iRobot Scooba experience

hq83

er.. i think u forgot abt the fact self imported irobots have no warranty :look:
u can claim warrenty.. but dont let them noe u are using it outside US.
parts.. like battery, brush, they will send u the replacement without u sending the faulty 1 back.
the whole roomba/scooba.. new model they need u to send back.. old 1 they will juz send u a replacement.
juz give them the vpost address or any US address and send it back to SG.

i did some parts and a roomba discovery replacment from them before..

thewiseone

Whoa, arrow now pointing at moi eh? :D Ok, must clarify something about warranty claim. Yes, as long as u have registered your warranty with iRobot and u have a US shipping address, u should be able to claim your warranty. That said, its only economically viable if u do not have to send your faulty bot back like the Red. For the Scooba however, u may have to ship the faulty unit back. If u have to bear the shipping charge for shipping it to US and then back to SG, i think it may not be worth the claim in this case.

er.....i have seen people successfully claiming warranty. thewiseone is one of them....:s22:

dude, his Scooba went dead, not Roomba.:s22::s22:

koiphone

my scooba unable to charge again sigh..

i need to find out whether the fault is the battery or charger so that i dun waste time and effort replacing unnecessary things.

im wondering perhaps a forumer here also has scooba and can allow me to visit your place with my items to check against your scooba? im good with anywhere east to north. coffee on me ya
Sad to hear that. Mine scooba is different, can charge healthly. But cannot use due to the one of the motors cannot turn the wheel. I going to take apart to inspect. If cannot i will replace the whole motor.

Anyone knows where to get the motor to replace in terms of better pricing? So far i only saw at roomba exchange.

hansolo76sg

thanks all for advice. i have already logged in my problem via email.

hope irobot wont be needing to talk to me personally coz the tel number will be a dead giveaway

seowbin

thanks all for advice. i have already logged in my problem via email.

hope irobot wont be needing to talk to me personally coz the tel number will be a dead giveaway
use calling card lor

try to call yourself 1st or what

sometimes ur calling number won't be send over one ...

hansolo76sg

tks for the thought but the charger is different. scooba uses a more powerful PSU and the connector is not the usual type.

No no, I was asking if the charger is the same, if its the same can come my shop test his with my Roomba' s charger or converter or whatever lor...

sAxman_Returns

tks for the thought but the charger is different. scooba uses a more powerful PSU and the connector is not the usual type.
unusual? like that nothing is usual liao lar...

that connector is actually the same as MIDI and PS/2 if I'm not wrong. :s22:

hoppie

I went simlim tower today, they quote for the rebuild of 135. is that expensive??? it is at then lower level shop name kim c.....
Any other shop in simlim can get cheaper price??? thanks

I can bring in built 3000Mah Batt for only plus/minus $100. How much you guys do for the rebuild?

koiphone

Hmm, some of the accessories at roombaexchange is much more expensive than irobot.

For example.
Scooba Pump Priming Bulb
1) http://store.irobot.com/product/ind...ccessNavLP_Scooba_9_27&parentPage=subcategory

2) http://www.roombaexchange.com/proddetail.php?prod=5409854

Or rather any other sites for me to compare, i going to get some soon. I already compared at ebay, not much cheaper anyway.

I may get this soon http://www.roombaexchange.com/proddetail.php?prod=34734383-15
Anyone want to have some of it?

sAxman_Returns

koiphone

anybody hit the problem of an ebayer refuse to accept non-US paypal account?

why do you need so many parts? only the 5 legs brush is needed lar, the rest can either DIY or take good care, they should last very long....
So far no, I will check to ensure that they accept paypal, if not i will not bid. I don't think is safe to give our credit details (maybe i'm wrong).

Pt 2: I thought will be good to have it first, hmm will give some thoughts to it. As shipping from US is not cheap.

thewiseone

I'm not sure about the 5xx series but for the Discovery series, the rubber beater and brush is very very hardy. Mine has been in used daily for over 1yr 8mths and the condition is still very good. The package that u mentioned seems like a bit of an overkill. Side brushes are known to break on the 5xx series. Perhaps u should consider getting more of that instead? :)

Hmm, some of the accessories at roombaexchange is much more expensive than irobot.

For example.
Scooba Pump Priming Bulb
1) http://store.irobot.com/product/ind...ccessNavLP_Scooba_9_27&parentPage=subcategory

2) http://www.roombaexchange.com/proddetail.php?prod=5409854

Or rather any other sites for me to compare, i going to get some soon. I already compared at ebay, not much cheaper anyway.

I may get this soon http://www.roombaexchange.com/proddetail.php?prod=34734383-15
Anyone want to have some of it?

hansolo76sg

think i had commented previously this to be 1 of the cons of shopping in ebay.

its not so much a problem of non-US paypal but more of refusal to deal with non-confirmed paypal account ya?

why do you need so many parts? only the 5 legs brush is needed lar, the rest can either DIY or take good care, they should last very long....

koiphone

I'm not sure about the 5xx series but for the Discovery series, the rubber beater and brush is very very hardy. Mine has been in used daily for over 1yr 8mths and the condition is still very good. The package that u mentioned seems like a bit of an overkill. Side brushes are known to break on the 5xx series. Perhaps u should consider getting more of that instead? :)
Ya, true mine just broke one. I did not notice until it came back to base with its broken arm in its stomach but i yet to use the super glue method to stick back the broken arm or maybe i wait for more to be broken.

Yet to find good pricing for the side brushes.

hansolo76sg

agree with thewiseone. i prowled enough of roomba review forum to notice the demand for roomba spares lies mainly with the side brush and filter if you're not the modding kinda owner

thewiseone

Never experienced such problems b4! A paypal account is supposedly international isnt it? :look:

thewiseone

Also, for those with the Discovery series, suggest if yr bot is pretty old, u might like to consider stocking up on a side brush motor. This is one of those parts which u have no means of maintaining short of disaseembling the bot. U can reduce drive sprocket wear/dust by doing the routine maintainence. Its also relatively easy and quick to disassemble the bin to clean/lubricate. When it comes to the side brush, it will be caked and coated with a thick layer of dust in areas where u simply cannot reach in the routine maintainence. Just my 2cents on this...

agree with thewiseone. i prowled enough of roomba review forum to notice the demand for roomba spares lies mainly with the side brush and filter if you're not the modding kinda owner

koiphone

I'll waiting for the current filter to be beyond usage then i will mod it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.