iRobot Scooba experience

pinkiez

Do u mean Newstar 230W? If its a 220V -> 110V Newstar stepdown transformer rated for 230W, yes it will be able to support BOTH a Roomba 570 and a Scooba (580?? Do u mean 380?).

A surge protector is not ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY (well it still works fine w/o one) but HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Yes yes ... its Newstar 230W. not sure about whether its a 220V -> 110V stepdown tho ... i better go home n check

yup its for my new scooba 380 n roomba 570.

so excited ... should be receiving it within these few days ...

dankoo

iRobot advises to keep it charging all the time. So should be OK. Mine has been 24/7 for 1 year liao.

However, using it daily, my batt only last ~9mths

thewiseone

Same here, my NiMh battery only lasted about the same duration. Its the high temp thats killing the NiMh cells prematurely! I've had enough with NiMh cells. For those about to replace their batteries, suggest u seriously consider using Li-Ion batteries instead. It will last longer, runs significantly cooler and its also lighter for your bot => less wear and tear for the parts. :)

iRobot advises to keep it charging all the time. So should be OK. Mine has been 24/7 for 1 year liao.

However, using it daily, my batt only last ~9mths

mosmos

iRobot got Li-Ion battery de meh?
not from irobot store :o

sc_scooba_li.jpg

source: http://www.roombaexchange.com/proddetail.php?prod=LI-3409255

mariatan

sAxnan,
i think u misunderstood, my trilobite is still sitting nice n tight in one corner of my bedroom, the thibg i was trying to tell u that a test run would not dirty the robot a the extent of having hair in its bin.However, i do have experience of disputing credit bills, 3 times, would post again tonight to go into details; sorry, busy right now.
BTW, i just put my roomba for a test run, nearly had a heart attack!It runs so fast, n i suspect it scratches my hard wood floor too.Are there other kinds of brushes that would not leave marks? Anyway, would do another run tonight to see for sure, if it scratches, then i'm dead ah, bought two of them!Should have stuck to the Trilobite! Think i much prefer the trilly, a much more sophisticated robot it is.

thewiseone

Go to USPS website & check out the rates. Vpost isnt that cheap considering the speed of USPS. 3 wks to 1 month?!!!!!!!!!! Its 5 WORKING DAYS!... ROFTL! :D

taking 3 weeks to 1 month kind of timeline? or pay double of what vpost is offering?

naxchua

i just bought my transformer for my roomba... got a 230W.... cos no stock for other Watts... :(

NF-230... got glass fuse protection somemore.....

naxchua

hmm... guys, does ur Roomba Adaptor get very very hot? mine ish very very hot.... :(

sAxman_Returns

weird, Scooba's power adapter is never hot.....

the transformers itself will waste 1-2W, then during charging, it's running almost at 45W full power, and when idling, it's also wasting 2W......not very green de neh....

mariatan

Can someone please help me out with the surge protector question? THere are so many types, how to choose?

Anyhow, sAxman, back to the dispute issue, in your case, it would be vital to prove that the seller breached the contract by selling u something diff from the agreed item,ie used item. I have filed claims with the bank issuing my CC but never with paypal, however, i think it would be even easier with the later as it is supposed to provide even more protection.U may want to take pictures of the robot as proof of the damages done.

mariatan

Just tested the two roombas, thank goodness they work fine, had been quite apprehensive about getting defective set, heard alot of horror stories leh.Frankly, they are quite terrifying to look at;they dash around going bang bang here n bang bang there,like gangster like that.My kids had a wild time 'driving' them though,ie with the remote. Would be onto the scoobas tomorrow, then the dirt dog day after ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.