iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

eh...whats the difference betwn a 5900 or a 350 or 340 or 3xx or whatever line of model

:s22: wah long story.

5900 - need to add clorox to water, 500sq ft
5800 - 250sq ft, noisy
350 - 500sq ft
380 - 850 sq ft, move faster
340 = 380, diff color
335 = 350, diff color

XxDrAg0nxX

If dun want the trouble of importing, must buy from local irobot lor... but be prepared to pay double :D

mosmos

!!!! the 380 !!! (or the 340)

ok anyone have that!!? how get
380 pricing is too high, though you won;t regret it. It's much less noise + dryer on floor than 5800.

340 model is got slight problem now, some box show 340 but machine inside is 335. One of our forumer also got that :s22:

MoreGoodEars

i am the sort that focus on the thing must work and if it work, work appropriately, how much the 380, local where get, if overseas where get and how much, hows its failure/breakdown records?.. oh any new/upcoming stuff or something

ckchua88

as long as your ebay seller accept Singapore registered paypal, you will be fine :D then just change your address to the comgateway or borderlinx one will do, if not ask him to send to the courier address lor. no point shipping direct, it's going to cost you a big big bomb....:s22:

Thanks sAxman, still exploring the best and cheapest way of bring the 2 in, taking into account there is GST involved as well.

frankloh

I tot singapore also got sell at NTUC mah... not the same meh? :s11:

EDIT: Oh wait, or is that bleach they are selling :D

Hi Jeremy, I ever saw a Clorex brands of glass cleaner in HOME FIX. Also blue in color and contain bleach too! But quite expensive, think $24 for 1.0L

So far I have been using magic clean with no problem, just don't add too much.

XxDrAg0nxX

Hi Jeremy, I ever saw a Clorex brands of glass cleaner in HOME FIX. Also blue in color and contain bleach too! But quite expensive, think $24 for 1.0L

So far I have been using magic clean with no problem, just don't add too much.

Whos jeremy? :s11:

frankloh

Whos jeremy? :s11:

Ha, sorry wrong number.

Btw how many of you guys here run your Roomba on schedule.
For me I personally feels that running my Roomba on schedule shorten my APS life, reasons is:-

1) Many a times it is unable to return to base and stuck with battery fully depleted.
2) Roomba starts charging with a warm APS.

Both reason above is known to hurt Nimh packs, don't you guys think so?

XxDrAg0nxX

Ha, sorry wrong number.

Btw how many of you guys here run your Roomba on schedule.
For me I personally feels that running my Roomba on schedule shorten my APS life, reasons is:-

1) Many a times it is unable to return to base and stuck with battery fully depleted.
2) Roomba starts charging with a warm APS.

Both reason above is known to hurt Nimh packs, don't you guys think so?

I think for NiMh its still pretty OK to deplete, but I dont think Roomba would Completely drain the power to Zero :)

But charging a warm battery doesnt really matter i think, when charging it gets warm anyway :D

sAxman_Returns

er...anybody? the 72 or 36hr recharge for recondition for the Roomba battery one......I lazy to dig up my own thread leh....

thewiseone

If condition of battery is very bad, u can try charging it for 72hrs. Else, a 16hr charge is sufficient. U having problems with yr Roomba battery?

er...anybody? the 72 or 36hr recharge for recondition for the Roomba battery one......I lazy to dig up my own thread leh....

thewiseone

That may not be a very wise move IMO. If the condition of the battery is pretty bad, chances are some of the cells are failing. Once u have cells with a wide variance in performance in a pack, completely discharging the battery may lead to reverse voltage in some cells. If that happens, no amount of reconditioning will do much good. The purpose of the long charging time is to allow the weaker cells to catch up with the rest.

But you should completely discharge the battery first

siron

I am interested in getting this iRobot, anywhere in Singapore I get go check it out?

XxDrAg0nxX

That may not be a very wise move IMO. If the condition of the battery is pretty bad, chances are some of the cells are failing. Once u have cells with a wide variance in performance in a pack, completely discharging the battery may lead to reverse voltage in some cells. If that happens, no amount of reconditioning will do much good. The purpose of the long charging time is to allow the weaker cells to catch up with the rest.

From what I understand its supposed to get rid of the memory effect?

Not completely drain to nothingness, its to drain to a certain cutoff voltage.

Last time play RC car that was what was recommended...

thewiseone

Thats only if your battery is crystalised/suffers from memory effect and u do a max run and full recharge once in a while to recondition. If your battery condition is bad, draining down to cut off voltage can be unhealthy! Your battery pack is made up of individual cells connected in series. When very few cells in the pack turns bad, the total battery pack voltage may be masked off by the better cells. Once the pack is heavily discharge, the worst/poorest performing cell may go into reverse voltage, leading to permanent damage and rendering the battery pack useless when more cells turn bad. Also, bear in mind that NiMh is less susceptible to memory effect unlike NiCd.

From what I understand its supposed to get rid of the memory effect?

Not completely drain to nothingness, its to drain to a certain cutoff voltage.

Last time play RC car that was what was recommended...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.