail paced afterall,my place was too big to begin with, now , with the right expectation, it is working like a gem.

croc1977

hi guys,

looking for a model can help mi vacum lor...if can mop is addional not so important ...any model to recommend?416 good enought?

mariatan

$2400???

I can think it will be more interesting to have multiple irobot running at the same time lol!

this very same thought did cross my mind before taking the plunge.Here're the reasons:
1.Trilobite uses a HEPA filter, which is useful for family with allergic members.Me n my son are both highly allergic to dust, pollen etc.I used to have an Electrolux upright just for vacuuming our beds n pillows n it work wonders.
2.trilobite doesn't bump into furniture, it scouts by, hence,protecting the furniture from scratches; well, at least most of the time.The other day, my trilo hit a sharp corner of our wall as it was approaching the wall at an angle just out of its sight(the corner was angled to the far edge of trilo's sonar sensor n it did not 'see').So my trilo now has some scratches on its bumper.
3.low maintainace.only got to empty the bin like once a week n that's with 3-4 runs per day.
4.it's supposed to be very durable, but dunno yet.
5.it is BEAUTIFUL, a pleasure to look at.

thewiseone

How big is yr cleaning area? Is it all hard flooring or carpeted? Essentially, if u r looking only at Roombas and u have a typical 5rm sized flat with hard flooring, the 416 is good enough to do the job. The 400 series are all similar, except for the accessories included. You might like to consider adding a homebase so that the Roomba can dock on its on (for recharging) once the cleaning is done.

hi guys,

looking for a model can help mi vacum lor...if can mop is addional not so important ...any model to recommend?416 good enought?

mosmos

How big is yr cleaning area? Is it all hard flooring or carpeted? Essentially, if u r looking only at Roombas and u have a typical 5rm sized flat with hard flooring, the 416 is good enough to do the job. The 400 series are all similar, except for the accessories included. You might like to consider adding a homebase so that the Roomba can dock on its on (for recharging) once the cleaning is done.

:s22: if add homebase, the cost would be more than woot.com roomba discovery

Wow.. this thread has grown a lot, been a while since i last visited. My scooba has been hibernating in a box as i have migrated overseas.. I forgot to remove the battery from the scooba.. I know I need to do something when a battery is heavily discharged. Anyone remembers what to do? When I initially plugged the charger into the scooba it blinked very fast, but 5minutes later the power light becomes a solid green(no blink) Getting a bit worried. Any tips?

mosmos

Wow.. this thread has grown a lot, been a while since i last visited. My scooba has been hibernating in a box as i have migrated overseas.. I forgot to remove the battery from the scooba.. I know I need to do something when a battery is heavily discharged. Anyone remembers what to do? When I initially plugged the charger into the scooba it blinked very fast, but 5minutes later the power light becomes a solid green(no blink) Getting a bit worried. Any tips?

:s22: where did you go?

you can charge the battery for 72hrs.

:s22: where did you go?

you can charge the battery for 72hrs.

Is that the same for the roomba? gosh.. gotta wait so long 72hrs :p I moved to sabah, malaysia. Here the robots have to work harder as it is much, much dustier here :p should have brought along a dirtdog with me. Thanks for the tip.

thewiseone

U migrated to Sabah?? Eh... u must be staying in a landed property?? Think u need an army of bots, arm yrself with dirtdogs, roombas and scoobas! :)

Back to yr battery, try the 72hrs reconditioning charge. IF it doesnt bring yr batt back to life, i'm afraid u'll need a new batt. Alternatively, if u can find an external charger for it, it may do a better job.

Is that the same for the roomba? gosh.. gotta wait so long 72hrs :p I moved to sabah, malaysia. Here the robots have to work harder as it is much, much dustier here :p should have brought along a dirtdog with me. Thanks for the tip.

mosmos

:s22: wah i still thought that east malaysia air was fresher and cleaner.

any similar vpost type of service in sabah?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.