iRobot Scooba experience

hq83

wah that's bad.

are there any hairs stuck at brush turning motor there?
nothing leh..
i open up..
saw the motor...
only some dust there.. clean it liao..
still the same.
still can vacuum la.. but not as good liao..
nothing will go into the bin.
only will get stuck onto the filter..

seowbin

:s22: how come so fast you need so much accessories?

how's the remanufactured scheduler? as good as new?
yap!

it's new :s13:
i see no scratches, etc :s34:

or maybe they change the case.. everything pack nicely...

just in case mah, kia su... if too use to it, when things happen, hard to find replacement leh... need like 2 to 3 wks den can get

or maybe we should have a spare store list ... next time can buy from other user for immediate replacement :p

sAxman_Returns

that's why I dun trust roomba still....my dyson is still da bEst :D

Scooba, hopefully would mop clean clean....i really have problem maintaining my house in tip top condition....

mariatan

mosmos, thanks for the advice, would call vpost tomorrow, only, they are very hard to call, got to hold for a long time.
sAxman, Dyson coming out with a robot called Dyson DC06, maybe u could wait till then, it's supposed to kill all robotic vacuums, but sure to cost a bomb; they canned the project sometime back in 2005 , apparently due to exorbitant costs,now that the making is underway again, hope its price tag could come down a bit.

seowbin

scooba's battery diff from roomba right? :sad:

else can get a scooba to try try... my luck :p

sAxman_Returns

mosmos, thanks for the advice, would call vpost tomorrow, only, they are very hard to call, got to hold for a long time.
sAxman, Dyson coming out with a robot called Dyson DC06, maybe u could wait till then, it's supposed to kill all robotic vacuums, but sure to cost a bomb; they canned the project sometime back in 2005 , apparently due to exorbitant costs,now that the making is underway again, hope its price tag could come down a bit.

Dyson has always been an overpriced item. I got mine 2nd hand at pretty low price. When you want to vacuum, you have to make sure the suction is consistently strong....

That's why I am still very skeptical about robot vacuum. I decided to give scooba 335 a try coz I have no way to maintain my house in a very clean condition. When I vacuum, yes, it's damn shoik, but after a while....I can feel the sticky feeling again....even after mopping was done......Roman mop somemore....sigh. I still think that mopping robot has better design with better AI too, look at how iRobot achieve average 5 times per spot?

you know why mermaid can clean things so well? liquid base cleaning machine is still the best. pure vacuuming won't get you anywhere(not to mention the weak power of such a small machine like Roomba).......my colleague using her roomba also complaining liao...especially when it can't reach the corners, and not very effective if your house is fully furnished with low profile furnitures.

croc1977

Courts Pricing....

just went to courts with aku wife yesterday .

Roomba 416 -$399
Roomba 530 -$788
Roomba 560 $988
Scoba- $12XX

so is it worth it buying from them ...if i buy 530/60 can get another 5% off the sales person...even my wife like fell in love with it cos so cute....she said....lol :s22:like R2D2...lol:s22:

but is it worth it? that price 1 yr warranty extend 2 more yr $50++

cos i think i want to buy from US but warranty issue and pervious thread say by one formuer brush 2 mths bye liao...:eek:

btw if i buy scooba got the Clorox solution package inside ,can go through vpost boh?

thewiseone

There's always an element of luck whenever u purchase an item, especially electronic items. If u're just out of luck, u can get a lemon whether u purchase one locally or overseas. U'll just have to weigh the pros and cons to see if the savings justify the risk. The brush breakdown is not a common problem. It can be a lemon due to a crappy brush motor or it can be due to improper usage, with debris trapped in the brush, causing excessive drag and premature wearing out of the motor. I believe for many of us who purchased our bots from US, they are still working fine till today. I have a red purchased in Sept 06 and she's still healthy till today, doing her chores 24/7 ever since. Bear in mind though, these bots are not maintenance free. U have to set aside sometime to do yr routine cleaning and occasionally, a thorough cleaning and lubricating to ensure a longer lifespan.

As for Vpost, i'm not up to date with their policy with regards to clorox solution. It was never an issue before. In any case, as i've always recommended, use US postal service whenever possible. A whole lot less headaches and more timely delivery IMO.

just went to courts with aku wife yesterday .

Roomba 416 -$399
Roomba 530 -$788
Roomba 560 $988
Scoba- $12XX

so is it worth it buying from them ...if i buy 530/60 can get another 5% off the sales person...even my wife like fell in love with it cos so cute....she said....lol :s22:like R2D2...lol:s22:

but is it worth it? that price 1 yr warranty extend 2 more yr $50++

cos i think i want to buy from US but warranty issue and pervious thread say by one formuer brush 2 mths bye liao...:eek:

btw if i buy scooba got the Clorox solution package inside ,can go through vpost boh?

croc1977

There's always an element of luck whenever u purchase an item, especially electronic items. If u're just out of luck, u can get a lemon whether u purchase one locally or overseas. U'll just have to weigh the pros and cons to see if the savings justify the risk. The brush breakdown is not a common problem. It can be a lemon due to a crappy brush motor or it can be due to improper usage, with debris trapped in the brush, causing excessive drag and premature wearing out of the motor. I believe for many of us who purchased our bots from US, they are still working fine till today. I have a red purchased in Sept 06 and she's still healthy till today, doing her chores 24/7 ever since. Bear in mind though, these bots are not maintenance free. U have to set aside sometime to do yr routine cleaning and occasionally, a thorough cleaning and lubricating to ensure a longer lifespan.

As for Vpost, i'm not up to date with their policy with regards to clorox solution. It was never an issue before. In any case, as i've always recommended, use US postal service whenever possible. A whole lot less headaches and more timely delivery IMO.
Thanks bro...anybody else?

mosmos

scooba's battery diff from roomba right? :sad:

else can get a scooba to try try... my luck :p

yah, they are diff.

scooba battery

pIROBOT1-3595737p275w.jpg

roomba battery

pIROBOT1-3892373p275w.jpg

mosmos

Thanks bro...anybody else?

530/60 local price too high. :crazy:

sliver roomba sage has better price with local warranty. :o

no problem with vpost on the small bottle of clorox inside scooba box. They don't even know it's inside.

silversurfer

Just an update, I got my package from Irobot yesterday at 5:15pm

85pum4m.jpg

opening the box
6xgrzna.jpg

my purchase. From left to right, roomba570, scooba380 and roomba400.
6sksf7o.jpg

btw, buy individual transformer or use a multi plug to charge my mini army of irobots?.. :D

croc1977

85pum4m.jpg

opening the box
6xgrzna.jpg

6sksf7o.jpg

btw, buy individual transformer or use a multi plug to charge my mini army of irobots?.. :D
may i know where they put in the clorex??

thewiseone

What an army of bots!!! Well, if u r putting them together, get a bigger transformer and simply use a multi-plug to share all of them. Get the right type of multi-plug for US adapters. While u r at it, suggest u get a surge protector for them as well.

mosmos

such a big box, how much is the comgateway charges? :s22:

For me, I would get individual transformers as i am not charing them for 24/7. So after 3hrs, i need to off it. But of course, I got timer plug to help me to auto-off it.

croc1977

85pum4m.jpg

opening the box
6xgrzna.jpg

6sksf7o.jpg

why need rooba while u got scoba...the other i know is free...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.