iRobot Scooba experience

sAxman_Returns

trust me, you will regret especially when you feel that USD200 is a lot....especially when it's not fully automated.....wait for the next generation lar....maybe you need to share the water pipe with your washing machine. I hope the next generation of Scooba is fully automated in terms of changing water and charging by itself :D The best will be an integrated steamer!!! woohoo! say bye bye to detergent!

invest in a Roman mop please.....

Actually I'm wondering if anybody did a comparison between Roomba 550 and above vs the older generation Roomba. Would the newer generation pick up more dust?

XxDrAg0nxX

i got roomba liao mah

just that scooba can make my house cleaner !

$299 USD leh.. big investment.. haha... low 200 usd i think for quite a while liao,maybe next mth i will buy ba..

Ya lor Ya lor.. not like that black one $100+ no need to think so much just hoot :D

XxDrAg0nxX

in SG, I really doubt we need to worry about the gearbox problem. I dismantle mine, the gearbox was in perfect condition. :s22:

base on my experience with Scooba, hair and dust will still stuck in the brush of your Scooba if you do not do vacuum properly. Like that really pointless liaoz lor.....without an automated Roomba in place, you're working for the Scooba instead the other way round.... :s22:

but, it's your choice.....:s22: I opt for trouble-free home maintenance :D

but isnt that the purpose of the brush? to pick up the dist and hair?

sAxman_Returns

but isnt that the purpose of the brush? to pick up the dist and hair?

not really. It's not like Roomba where there is a bin to "hold" all these rubbish. The brushes for Scooba is to scrub the floor, not to pick up dirt....like that your floor will get "polluted" nia... :s22:

ktee

I still dunno which should get for home... a scooba or roomba...

Marble floor, but scared scooba troublesome :p

Scooba is best for kitchen and toilet floor.

Buy a scooba if:

1. you dont hv a maid
2. You want to please your mrs and yourself.
2a. We all like toys, esp a toy which helps you to do your hated job.
3. You tired of lugging the water bucket all over your house when you mop.
4. Scooba uses clean water to mop not like normal mop where the water cld be dirty water.
5. When the price is right - eg. a woot sub 150 offer.

On the take about changing water, i think tis is not a fuss consider that you will need to chg clean water many times too when you mop. But this time, you dont need to lug that mop and bucket around, can go surf net or drink kopi at kopitiam. :D

IMO, scooba is more effective than roomba. Roomba is under power when compared to a vacuum cleaner but it is auto which is wat we want in life.

sAxman_Returns

ktee, what do you mean by "underpower" for Roomba?

It's able to pick up finer dust than magic clean and Dyson u know? Do you really need super duper power for efficient vacuuming?

XxDrAg0nxX

Scooba is best for kitchen and toilet floor.

Buy a scooba if:

1. you dont hv a maid
2. You want to please your mrs and yourself.
2a. We all like toys, esp a toy which helps you to do your hated job.
3. You tired of lugging the water bucket all over your house when you mop.
4. Scooba uses clean water to mop not like normal mop where the water cld be dirty water.
5. When the price is right - eg. a woot sub 150 offer.

On the take about changing water, i think tis is not a fuss consider that you will need to chg clean water many times too when you mop. But this time, you dont need to lug that mop and bucket around, can go surf net or drink kopi at kopitiam. :D

IMO, scooba is more effective than roomba. Roomba is under power when compared to a vacuum cleaner but it is auto which is wat we want in life.

oh ya hor, just realised that the scooba has no dock... no automation in that scheduling sense :s22:

XxDrAg0nxX

not really. It's not like Roomba where there is a bin to "hold" all these rubbish. The brushes for Scooba is to scrub the floor, not to pick up dirt....like that your floor will get "polluted" nia... :s22:

Hmm...

But doesnt that dirt enter that dirty water bin eventually? :s11:

mosmos

Hmm...

But doesnt that dirt enter that dirty water bin eventually? :s11:

bigger rubbish such as hair or leaves will be at the rubber tube + wire mesh. :o

dust will be dissloved into water and will be suck into dirty tank.

seowbin

Careful about this 340, description says battery sufficient to cover 500 sqft, this is essentially a 335 in a 340 packaging. No free lunch :s22:
so buy or shouldn't buy? :s13:

cause i see the upgraded version of 5800 ... so is it 5800 + new battery or what sia...

thewiseone

Price is not too bad though, essentially a 5800 with a high capacity battery. If u dont get this one, u have to pay a much higher price to get a 350 which has essentially similar performance.

cause i see the upgraded version of 5800 ... so is it 5800 + new battery or what sia...

seowbin

1. 5900 - oldest
2. 5800 - next oldest
3. 350/380 - used sold by irobot store only
4. 335/340 - special tailor made exculsive for certain retailors.

Performance wise, i think 335 = 350 and 340 = 380. External difference is the metal latch/catch used for 5800s, 5900s, 335s and 340s. The 350 and 380 models use plastic instead. Also there is a difference in colour between the 2 groups. Price diff is of course a huge gap! :s11:

Price is not too bad though, essentially a 5800 with a high capacity battery. If u dont get this one, u have to pay a much higher price to get a 350 which has essentially similar performance.

so this so call 340 is = 380?!

5800 = 340 = 380 ?

in terms of performance... battery life to me anything is ok....

thewiseone

NO, u r confused!!! :s22: Putting aside the difference in colour, packaging and focus strictly on performance, we have

1) 335 covers the same area in the same time as a 350.
2) 340 covers the same area in the same time as a 380, which is faster and larger than a 335/350
3) 5800 moves at the same speed as a 335/350 but because it has a lower capacity battery, it can only cover half the cleaning area. If it has the same high capacity battery as a 335/340/350/380, then it should deliver similar performance as a 335/350.

While we r on the topic of Scooba models, i'm suspecting (could be wrong) that the 335/340 models may have 1 up against the 350/380 models, believe they still retain the light sensor!

so this so call 340 is = 380?!

5800 = 340 = 380 ?

in terms of performance... battery life to me anything is ok....

seowbin

NO, u r confused!!! :s22: Putting aside the difference in colour, packaging and focus strictly on performance, we have

1) 335 covers the same area in the same time as a 350.
2) 340 covers the same area in the same time as a 380, which is faster and larger than a 335/350
3) 5800 moves at the same speed as a 335/350 but because it has a lower capacity battery, it can only cover half the cleaning area. If it has the same high capacity battery as a 340/350/380, then it should deliver similar performance as a 335/350.

While we r on the topic of Scooba models, i'm suspecting (could be wrong) that the 335/340 models may have 1 up against the 350/380 models, believe they still retain the light sensor!
u make me confused :s34:

in this case means

1) 335 covers the same area in the same time as a 350. (slowest?)
2) 340 covers the same area in the same time as a 380, which is faster and larger than a 335/350 (faster)

5800 as fast as 1)

right?

so if i buy that 340 in amazon, does it means i'm will be getting a faster performance set?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.